We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
La Avenida Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$225
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$260
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$219
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$349
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
1906 Lodge(Coronado)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cordova Hotel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$379
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crown City Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Capri by the Sea(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$239
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coronado Beach Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$243
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,733)
Filter reviews
4,733 results
Traveler rating
2,666
1,230
482
225
130
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,666
1,230
482
225
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket cafemistral restaurantsan diegosilver strand beachping pongshuttle servicefree shuttlegolf cartconcierge deskpool area isan adultrental carself parkingbusiness conferenceper dayboogie boardsfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
3,576 - 3,581 of 4,733 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The BEST customer service. Always greeted, some by name. Zeke was amazing. While cleaning outside he greeted me and asked if he could get me some water. Lemon? Always friendly. Lots of activities, all kinds of watercraft. Have never seen Gondolas except Venice and Vegas. Neat.

Room Tip: Book far in advance; If you dont have kids bottom floor is not good. Lots of stomping around.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review regarding your stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. Your kind words regarding the friendly service Zeke provided will definitely be shared with him as I know he takes great pride with his guest interactions. Myself and Zeke look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Loews Coronado. As expected from a Loews, the service was outstanding! The beach shuttle drivers, front desk staff, housekeeping staff, engineering, waitresses, telephone operators, etc. were all amazing! Unfortunately the hotel and amenities didn't equal the service. The property is aging but well kept up.

Room -- Room and bathroom were spacious. Beds and pillows were good. The shower is tiny but there is a large bathtub. Our shower leaked and we constantly had to keep towels on the floor to soak up the water. Kuerig in the room is a nice touch but ours didn't work (but was replaced once I called). There is a patio on the 1st floor around the pool but it doesn't have access to the pool. Note: rooms by the pool will hear a lot of pool noise at night!

Amenities -- My daughter enjoyed the scavenger hunt and free cookie and both movie nights but I was disappointed in the movie night at the pool. The screen was tiny and only 20 or so chairs could watch the movie...luckily we were there early. It was cold out so hot chocolate and coffee would have been welcome instead of cold drinks. You must take a shuttle to the beach...but towels, beach chairs, sand toys, etc. are all available at the beach for no charge. Although cold, we enjoyed searching for shells and sanddollars each day. Beware -- nights are cold so take a jacket!

Parking -- Self parking is $25 a day. Steep price but easy access to rooms as parking is under each building.

On my next trip to San Diego, I won't stay at Loew's or Coronado Beach. It's just not worth the money. For an adults only trip, I would stay in the Gaslamp District. For a family trip, I would choose another property inland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our annual trip to Coronado continues to amaze as this Loews Resort is constantly changing for the better. The property is beautiful while extending out on it's own peninsula and marina and perfectly accessible to the beach and activities surrounding.

The superb quality of the facility and services are dwarfed by the overwhelming attention to hospitality provided by the staff. Rarely do you see a staff this well prepared and eager to make your stay comforting. The overall disposition of the personnel is a true sign of a well managed operation. Simply put; These people love their jobs which translates to the essence of hospitality, a rare find in this world of mediocrity and complacency.

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of their suites. The added room and view is well worth the slight difference.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Obviously, we love this place since we keep coming back every summer. But I do agree with another poster who said the hotel seems to be in the middle of an identity crisis right now. When we started staying there almost a decade ago, there were so many kid/family friendly organized activities like mad science and pizza making workshops for the kids, basketball pick up games on the courts and family bingo. All are gone now. In their place, they are adding more and more adult organized activities like wine tasting and such. The lobby of the hotel went from a breezy beach feel, to a sleek contemporary look, more suitable to conference goers than families. But the location keeps us coming back. We like the secluded feel at the end of the island.

The glitches in service we encountered last year are definitely gone. We had the best service this year that we have ever had. Two of the pool wait staff really stood out to us, Manny and Allan. A big shout-out to those two guys for delivering 5-star service every day we were there. The beach workers also did a great job, the shuttle was readily available and they seem to have loaded up on more beach amenities like, chairs, boogie boards, etc.

We tried to book the resident "tennis pro" but for a lesson, but our call was never returned. Most of the advertised sports activities that are listed in the brochure, are not really what they claim to be. For example, "water basketball" games is just a hoop by the pool. There is nothing organized by an activities director like at other Loews hotels. Pretty lame. I truly hope they bring back some of the more family-oriented activities, especially BINGO. We were looking forward to playing this year, it's so hokey but fun!

All-in-all we will be back. For us it's all about the location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disneygal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A below average experience for a 4 star hotel. Staff are gracious, lovely and clearly wish they had more to offer. Seems to be a property in search of an identity. Is it sophisticated and lovely or a pulse pounding dj fueled party atmosphere? The answer, in the end, is neither. And with MSG flavored tortilla chips and flour infused tater tots instead of simple French fries, and menus rife w sandwiches and paninis and pizzas- well all I can say is good luck to my gluten free brethren. (Minus the pool side tacos which are excellent) Room service will be rough on you. Tho to be fair Mistral had an array of excellent choices. And market cafe had two! Count them, two great gluten free desserts. There are high points-- some great food and mostly fabulous staff- but at a corporate level this property seems to have no idea who it's trying to be... And consumer-focused and intuitive isn't even one of the options.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HorseHoundnHusby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews