We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really solid experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A really solid experience”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed at this property March 2014 for a conference and had a great experience. Arrived at the front desk after a 12 hour travel day (should have been 5) and was greeted with great warmth and friendliness. Was upgraded to a king room with a beautiful view of the bay, super clean, super comfortable, great bathroom (awesome bath sheets!!!!) with a separate shower and soaker tub. Room was well-decorated in white and light aqua, which I always think is a great choice for a hotel by the ocean. What really makes this place is the staff - Scott in Cays Lounge and Margarita in the coffee shop were always incredibly welcoming and helpful without being oily. Also the valet captain (from Vegas maybe - can't recall his name) and the valets who drive the shuttle are very friendly and helpful. The only negative is that the hotel is quite far from the town ($20 cab ride) so using the shuttle that the hotel provides is the way to go. I'll go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDS6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're so glad to hear that you were greeted with a warm welcome after a long trip, and we appreciate the mentions of specific staff members -- Scott, Margarita and our valet crew are all terrific assets to the team. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,373
    1,136
    435
    211
    111
See reviews for
1,354
1,246
88
1,069
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Spent two days at this property for business, but was able to work-in some recreation as well. It's about 15 minutes from San Diego on the southern edge of Coronado. The location is close enough to easily access the restaurants and shops of Coronado, and downtown San Diego is just a few more minutes up the road.

The rooms at the hotel are just fine. They're only slightly dated, and I found them to be clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathrooms are huge, with upscale amenities. Housekeeping comes twice per day, which is a nice plus if you're using the pool or beach.

The hotel is large and spread-out. If you're in buildings three or four, plan on a good walk to get to the lobby area of the pool. I don't consider this an issue at all unless you have mobility challenges.

The pool area is great, with a bar and food service in addition to family pools as well as an adults-only pool. I found plenty of chairs, and it was easy to be alone and quiet or as active as you want to be.

Finally, the staff was great. All were pleasant and made me feel as though I was a special and important guest. I'd definitely return to this property with my wife in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool can be noisy on the weekends. I'd suggest requesting a bay-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medicalalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're pleased that you found the pool area to be great and that you felt the staff was "pleasant". We take pride in our service standards and will be happy to share your comments with the team. We look forward to you and your wife's stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I got a spectacular bay view, watched the sunrise, took a wonderful bath in a sunken tub in my wonderful room and sat out on my balcony in a cozy bathrobe, browsed the shops, had a lavender martini (finally found another one, one other place that makes them is in Minneapolis, MN) out by the fire on the deck, the staircase in the lobby here is fantastic, service is superb, the cafe for lunch amazing, the different buildings is a bit overwhelming and confusing,and my room did not get serviced with more towels or my bed made the second day but the travel agent rate and overall cleanliness is great, there are pools just for adults which is nice, and I got a wonderful travel agent rate at this hotel....so overall great service for the rate I was able to get, I will definatley stay again, love that it is on the island that I love!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're delighted that you found the service to be superb, the room wonderful and lunch amazing. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millarville
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I thought I would write a review while we are here so that everything is fresh in my mind.
My wife and I are traveling with our dog so hotel choice is always limited. When we saw Loews it looked nice and was "very" pet friendly.
As some others have noted the hotel is a bit dated but has been renovated. Our rooms are quite nice, very clean and the staff have been great.
The pool or should I say pools are excellent and will give you and your kids hours of enjoyment. There is a pool for adults only if you want. Throw in a couple of hot tubs and a bunch of other activities plus a poolside bar for a great day.
The restaurants so far have been good with average food at a fair price.
There are a couple of nice patios outside with bar service as well for the afternoon and evening crowd.
For those intersted in water sports the hotel rents everything from a paddle boards to sailboats to power boats.
Some of the minuses to the hotel are a $25 per day parking fee and a $25 per day hotel tax. They don't tell you that when you book so be prepared.
The other minus is a very slow free wifi service. At least in our part of the hotel. Of course they offer a premium service for an extra $12.50 a day which to me is a bit of a rip off.
The beach is right across the street from the hotel but you have to drive down the street for about a mile to access it.
And you are within 30 minutes drive of some of the best attractions that San Diego has to offer.
So far it's been a great stay and we would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Full bay view rooms are nice. Great sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farenheit451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us in detail, and thank you for choosing Loews. We're delighted to hear that you found the staff to be great and the rooms to be nice and clean. We look forward to welcoming you and your family members (including the four-legged one) back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time!
Customer service is excellent.
Rooms were very clean.
Grounds were kept up well.
Food at the restaurant was wonderful. The filet was tender and amazing! Exceeded my expectations.
Shuttle to shops and beach were always on time.
Hotel is secluded but....we really liked it that way.
We will be visiting again for sure!
Thank you Lowes resort for a relaxing stay :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whoobie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're thrilled that you had a great, relaxing stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. That's exactly what we love to hear! We look forward to your next visit to Loews Coronado Bay.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband had a business meeting at Lowes Coronado Bay Resort, Coronado Island, CA, and I went with him as well. It was actually our 4th visit to the San Diego, CA area and will not be our last. The staff at this hotel was really friendly and did a wonderful job trying to keep everyone's spirit up especially with the bad weather we had, in particular, during most of our 5 day stay, 02/25-03/02/2014. The hotel is soooooo clean and nicely decorated, with a wonderful Marina & pool area. The restaurants and Snack Bar are also filled with employees who seem to love their job and pay attention to the customers and their needs. We are so glad that we had a chance to stay there and hopefully will return some day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're so pleased that you felt the staff was really friendly and it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Coronado Bay on your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We come back to this resort time and time again. It is family-friendly, with many different activities for the kids by the pool, such as movie night at the pool and pool-side games. They have wood-framed cribs for the babies, and provide your kid and toddler with separate goody bag of welcome toys. For the baby, they provide all baby toiletry essentials upon arrival. The service is excellent. They will take you to the beach in a golf cart and provide beach toys, umbrellas and towels. The food at the restaurants is very good. The rooms are serviced very well, the rooms are clean and spacious, and bathrooms are large, with both a shower and a tub and double sinks. Very peaceful to just sit outside on your balcony and watch the water and the boats pass by. The only downside is that you must drive to get to the town of Coronado.

Room Tip: Rooms with partial ocean view still have a great view without paying for full ocean view price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAandCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for being our loyal guest. We appreciate your feedback and continually strive to offer unique services designed to keep children healthy and happy. We also take great pride in our standards so we're delighted that you were met with excellent service, very good food and a clean and spacious room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
291 reviews
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Property: Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Green Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing