We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I actually stayed here twice recently - everything was great from the staff, to the overnight room, spa, food and pools. Tons to do in terms of pool, beach, hot tub, ping pong tables, bike riding. Lots of families. We went kayaking in the harbor. So much fun! The market cafe is open 24 hrs. The lobby renovations look amazing. The spa was very nice. The food at Mistral was awesome. I tried squid ink risotto - scared to try it at first, but wow! All the staff is super friendly and helpful. I def recommend, and do plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: I think they all have balconies! I recommend to request a bay view (vs pool view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristin208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,378 - 3,384 of 4,466 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few days at the end of a Panama Canal cruise. The hotel and its grounds are amazing. Well cared for and a pleasure to walk around. The swimming pool area is lovely but only on our last day was it warm enough for us to spend the day there. My thanks to Britney for her help and advice and wonderful sense of humour. The hotel reception area is spacious and it was nice to sit here with free internet access and a drink from the bar. We used the shuttle service around Coronado and the drivers were all very helpful. With the advice and help from the concierge desk we were able to visit many of the sights in San Diego. Our room was on the ground floor with a pool view in block 3. This was a lovely room with plenty of space. We only ate once in the hotel and the menu was not that impressive but overall, an absolutely great place to stay and we would love to return sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed there the Friday night of Memorial Day weekend, having just come from a few days at Legoland. We had plans to go to the beach, but between the colder weather and the room upgrade to a full bay view, we decided to enjoy room service in the room and relax.

We got there around 5 and very friendly people checked us in. Everyone at the whole resort was nice. She let me know I'd been upgraded from a partial bay view to a full. We loved it all. The room was very nice, the view and balcony was so relaxing and the tub was amazing. I'm not normally a fan of hotel tubs, but this one's size and comfy arm rests and tilted back just lured me in. Amazingly soft sheets, not hotel-like at all.

We took food from the market and had room service. Both were good but pricey. I definitely agree this place will nickel and dime you, but just be aware of the parking, mini bar, internet, fitness and all the other fees and the rest of the stay is nice. FYI the cheapest bottle of white wine they had was about 2/3 of a normal bottle and was $40. Ouch.

We got a AAA rate that was $260 after the parking and taxes and fees and I thought it was a little pricey but it was so relaxing it was worth it. My only complaint was the herd of elephants upstairs who let their elephant children run non-stop for 2 hours. How did they not get tired? Finally we banged on the ceiling and they stopped. I don't think that's the hotel's fault at all, but certainly I don't think the floor helped muffle it at all.

The lobby was very pretty and had little birds for my son to look at, an enormous tv for the husband and a dj if that interests you. We thought seeing dogs on the property was fun and never had a problem with them.

Mostly we just sat and watched the boats and kayakers and birds fishing and the bride who walked by. We picked it because it was a few miles outside Coronado, so the 10 minute car ride didn't bother us. We had a great trip.

Room Tip: Splurge on a bay view. It's just too relaxing on the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This resort is right on the bay and is very quiet, peaceful, relaxing, and private which is exactly what we were looking for as it was our anniversary. It's a 5 minute drive to downtown Coronado and you can't walk there at all or to the beach which is across the street due to the busy highway in between the hotel and the beach. Customer service at this hotel was excellent, so much so it completely stood out! Everyone from the valet, desk clerk, bartender, to the hostess / waiter at the hotel restaurant were helpful, approachable, and made our stay even better. We had a Grand King room with a complete view of the bay and it was worth the $265/night price for the occasion. If not for our anniversary I probably would have paid less for a superior or deluxe room. The room was big and the bathroom was huge with a soaking tub and a shower. The bed (king size) was very comfortable and the robes in the room was a nice touch. Falling asleep and waking up to the fantastic view of the bay though was the highlight of the trip. It was so quiet at times you could hear a pin drop, very relaxing. Look for specials that include parking for the entire trip or else you'll have to pay $25/day. The stop, drop, and roll package included this plus a couple of free drinks (bar area was great!), it was worth it for the parking alone. Wireless is only available in the lobby for free, in room you'll have to pay so be prepared for that. The one thing I did not like was the food quality at this hotel. Overpriced for what you got and not good at all. We drove to downtown for our meals and found a few gems including the Burger Lounge (Great burgers)! Overall, great hotel for customer service, privacy, and location if you have a car.

Room Tip: Grand rooms are great if you can afford it, but ask for a top floor room away from the elevator. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudgetJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights here for an event. I enjoyed outside areas to sit and relax by the fire pits on cool nights. The rooms are a good size, and ours looked out into the bay. The pool area is very nice, but the pool was a bit chilly for me. The bar near the front desk is nice, but closes a bit early. All of the food we tried from the different restaurants was good. they have a great spa and I enjoyed the message! The hotel is a short taxi ride to downtown Coronado. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the front desk. The are situated in a semicircle, and our room was a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lfoxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After staying 2 nights in downtown San Diego, my wife and I looked to Coronado for a relaxing resort escape. This was our first time staying at a Loews resort, and the Coronado Bay Resort was AMAZING! I will say, the resort was a lot farther from the Coronado ferry dock than expected (~6 miles), but it's well worth the drive because the location is beautiful. While waiting for our room, we enjoyed a bite to eat and a cold beer at Cays Lounge...and an EXTRAORDINARY of the Coronado Bridge and the San Diego skyline. The resort has a very all-inclusive feel, and certainly can offer all that you need, but things aren't marketed that way, and really, it's pretty affordable. They have a few on-site restaurants, 3 pools (kids, family & adult), and plenty of activities throughout the resort. Oh, and the beach is all around you! There are golf carts that can take you to the renowned Silver Strand Beach (or you can walk about 10 minutes), and the resort will also provide chairs, umbrellas, towels and boogie boards if you so desire (boogie boarding was AWESOME, by the way!). After a day of lounging by the pool, I highly recommend getting away from the resort to eat dinner in the town of Coronado. The resort offers a complimentary shuttle ride to a local Irish Pub – close to the Del Coronado (a great tourist attraction) and other great restaurants and boutiques. The shuttle does fill up quickly, so be sure to reserve a spot in advance. Sometimes you can get lucky, and (if the schedule permits) the shuttle drivers will be able to take you down further, or all the way to the ferry docks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwestalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel/resort and it is a great place for a getaway. We have small children and use the kids club and have to highly recommend using this for other parents to get some alone time plus the kids are well taken care of. We love getting up and walking on the beach-pretty neat for kids that they have sand dollars on their beach- then spending time out by the pool(warning lots of kids!). The staff brings out treats for the kids which is very exciting for them. Then in evening go in to town and eat,great choices for every price range, just short drive from hotel, but not walking distance. We will definitely stay here again. Have had no bad experiences here. Love the marina views also.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,054 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $218 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing