We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Searching for the perfect fish taco”
Review of Miguel's Cocina

Miguel's Cocina
Ranked #5 of 100 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Searching for the perfect fish taco”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

So, I have heard from many people that you can get amazing fish tacos in Southern Cal. I tried the fish tacos here. Frying fresh fish is not a kind thing to do to a fish. The batter was bland as was the sauce they used for the taco. The chips and salsa were quite good. My husband enjoyed his carne asada quesadilla. The mango margarita I had was good, but not great, and I thought it was on the small side. The atmosphere was nice and the servers were nice. My one pet peeve: They kept trying to take things off the table. Are you really so desperate for the plates, etc., that you have to pester the customers?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimmer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    472
    181
    46
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“So-so”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We only had an appetizer here and it was underseasoned. Service just so-so. Chips and salsa were good and the cheese dip was a welcomed surprise.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ekg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Margaritas - Always Crowded”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This place is always crowded and there is often a long wait. Usually that means the food is good, which it is but not excellent. San Diego is full of excellent Mexican food. Depending where you sit, the atmosphere can be dull or fun. Outdoors on the patio is much better.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno!!!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The last time my husband & I were visiting my cousin, he took us to Miguel's, & we loved it. So when we decided to visit again, this was the first restaurant we wanted to visit. The margaritas are great, but a burrito with jalapeno white sauce is the best. Of course, the fish tacos are a real specialty item, too. Actually, everything we ordered was really tasty, & we had enough to take home for some yummy leftovers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moitime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent food, well kept secret”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our friend recommended Miguel's, and we are so glad she did! We received a coupon from the Coronado visitor center for a free appetizer. The waitress was very gracious about it, and even suggested the best appetizers since we would already get free tortilla chips. The chips came with salsa and some delicious jack cheese dip. It was fantastic. Worth the trip for just that! My husband got cheese enchiladas which he said was very good. I wanted fish and chili rellenos, and they had a calamari chili rellenos which was fantastic. Enough for two. I really didn't want beans and rice so they substituted a green salad, which was gourmet in itself. The customer service was excellent and the food even better. If you love Mexican food, stop here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jhurd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miguel's Cocina also viewed

 

Been to Miguel's Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing