We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it - perfect for families!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Modesto, CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“loved it - perfect for families!!”
Reviewed June 29, 2006

We just returned from five days at Loew's Coronado and we loved it! This resort was perfect for us and our two children (ages 11 and 6)! The room was nice and we had a beautiful view (bayview room). The service was impeccable and more than we expected. They offered lots of kid friendly perks like free sodas for the kids at the bars and restaurants, a welcome bag with frisbees, etc, and an array of fun activities (for a small fee) including bingo, smoothie workshops poolside, etc... The free beach shuttle was great and included free use of beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas. The entire staff was very friendly and even though the place was "kid friendly", it wasn't overrun with kids (we loved that!!). The only complaints we had were very minor (parking was $17 a day and our rooms weren't cleaned as early as we would have liked), but overall, we loved this place!! We'll go back without hesitation!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,316
    1,117
    429
    205
    109
See reviews for
1,309
1,231
86
1,051
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2006

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here May 21-28th and we loved everything about it!! We got a free upgrade to a beautiful room, were welcomed with a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room, and were treated wonderfully by everyone we came in contact with. We loved the king size bed! It was the best sleep we have ever had! It was so comfortable. The view was incredible to wake up to in the morrning as well. The place was beautifully decorated and we really got the resort feel from the lobby, to the pools, to the delicious restaruants. The service was nice as well. Servers remembered us and greeted us with a smile everytime we ventured into the restaruant. The pools were perfect temperature and were never overcrowded, so we were able to enjoy a nice relaxing time. Also is bothers me when people complain how far everything was from this hotel, because if you did your research you should know before going it's not in downtown, so you are going to have to travel a little bit. But we found it affordable by taking the city bus, the ferry, and the free shuttle from the hotel itself. It just depends on your prioties of getting around. We plan on going back and look forward to a second honemoon on Coronado Island and at the Loews Resort!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 19, 2006

While our room was very nice, I was quite disappointed with this hotel. The hotel had some very active guests staying above us, and it was quite annoying. The pool was very nice; however, I have a problem with any hotel automatically charging 18% gratuity on my food/drink bills. For instance, we had the breakfast buffet on Sunday out at the pool - we were not contacted by any server until after we were done with our meal. My bill had an 18% gratuity tacked on - we were 3 people! When I went back to my room, I looked at my other receipts only to find that each one had the 18% gratuity tacked on. I am all about tipping, especially since I worked in a tipping establishment for many years, but I don't feel that I have to tip 18% at a pool bar when I got up to get my own drinks. My feeling is that if someone walks out on his/her bill, then maybe I can justify some added tip by the establishment. I never walked out on any bill at this hotel, and I fully intend to debate this issue with Loews. I have frequented many resorts, and I have never encountered anything like this.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 4, 2006

I am amazed with the negative reviews this hotel received. I booked this hotel for Memorial Day weekend and was thrilled with my experience. Our hotel (which coincidentally was near the stairs and in tower 5) was clean, neat, quiet and comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the water and could smell all the wild flowers from our balacony. The hotel staff was accommodating, courteous and friendly. I would definately stay there again. In response to some of the other negative comments regarding the "long walk from the lobby to tower 5" I would have to stay that these reviewers are simply out of shape! The walk is not long at all (maybe 150 yards). And who minds the walk when you have the marina and the scenery to keep you company? I would agree with some reviewers that it is rediculous to charge for parking, but every place does--not just Coronado Bay. STAY HERE. YOU'LL LOVE IT.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

We just got back from Loews Coronado and are already planning our next trip. This is an awesome hotel. The rooms were big (we had 3 kids and did just fine), the pool was great and the beach is just a short walk away. The staff was very helpful and had everything you needed for the beach(towels, umbrellas,etc). We loved Silver Strand Beach. The bathrooms at the hotel were great, we loved the huge tub. Parking was 17 a night but it was very easy to self park. The only thing was that room service got a little pricey with 3 kids, we solved that by having them put an extra fridge in our room for only 10$ a night and then hitting the Von's grocery store in Coronado. The hotel is really not far from coronado (3 miles). This was a very kid friendly hotel in all other aspects. I am not sure why this hotel gets any bad reviews because we really enjoyed our stay there and can't wait to get back. You truly feel like you're on vacation at this hotel. I

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footguy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2006

We bought three nights at this hotel at a charity auction. After reading some of the reviews here I was worried we had made a mistake. I don't know what hotel these negative reviewers were staying at, but we had a fabulous time and everything about the hotel was super.

The staff was extremely friendly and competent. Our room was lovely; it had a wonderful king bed and a terrific balcony overlooking the marina. We had dinner in the fancy restaurant (I forget its name) and both the food and the view were incredible.

The beach is just a short walk (5-10 min.) on a pathway or the bell desk is more than happy to drive you over in a golf cart whenver you want and come pick you up at your choice of time.

We really enjoyed our Memorial Day weekend stay. Don't be put off by these other negative reviews.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2006

Terrible experience. They gave us a room next to the stairs. Very, very loud. Nice view but we couldn't use the balcony unless we wanted to smell the cigarette smoke from below. I paid $300 a night but everything costs extra. Parking is $17 a night. Wireless internet is $13. Unbelievable that they charge for that. They automatically add 18% gratuity to your food bill.

Here is our breakfast experience. We decided we just wanted Starbucks coffee and a muffin. The Starbucks is in the hotel. My wife and I both ordered a Vanilla latte. After we got our drinks and took a sip the lady yelled to us and said the milk was bad, she needed to make us a new one. After I got my new one, it was lukewarm. I took it back and she heated it up. Way too hot, she burned the milk. I said just give me a regular coffee and I got my money back. I went to fill up my coffee from the self serve pots and it was empty. So I had to fill it up with the "Bold" coffee pot. It was sure strong. I had to use a toothpick to get the grounds out of my teeth. So I threw it away.

We didn't get any of our Lowes member amenities when we arrived.

They give you a paper listing all the events, food specials, etc. for the weekend. Of course none of the listed events happended, and no one in any of the restaurants knew anything about the special food items.

Lots of bird poop all over the place because of all the trees.

Bad communication all around. The only thing good about the place is a great view and nice beds. Other than that, it's a joke, especially for the money you pay.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank isbga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
4.4 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
17.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,163 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 16 in Coronado
5,121 reviews
4.7 mi away
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
12.9 mi away
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Property: Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing