We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at Loews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at Loews over Christmas and a few days after. The first thing we noticed was how friendly and accommodating the staff was. We had to wait a few minutes in line when we checked in, but other than that, no complaints.
For a pet friendly hotel (and they do mean friendly) there wasn't the usual smell that we've experienced at other pet friendly hotels.
Our room was very nice and comfortable. We didn't dine on the premises because we were visiting our son and daughter-in-law who live a short distance from Loews.
I would recommend this to others and will stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Marcia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa G, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We take great pride in our service standards and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the staff, as well as found the room to be comfortable. We're looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,201 - 3,207 of 4,439 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay at Loews. The staff helpful and it was pet friendly so we brought our dog. Coronado is one of my favorite spots and Loews did not disappoint.
The only downside was how far it was to town.
I would not recommend eating in the bar. The service was slow and food so-so.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank AngieG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased that you and your four-legged friend loved your stay at Loews Coronado Bay. We apologize for your experience in the bar, as this is clearly not the standard we wish to present. We sincerely hope you will stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to address the issues of concern.

Sincerely,

George Allen
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day at Loews Coronado Bay Resort.

We decided to go to San Diego for Christmas and choose Loews as we wanted to stay on Coronado Island.

Upon arrival the staff where very friendly and efficient, explaining everything that we needed to know.

Our room was really good and a great size with a balcony.

We had taken our dog with us (a medium size dog) and within a few minutes one of the staff arrived and delivered us a bowl and treats for the dog.

We had breakfast both days on the patio - food and service great.

We decided to have dinner at the hotel on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day in the Mistral restaurant. I can honestly say that the food and service was fantastic. The staff were very attentive and the food was awesome.

Both nights we had drinks in the lounge area and it was very lovely.

The sports facilities were excellent. The tennis courts were out of order for NYE but the hotel had arrived for some neighbouring courts to be available (floodlight) and they took us there but hotel car. We also took part in the yoga class on Boxing day which was great.

The hotel is super dog friendly. If you have a dog that you want to take with you, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadauk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us in detail. We are thrilled that you and your four-legged family member enjoyed your meals and recreational activities during your stay, as well as found your room spacious and our staff friendly. We take great pride in our service standards and your kind words will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,

George Allen
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the pictures on its website. I'd end the review there, but it doesn't meet the character minimum, so...

Positives: The staff was helpful, patient, and accommodating (when possible). Also, it looks like it'd be a fun place to hang out with little kids and grandparents who have no desire to do anything other than hang out by the pool and splash around and enjoy one another's company.

Negatives: Where to begin? The bathroom was disgusting. The grout looked like my high school locker room's, and the floor of the shower was a startlingly opaque shade of yellowish green. What's more, our "Grand King" upgraded room was right next to the staircase, and I think the walls were cardboard boxes. We didn't sleep well at all. We didn't eat at Mistral, but the other dining options were suspect. At Cays Lounge, we tried to watch a bowl game and have a beer, but were put off by a pooped couple who decided to plop down on the lounge couches and literally get horizontal, their feet sprawled out on the lounge tables. Annoyed and a little bit disgusted, we decided to take our business to the Market. If $13 soda crackers topped with pre-melted cheese and pepperoni is your idea of a good meal, this is the place for you. If not, don't bother.

At the end of the day, everything about this place is just not quite right. At first blush, the location is great. Then you look around and realize it's the most mehhhh ocean view ever and it's a $20 cab ride to get back to civilization. The dining options look great, but then you see unkempt old people with their feet on the tables and realize you're surrounded by unkempt old people who look like they've been splashing around with their toddler grandkids all day. The rooms look resort-ish and nice, but then you go in the bathroom and resolve not to take a shower during your stay (true story).

The only reason I'm giving this "resort" two stars instead of one is because the staff was great. When I complained about the loud room, they tried to move us to a suite. When I told a bartender that there was a dude with his feet on the table, they told him to move. Unfortunately, this great staff is working on a lousy property.

Finally, if you're a young couple looking to get away and enjoy San Diego, learn from our mistake. In two days we spent about $150 just on transportation (not including $100 to get to and from the airport). Only stay here if you're content to stay at the resort the whole time. Even if you get off the resort, Coronado is sleepy and old, and doesn't quite fit with the youthful, glamorous hopes you might have for your San Diego get away.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPShamshoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We visited right after Christmas. The boats in the adjacent marina were nicely decorated. Great views throughout the property. Lots of dogs at the hotel but every pet was friendly and well mannered. Bike racks provided in the parking structure. We enjoyed exploring Coronado on our bikes. Resort feels like a resort with a nice pool deck, ping pong, boats, and did I mention the views? Our room was very comfy. Every staff member we encountered greeted us and made us feel welcome.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sheri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Loews resort for three nights. One thing that we did not realize until we arrived was that the resort was pet friendly. There were a lot of dogs around which we did not like. Also, the resort is on the south side of Coronado Island so you will need to drive for about anything. The rooms are dated (you can tell it is an older resort) but the room was clean and the bathroom was nice. The shower is small and the water pressure is not high. The lobby has been recently renovated and is very nice. They told us they were starting to do the same with the rooms. The views from the lobby patio are awesome and they have a very nice seating area there with bar service. The pool area is nice and there are two hot tubs.

We would come back again for the right deal but this is not going to be our first choice.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Becky, the waitress at the bar was outstanding,she resolved our problem in a very professional matter. first she notified her manager of our concern and then made sure she made us feel at home. Me being in the hospitality industry I appreciate excellent service when I see one. Thank you becky for your service.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurik777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
301 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $213 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing