We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location on Coronado” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location on Coronado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Colleagues and I stayed at the Best Western Coronado due to its convenient and prime location to Naval Base Coronado. We had a great experience and enjoyed our stay. Customer service by the front desk was impeccable. We will be staying here upon our next visit to the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MattnBrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    114
    38
    12
    9
See reviews for
122
91
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was disappointed by the fact that we were put in a room that had a nasty damp smell. This was obviously known to them when we were directed to the room, as the door had been kept open with a door stop.
There is no reason that the hotel could not have put us into a room with dry carpet, and no smell.
The hotel was under major renovations, we were thank fully not disturbed by any construction noise.
We regularly stay at Best Western Hotels, this was not the worst but for a PLUS rated accommodation it didn't come close to the high standards we have enjoyed at other locations. We are not the type to make a fuss when we stay places, we probably wont go back though.

Room Tip: Call first to make sure that the renovation is complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGatesClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

There was construction taking place the entire five nights we were there. Jack-hammering and equipment being moved room to room at 0730 in the morning. Then to top it off two days (with no notice except the night before if you happen to use the elevator) NO water for several hours (1100-1500).

Room Tip: Always get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ProudCVN74Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel. For us it is ideally situated on Orange Ave near restaurants and grocery stores. The only drawback at the moment is that the hotel is undergoing renovation, but disruption to guests is minimal. The biggest drawback was them having to shutoff the water between 11:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. three days in a row. For most people it probably wasn't a big deal if they're out doing things during the day, but we go there for the biking. We start out in the morning and like to come back to the hotel around 1:00 or 2:00 p.m. to get a shower and get cleaned up. So, for this trip that was an inconvenience. Had we known the hotel was undergoing renovation we simply would have come at a different time. But it is still a very nice hotel and with the room renovations it will be that much better. We had a recently renovated room, so recent it didn't have the coffee maker or hair dryer in it, but that was rectofied immediately by the housekeeper. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank twocruzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was in San Diego for a conference and all the Hotels downtown close to the Convention Centre were booked so I took a chance at this Best Western on Coronado Island and am I glad I did.

Pros:

•Excellent location , its centrally located on Orange Avenue within walking distance of the Ferry pier , restaurants ,supermarkets .Rent a car and in 5 minutes you're at the beach close to the Naval Base and the Hotel Del Coronado , another 10 minutes you are at Silver Stand Beach.
•Getting to Downtown San Diego was very easy, if your schedule doesn’t allow you to take the Ferry, it’s a 10 minute drive to the Convention Centre across the Coronado Bridge, very easy and straightforward and an amazing view driving over the bridge.
•The Hotel is very quiet and peaceful, take a suite on the third floor, those are decent sized and the beds are surprisingly comfortable.
•The rooms are also pretty clean, the décor is dated but the location and the efficiency of the staff more than makes up for that.
•The breakfast was good, sausage, eggs, bacon, cheese, fruit, cereals, coffee, tea, orange juice; served 5AM-9AM, more than adequate for either vacationers or businesspersons.
•Free parking was an added bonus, pretty spacious underground garage.


Cons:

•Free Internet is nice but it’s definitely NOT high-speed and it’s an open unsecure access point, I would definitely advise against online banking or passing of sensitive material over that connection.
•Location of the swimming pool is bad, its right on the corner and in plain sight of passing traffic since the hotel is on an intersection, also the pool is 3.5 ft deep and about 12ft in length so its usefulness very limited
•No gym nor fitness centre : if you’re on a dedicated vacation and are planning to do a lot of sight-seeing then this isn’t an issue but if you’re on business and usually workout in the mornings or evenings then this can be inconvenient


That being said I enjoyed my stay there, thanks housekeeping, you’re far more efficient than some high-end hotels I’ve stayed, four thumbs up.

Room Tip: Suites on the third floor and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ethan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We re-visited Coronado Island, California... a favorite destination. We were able to book this Best Western at a very reasonable price. The room was bright,clean and had a kitchenette. the best part was the location, walking distance to the ferry landing,small shops,and our favorite
food store "Boney's" bayside whole foods store.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.9 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
1.0 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#4 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Address: 275 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
#9 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coronado
Coronado Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing