We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, but ...”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

No really, this is a great place to go and just be. The pool was great, the room was great, we had a good breakfast at the hotel and a nice walk along the bay. The room was clean and well maintained, the bathroom was huge, but the shower was a little small. It look like they recently redid the rooms and they did a nice job.

We got our room on priceline and I think that we got it at a little over $100 a night, remember when booking that parking is ridiculous at $25 a night and you have no choice but to pay it. Valet is $30, but then you have to tip :)

The other thing that may be a bit of a deterrent is that you are out there, you aren't really close to anything and you really have to drive everywhere. I like to be able to walk into town and get coffee or whatever, but this place is a good 3 miles from the center of town. Again, not a huge deal, but you should know when you are booking the trip.

I hope this helps

Room Tip: If you want to see the bay try to get a room on an upper level and in building 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussD7s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,307
    1,111
    428
    206
    108
See reviews for
1,300
1,228
86
1,049
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (929)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a place ....perfect for relaxing. We were ending our drive the California coast from Sn Francisco over an eight day period and I made sure that the last two days were spent at the Loews ...smartest decision of the entire trip. I had stayed at the Del Coronado a long time ago and couldn't get over how expensive the place was. Following some internet searches ...I came across the Loews on Coronado Island .....stunning place for the price. As previously stated .....a good 15 minutes from downtown ...but well worth it if you want to relax. The place is just beautiful .....open air concept ....phenomenal lobby bar with staged terraces ....opulent outdoor couches ....with heating lamps and built in fire pits in the center piece of the tables ....with a stunning view of the bay. Rooms were huge and extremely welcoming. we truly enjoyed our time by the pool .....(the one for adults only ....one for kids is also available). Pool area is huge ...with a nice bar / tapas section. Incredible table service for cocktails and snacks. We were fortunate to rent one of the cabanas by the pool for the day ... a must do. Three cabanas are available on a first come, first serve basis. Make sure you rent the one from the spa - early in the morning or the night before .....price was $140 for the entire day .....it comes with a bottle of California sparkling wine (champagne) ...an array of face creams, bode creams and sunscreen, lemon / cucumber flavoured water dispense ...real refreshing and a bowl of face towels ...in an ice bowl with cucumbers for the eyes .....staff serviced our cabana every hour asking if everything was ok - WOW !!!!! This was a steal for the service we received. We had the chance to dine at the facility's restaurant on the second floor (name escapes me ...we had a later dinner). the service was exceptional ,,,,,the starter dishes out of this mind ....especially the mushroom risotto and the lobster risotto ( get a full lobster tail for $10 !!!!!!!!!! ....excuse me .....how is this even possible in such a wonderful place ....anyhow, we indulged and had no choice but to re-order !!! LOL. As stipulated, need to pay for parking and wifi .....but if you are going there as a lover's weekend retreat or a two - three day escape ....who cares about the wifi. Enjoy this real gem on Coronado Island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jifffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. A great detailed review of your experience and it delights me that we met and exceeded your expectations. Your comments are definitely appreciated and your experience will be shared with team as this is what we strive for. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next romantic getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here when I was competing in a triathlon that took part in the water, road and sand just across the way. The room, hotel and amenties are very very nice and super clean. All the staff was wonderful accommodating a bunch of triathletes wheeling their bikes thru the lobby. The only downside I can think of is that it is a little far from the rest of town but this is also a plus as the beach isnt crowded.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It’s great to hear you had such a wonderful experience with us. I’m very happy you participated in the triathlon and were able to enjoy the resort and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I was here for a recent annual meeting. If you don't mind being away from the center of town, this is a great option. I had a very spacious room overlooking the bay with views of the Coronado Bridge and the San
Diego skyline. Very relaxing. Staff was always very helpful and attentive although I had glitch with their transportation service returning from town and was late for a meeting as a result. If you have a chance, rent a bike and ride to the ferry landing. Great bike path. Loved the tapas like menu at the Minstral and the bartender/waiter there was very helpful.
Great views and rooms. Overall very relaxing and positive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It’s great to hear you had such a wonderful experience with us. I’m very happy you we able to experience Mistral and enjoy the relaxing environment. Your kind comments about the staff will definitely be shared with them. I apologize for the transportation issue and that it caused you to be late to your meeting. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

From the moment we entered the hotel, the staff were all pleasant, professional and just plain ole' helpful! It is close to the Del and many attractions in Coronado. Our room was a deluxe king. And simply gorgeous.

3 criticisms: 1) have to pay $12 per day to use Wi-fi in room (although free in lobby), 2) $10 per day to use workout room. 3) $25 per day to park...$30 for valet svc. These first 2 charges are ridiculous in my mind. Most nice hotels and resorts do not charge for these basic services. The parking....we be easier to take if they were in crowded city facility. But, they have plenty of space. Kind of a rip off I think.

Room Tip: We had third floor facing bay...a little more but worth it in my book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorothyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have always been a big fan of The Loews properties. I stay at any of the Loews whenever I can. This property was absolutely wonderful. I had the privilege of staying at another Loews run by Mr. Johnson. It seems wherever he goes, superb guest services experience follows. The staff are very courteous and well trained. The facility is meticulous in every way possible. The pools, guest rooms, public areas are well kept and maintained, they were even waxing the beautiful tile in the lobby the next morning of our stay. We had plans to go site seeing while in the area and we ended up staying at the resort all day soaking up the sun by one of their beautiful pools. I happened to run into a client of mine who was staying there as well and we went up to Mistral for dinner, the menu was great and the server was amazing (Can't remember his name). This server knew the menu in details, he was able to answer every question we had and was able to steer us to get most of the items he suggested. Being in the hotel industry myself and used to working in 5 stars properties for a big part of my career, I send my kudos to the staff and management of this beautiful resort. See you next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannakhleif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It’s great to hear you had such a wonderful experience with us. I’m very happy you we able to experience Mistral and had a wonderful dining experience and received exceptional service. I will be passing on your kind comments to Mr. Johnson as I know he would appreciate them as he is very proud of the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We looked forward to staying at this "Luxury Hotel" and were soooo disappointed.
We had to wait 1.5hrs for our room to be ready. We were not offered the opportunity to wait pool side or anywhere else in the hotel. Staff was not cheerful or helpful, they seemed like they didn't want to be there and could care less wether we were there or not. I was offered a drink while I waited and when I said yes he said the best he could do is give me "ice water"...seriously. The rooms were average NOT luxurious. Beds were uncomfortable, none of us slept well. Linens were average, not luxurious. Towels were rough and smelled awful. Bath products smelled awful. Bathroom was the nicest part of the hotel but shower was awkward to use. We were not offered directions to our room, I had to ask how to get there and where to park. There is nothing to do there except go to the pool. There is no easy access to the beach. It to far from town to walk and the hotel does not even offer bikes to ride into town (the SD Sheraton on the Marina does and we enjoyed that very much). We paid $33 for 3 drinks at the pool, they were completely filled with ice and hardly any drink....WAY OVERPRICED. Bottled water in the room was $8 for a regular bottle of water (no we were not dumb enough to open one of those). There was supposed to be some kids fun rooms but we were never told about them and we never found them. The hotel seems dated, not luxurious at all (the website pic of the lobby is very deceiving) and over priced for the facilities and experience. We were soooo disappointed that we packed up and left early in the morning. Very big waist of our vacation funds and time. We visit San Diego at least once a year but had never been to Coronado Island and our experience at the hotel ruined our experience of the island :(
I would not stay there again if they paid me to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
4.4 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
17.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 16 in Coronado
5,119 reviews
4.7 mi away
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
12.9 mi away
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Property: Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing