We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice resort on the bad side of the main road. You need to cross the main road to get to the beach.

The hotel is out on it's own with no outside restaurants nearby, you will need a car. Coronado is only 5 mins away so easy to get to but not within walking distance.

Rooms are in separate three story towers facing either the bay or the marina.

The hotel is nice, pool area is good and the pool bar has good food.

I probably wouldn't go back just because it's so out on it's own.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheapEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,371 - 3,377 of 4,441 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a Beautiful Property, From the magnificent rooms, service,grounds etc.
They gave us an upgrade as we informed the front desk, it was our anniversary. We did not expect such a upgrade, right on the bay like a cottage.Beautifully appointed and spacious.
WE WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A BEAUTIFUL TRANQUIL LOCATION AND 5 STAR ACCOMMODATIONS.
WE PLAN TO RETURN FOR SURE,IT IS AWESOME.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BK1Reno_Nv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. I’m happy to hear we created a memorable anniversary during your stay and you were able to enjoy one of our spacious Bayside Grand Suites. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to stay here because we were traveling with our Great Pyrenees. The hotel is extremely pet friendly. It has amazing views and is a quick walk to the beach. The staff was very helpful. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori-lomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. I’m glad to hear you and your four legged friend we able to come enjoy our resort. Our staff takes great pride in creating friendly and helpful environment so your kind comments are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a beautiful facility that has some issues, and is very pricey. My husband and I stayed for three nights - Thur, Fri & Sat, and paid $1000 for a Deluxe King room on the 3rd floor of Building 5. We had a partial view of the water and marina + a big tree, but had to pay an extra $50 a night for that location. (We were first put in a room on top of the pool and jacuzzi where lots of families made lots of noise.) We were 'nickel & dimed' to death, except that is wasn't just nickels and dimes. Parking was $25 per night. Internet was $12 per night, and there were connectivity issues. The hotel's drinking water isn't very good, yet they charge $8 for a bottle of water. It goes on and on... One day I was sitting at my computer and a man walked in without knocking to shampoo the floor! after which came a follow-up visit by the housekeeping manager, after which came a visit by a maid - even though the room had already been cleaned that morning! We would go back again only at a much reduced rate, and only if we were guaranteed a room with a view (many rooms look out to another room & its balcony).

Room Tip: Room with a view and in Building 1, 2 or 3 (not 4 or 5 unless your want the isolation).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Beautiful location albeit some distance from the town of Coronardo. The hotel operates a complimentary mini bus service
We were given an upgrade upon arrival and the staff were so friendly and helpful
Our upgraded room was excellent and very well provided with toiletries etc
The concierge (Elizabeth) was so kind and helpful that after only three days we felt that we had known her a lifetime. The trouble that she went to to make our short stay as enjoyable as possible went far beyond the call of duty. Definite employee of the year!
The coffee shop offered light snacks etc, and breakfast (buffet and a la carte) was served in a light airy and pleasent room with great views. If we ever visit San Diego again the Loews would be our number one destination! Well done

Room Tip: Ask for a second or third floor room - the views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVIDJARCHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your experience and were able to work with our concierge Elizabeth. I will share your kind comments with her as she enjoys hearing when she creates a pleasant experience for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have gone there 5 summers in a row for end of summer family vacations. Going again in August. It's way out on the island by itself. If you want to walk to shops and restaurants, this is not the place to stay. We park and don't leave for a few days, which we like. Here's what we do while there: rent jet skis, paddle boards, a sail boat, inner tubing and water skiing. They have a boat rental place on premises. "Beach butler" will take you to the beach or you can take the 5-10 min walk. Loews provides umbrellas, towels and chairs from a set up down on the beach. The restaurants are good - one casual, one fine dining. Nice indoor/outdoor bar with bay view. Awesome set ups outside with comfy seating and fire pits in the evening to gather groups or as a couple. Nice spa, tennis courts. We take our dog too. They have a town car service which took us into town - cost was just a tip for driver. Borja at the boat rental was an awesome ski instructor for kids. Hope he is still working there! Gordy has been our go to concierge.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are very friendly. The pool area is great with lots of activities: ping pong, chess, Connect 4, volleyball, basketball, water toys, lounge chairs and lots of lush plants. We really enjoyed the large finch cage and exploring the gardens. The rooms were very nice with spa like bathrooms. The hotel is a few minutes out of town, but we had a car. The beach across the street and in the area are some of our new favourite beaches. We thought that room service prices, food and the service itself was great, but the coffee shop is very expensive and the baked goods looked better than they tasted. Our room didn't have much of a view, except of other rooms and other than that I can't say anything bad about the place. You could easily spend a family vacation here and find lots to do.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fil-a-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
302 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $215 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing