We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Family Night in Coronado” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Night in Coronado”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. It was a short distance from the beach and not by the really busy part of town so we didn't have to deal with traffic or crowds unless we wanted to head out to that area. Check in was quick and efficient. Our room was spacious, quiet and very crisp/clean looking with modern decor. Breakfast was typical free breakfast - fine if you like toast, cereal, yogurt and juice. The hot items (eggs) were not that tasty. The pool looked fine though it is on the corner of a busy intersection and the weather was too cold for us to enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DM389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    119
    41
    12
    9
See reviews for
125
98
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

overall, a very nice place to stay. Comfortable bed, quiet...only thing was that there was no fan in the bathroom, or ours did not work...not a huge issue though...would recommend to others..perhaps the breakfast room could be a little bigger inside (was cold in the morning).. altough there were tables outside.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! This hotel has been renovated and is clean and family-friendly, with a nice breakfast selection. It's close to the Coronado action and nearly all of the island is within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

While the location is not right in the middle of the action and a couple of miles from the famous beach, that was perfect for us because it was quiet and had less traffic. It was also close to the ferry launch, which meant that we could go into downtown San Diego without taking a car. So, in one evening, we were able to experience the island and downtown, as well as seeing a stunning view of downtown from the ferry. The hotel was clean and the staff, from the reception area to the breakfast attendants, were all very nice and professional.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank elizabeth2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you want to see San Diego the right way...stay at the BW on Coronado Island! From the early check-in, to the must-see suggestions BW employees had for me, what more could you want. I walked to lots of things, and effortlessly drove up to 30 miles away in any direction of the BW thanks to my hotel being perfectly located and easily accessible and friendly. I traveled alone but met up with family at Loews---I loved bragging that I had a hot breakfast daily (as soon as I left my room) Can you say "FREE parking"?!!! What more can I say:)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great stay over Halloween and the weekend! Very pleased with recent remodel. Rooms very clean, spacious and fresh. At check in Juan was very helpful in ensuring we had a non-smoking room away from the traffic/street side of the hotel. He was very accommodating and friendly. The hot breakfast was a nice plus. Many good choices and a different breakfast choices were served daily. Free parking was also a plus. Many hotels on the island charge for parking. Only draw back was for some reason all the rooms on the 3rd floor including ours seemed to be missing the sheer style curtain. The room only had the blackout curtain, so there was only a choice of dark or wave to people passing by your room. Would have been nice to have the sheer option for light and some privacy. That was very minor and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from 3rd ave, much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This place was actually a last resort option when I got to Coronado, but I was very well pleased with what I received. Even though it was last minute, the room was very spacious, nicely setup and the way that the hotel is designed is beautiful too. My room was built with two rooms in it, one for the bedroom & the other for a living room. Both had flat screen TVs, a couch, desk, one bar and a refrigerator. You can take the elevator from the garage to the floor of your room to save time of having to walk around to the front lobby. Military discount is accepted here!

Downside, there is a massive amount of traffic to deal with, most of the streets are one way streets once you get on the island, so it becomes a bit hard to get to this place. You can beat this though by trying to get here before 2pm PST. After that time, the traffic builds up from all the people leaving the base.

Room Tip: Rooms with good view are on the second floor on the west side. The breakfast room is on the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
1.0 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.9 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
1.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Address: 275 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
#9 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coronado
Coronado Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing