We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Loews Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
Fairfax, VA
11
Reviewed July 27, 2004

We stayed at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort in May and it was absolutely beautiful and the staff was extremely friendly. The resort is also pet-friendly...

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,296 - 4,302 of 4,440 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
phoenix, arizona
13
Reviewed July 26, 2004

If you like to hear barking dogs and have pet stains on the floor this is the place for you!! Our family vacationed in mid June and stayed a Lowes for 6 nights. The staff was very freindly, and if you stay in the 4th bldg on the 3rd floor at the end you will have a Great view!! Our room was 4324 (I believe?) The 1st room we had (for 2 mins) the view was horrible. We were very dissapointed, the resort sits on the far end of the island away from everything!! If you were to bike to the shops of Coronado, you would pass several signs that read, DANGER!! KEEP OUT!! AND HAZZERDOUS! along the beach from the military training facility. Coronado itself is sooo beautiful!! At Loews there was Marylin Monroe Bag that I had wanted to purchase, the store was NEVER open!! In fact there are only I think 3 retail stores tops at Lowes! We did not even try the resturaunts there, we went to the DEL for everything!! At lowes pretty much everything is over priced! The decor is so, so the pools were ok but NOTHING special. The carpet in the hallways at Lowes reminds me of a very old casino (yuck!!) But the beds are great! Goose down pillows and comforters, very nice. Overall I WISH WE WOULD HAVE STAYED AT THE DEL!! We spent all the time we were not sleeping at the Del! That's the place to go!!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Marietta, Georgia
37
Reviewed July 25, 2004

We picked this hotel after reading positive reviews and were disappointed. We arrived early on the morning of check-in, knowing we would have to wait for a room, but wanting to use the pool facilities. Unfortunately, no one at the hotel must be awake before 9am, because there were no towels. Upon checking at the front desk, we were told they would have housekeeping bring towels to the pool, which never showed up. Also the froont desk staff were poorly trained. We asked about how to get to the beach and were told we could walk (over 1 mile) along a path. Thank goodness when we went to get our car to drive over the valet told us a shuttle went to beach. We waited for the shuttle about 15 mins. and were taken to the beach. On day two again there were no towels at the pool at 9am, again asked the front desk and AGAIN no towels were ever brought to us at the pool. For the hotel that sells "personal service", I felt like we had no service. I finally went to the spa below the pool and asked for a towel, where a quite inpolite receptionist finally came up with a very small towel. I do not feel like the service was worth the price of the room and would not stay at Lowes again.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2004

I am very surprised by the negative reviews of this hotel. Our only disappointment was that we only stayed one night. My family (husband, three yr and one yr old) stayed for one night in June 2004. We had a wonderful Marina view, (which we were upgraded to at check-in), two queen beds, which were adorned with fabulous linens. At the last moment I realized I forgot to request a crib, which was sent up instantaneously, fully made with sheets and bumpers. We ate at the highly acclaimed restaurant and had a wonderful time, the food was extraordinary, a little pricely - but hey, you're on vacation. The Market Cafe, which is more casual, is also wonderful. The gardens, pools and lobby are exquisite. We loved this hotel and highly recommend choosing this hotel if you are in the San Diego area.

Thank dacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2004

My husband and I just returned from a very relaxing three day stay at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. I did not like all of the additional charges for EVERYTHING (tennis courts, toiletries, parking, local phone calls, etc.) considering we paid so much already for the rooms. However, the rooms were bright and spacious. Linens and bath towels were crisp and clean. We had a partial bay/parking lot view room which was nice if you ignored the parking lot to the left. We were near a very busy employee work area which tended to be somewhat noisy. One morning while enjoying breakfast on the balcony we were greeted with a septic tank truck parking itself right below our room. Needless to say, we took the remainder of our breakfast inside. We ate at the cafe twice and were not terribly impressed with the overpriced menu. The staff is apathetic and not incredibly friendly. The food was mediocre- nothing to rave about. We did enjoy some evening drinks at the lounge. This was very nice. There is a cozy area near a fire place where you can sit back and relax. Overall, I would have to say that we enjoyed our visit. After seeing the other hotels in the area, this one would be my choice when returning to visit Coronado. Its cleanliness and the fact that it is away from all of the hustle and bustle make it a good place to stay.

1  Thank vacationhereIcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Scottsdale, Arizona
14
Reviewed July 6, 2004

We stayed at Lowes for the 4th of July weekend. The resort was nice, but expensive and came with many disappointments. Everything you want to do here is an expense on top of the already steep room rates ($250+). Tennis is $13/hour; self-parking is $14/night; drinks are $8 minimum in the hotel's lounge or poolside restaurant. The pool area was nice but seriously understaffed - we saw our server only twice in about 3 1/2 hours. The worst part of our trip though was reviewing our bill at checkout and realizing that someone else had charged nearly $300 in expenses over the course of three different days (including bar and restaurant charges and marina rentals) to our room -- we were very disturbed by the hotel's obvious lack of concern in checking to be sure that room charges were made by authorized guests on multiple occasions! The hotel was accommodating in offering to remove the unauthorized charges, but didn't seem surprised about the unauthorized charges, so guests should check all bills carefully.

The hotel is 5 miles south of the town of Coronado, so anyone staying here should absolutely plan to have their own car.

Our favorite part of this hotel - we brought our yellow Lab with us and the hotel was very pet friendly - they left special dog treats and a water bowl when we checked in, and the staff was very friendly even when seeing us with our big dog in the hallway.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kittanning, PA
1
Reviewed July 4, 2004

My husband and I visited for our 50th birthday celebration and thought that the Loew's was great! The grounds and the buildings were well maintained and the buildings all had great access to the pools. The pool food was delicious as was the Sunday brunch. There was a cozy inside/outside bar and fireplace where you could also get good food. The only disappointment was the beach. I was good for morning walks, but there was a much nicer public beach near the Del in town. You definitely need a car but anyone that does any research on the resort's location should be able to figure that out. There are too many great places to go in the San Diego area to not want to travel around anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
302 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $212 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing