We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice alternative to del Coronado”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The del Coronado is without question THE place to stay on Coronado Island due to its history and charm, and convenient location in the center of town. It is also very expensive and often sold out, and because it is 100+ years old many of its guest rooms are tiny by today's standards.

A nice alternative is the Loews Coronado Bay Resort situated a few miles south on the peninsula, across the street from a state park beach that stretches for miles and is never crowded. This is a modern hotel with beautiful, airy common areas and spacious rooms with large bathrooms. Service is impeccable. The pools and hot tub area have lots of entertainment options, as well as a nice poolside bar and café. There are also plenty of other restaurants and dining options to get you through a 3-day stay. The central bar in the open lobby is superb, and has adjacent seating areas with spectacular views of the sun setting over the San Diego skyline across the bay. The property is excellently maintained.

The beach is a 15 minute walk but the hotel offers a free golf-cart shuttle service every few minutes. And once you get there the hotel provides beach chairs, towels, toys and umbrellas, all free of charge.

Negatives? I am not a fan of the $25 per day parking fee that we didn't know about until we arrived (and there are no other parking options anywhere in the area). The extra charge for Wi-Fi in your room is petty and annoying, but Wi-Fi is free in the lobby. We visited in July so there were lots of families with lots of kids--these kids were generally well behaved but there is nowhere on the property (including the "adult" pool) to find peaceful solitude. The trip into the town of Coronado is a fast 5-10 minutes by car (there is never any traffic); otherwise you are subject to resort prices in the food venues and gift shops.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkoLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. I appreciate you detailed review of the property and your experience throughout your stay. We take great pride in providing up-to-date amenities and keeping the property maintained to high standards. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,323 - 3,329 of 4,439 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here on business. Hotel room was a nice size with very comfortable beds, a big bathroom and a beautiful balcony / view of the water. Long walk to the room but passed some beautiful views on the way including some orange trees. Great breakfast at the restaurant and a nice bar with outdoor heating lamps / tables. Would consider staying here on a personal visit to Coronado.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and were able to experience the wonderful views our rooms provide and our Cay’s patio that overlooks downtown San Diego. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a “personal” visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week for a conference and loved it. First off, I sprained my ankle on arrival in San Diego and had to go to the hospital first. The hotel shuttle picked me up from the hospital and brought me to the hotel, then the staff was unbelievably helpful and accommodating since I was on crutches and in pain and couldn't carry anything. Throughout the week I found the staff to be responsive, quick, accommodating and friendly. My room was lovely, as was my view out onto the pool. The location is beautiful and the views amazing. I highly recommend this hotel and would welcome the chance to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail_in_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. I’m sorry to hear of your unfortunate incident when you arrived to San Diego. It’s great that the staff took such great care of you and was very responsive. They take pride in providing great customer care and I will share this review with entire team so they may see how their actions positively impacted your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for a girls trip the weekend of June 29. I've never stayed in such a loud, noisy hotel that was this expensive per night. It is very over rated and not worth the money. Woke up each morning to sliding furniture, stomping, loud talking, it almost seemed the kitchen was above our room. I will not return there are too many nice places to stay in San Diego to put up with this.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsmecarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel 5-10 minute drive from actual coronado village...
when booking hotel i registered for 4 guests 2 adults 2 children - they gave me 2 rooms...said they only allowed 3 guests per room - so i booked one room with king bed assuming there would be at least a pull out couch...no couch just a small chair...when checking in staff said they would send up a rollaway bed - it never came...
room service food was horrible...
self parking $25!!! crazy...
hotel lobby and cafe set up strange (no flow-crowded) and very loud...
big disappointment...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hberrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our stay here was the second part of our California trip. We had just stayed at a gorgeous Disneyland hotel when we checked in to the Loews. In comparison, I was not impressed with this one. The rooms were average, as was the view of the bay from the room. Dirty grout lines in a hotel really bother me and this hotel is full of them! The shower, the bathroom floor and tub all needed a deep cleaning. There was mold around the shower because the water often leaked out. The tub was yellowing and did not look appealing, we never used it except to wash out sandy shoes from the beach.
The hotel is very pet-friendly, which is great except I think there should be clearly labeled separate pet towels because every once in a while I grabbed a towel that vaguely smelled of pet odor. Gross.
As mentioned in other reviews, everything is expensive. Bring your own bottled water if you can because they definitely make some good money there. The cafe is also average, but pricey. Service at the restaurant was very slow. We sat there for over and hour and half one night waiting for our food and then our ticket.
You can walk almost a mile to the beach or they have a free golf cart shuttle. We took the golf cart shuttle, but had a few negative experiences. The first time we went a young girl was the driver. She chatted on a two-way radio while a few families were loading and decided to take off without warning or looking back at us. My 6-year-old son had just stepped on with one foot when she took off. Luckily, my husband grabbed his arm and yelled for her to stop. She apologized, but seemed shocked that we thought she made a mistake. My husband spoke with a manager about the situation back at the hotel and all seemed well, but on another day we were on the shuttle coming back from the beach and a young male driver hit the side of a gate. Again, we were all fine and he apologized and told us it was his first time driving the golf cart!
Overall, the staff was friendly and courteous, but due to the price, location and cleanliness of this Loews I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

At a last minute decision, it was a choice between the 'Del' and Loews Bay-front Resort. We choose wisely. Our afternoon to post fireworks displays was spent on the outside patio of Cays lounge. It was a combination 4th of July and my pre-birthday celebration. The ambient view looking north and panning east to west was spectacular.

Our cocktail waitress was Rebeca Fataroo; she gave her superior attention to our choice of craft beer, fine wine and a tasty margarita. 'Becky' has great people skills and was so gracious to our entourage.

We stayed the night and accommodation was pleasant.

Room Tip: Just about every hotel room has a view of San Diego Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. We are very happy you enjoyed your visit with us and had such a wonderful 4th of July & pre-birthday celebration. I will pass on this review with Rebecca and share your kind comments with her. We look forward to welcoming you back soon or next 4th of July!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
301 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $213 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing