We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great value in Coronado” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great value in Coronado”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Overseas, Best Westerns are a well kept secret. I often look for them when I travel internationally, as they are usually a decent 3 -4 star boutique in great locations (E.g. London, Paris). But in the US Best Westerns are a little more touch and go, --- usually reliably clean, but by no means upscale.
This BW is one of the best. Simple rooms, clean and comfortable, nice little courtyard for breakfast, coffee in the lobby and snacks all day. Parking was also a breeze, which is a big deal in Coronado. Location was excellent. Though it was not smack in the middle of the main drag, it was a nice little walk, less than a mile away. We rented bikes and cruised all over the island.
The best part.... having racked up a few nights at BW's in London and Washington state - this stay was free! We splurged on dinner at the boat house instead. So do join the BW frequent traveller program, it is well worth it.

Room Tip: great value and great location in a pricey touristy town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anniej9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    122
    41
    12
    9
See reviews for
126
99
13
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We've been staying here for years and look forward to experiencing the soon to be newly updated rooms on our next visit. Great location and as in most things "Coronado," very walkable. Staff, as always, very courteous and helpful.


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank CAROLE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had guest overflow on a visit to Coronado. This hotel offered the best deal in town on a Suite.
It was immaculate! also, very very quiet. That was a bit of a surprise with it's location on Orange Avenue. I would always opt for this hotel in future for business or pleasure. It had everything I needed and with a smile. Location, Free covered parking and a nice breakfast. The staff were very friendly indeed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa az
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed on Coronado Island in the Best Western on 26th of October for 2 nights. I was pleasantly surprised by this quaint hotel. It seems so much larger by the pictures, but it really is lovely. The front desk agents were always nice with great attitudes. The parking is easy to get in and get out, and it's free. The rooms were older, but the bed was comfortable, and the shower great. I loved that our room had a fridge and a microwave. FREE morning breakfast was a HUGE surprise. I was expecting muffins and bagels. The breakfast hot food rotated from day to day. The 1st day was biscuits and gravy, sausage, eggs and french toast. The 2nd day was bacon, eggs, huevos rancheros and homemade tamales. The salsa was devine. The were several juices to chose from, along w/ fruit, yogurt, muffins, croisants and bagels. The location of this hotel was perfect. Close to the bay (a 5 minute walk), and close to the ocean and The Del (about a 15 minute walk). There are several small shops along the way. I love Coronado Island and cannot wait to go back to stay at the Best Western there. The price was unbeatable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanqueraydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorful Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
203 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a very nice, clean room in a good location on the 3rd floor. There was parking under the building and we were told about the local ferry ride across to the San Diego Harbor! It was under $20.00 for my husband and I both to ride over and it was a nice, smooth relaxing ride and the highlight of our weekend! Breakfast in the morning was wonderful and had many choices, it was a great way to start our day! Everyone we encountered was helpful,friendly and professional. We will definetly recommend this BW to friends and famiy going to this area and we will return whenever we are back in this area!

Room Tip: All the rooms are located in open areas, sometimes the noice rises, not sure what the rooms are like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a great visit to Coronado and really liked staying at the Best Western Plus there. It's an older hotel, but very clean and nice. The staff was very accomodating and friendly too! I would stay there again!

Room Tip: Even though it's on one side of the island, it's in a great location and within walking dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cos
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Trip to San Diego and had to book close to the stay. For the price, the room was spacious and was able to accommodate the 3 of us very comfortably. The room appeared to be clean. The breakfast was barely OK so we only ate in the hotel once. Parking was easy and free which was a big plus. On the down side: the room was a little worn, nothing too bad, BUT each morning I woke up with a bite or two on my legs and one morning with bites all over my lower back - first time in all my travels that I encountered bed bugs - I didn't realize it was bed bugs until the bites on my back the last night I stayed. There was no apology from the staff or show of surprise that I was so inconvenienced. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mayfair57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.9 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
1.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Address: 275 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
#9 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coronado
Coronado Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing