We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, dog friendly hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Anthem, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice, dog friendly hotel.”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I attended a professional conference at this hotel and stayed there for 5 nights. Rooms were large and clean. Our Border Collie loved the place. Staff was extremely courteous. They even provided dog bowels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanAndBenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your visit to Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It’s great to hear you had such a wonderful visit. We at Loews Hotels love pets and they are welcome at any of our properties. I believe I recall seeing your dog in the lobby a few times and it was very cute and looked happy to be here. We look forward to welcoming you and your four legged friend back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,368
    1,136
    435
    211
    111
See reviews for
1,353
1,244
88
1,067
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I wanted a 2 day getaway and found just what we were looking for at Loew's Coronado Bay. Without asking we were given a bay view room which was obviously updated fairly recently. We enjoyed meals at the Market for breakfasts and a dinner and were overall pleased with our stay. We had received a good rate via a Travelzoo promotion and would say we certainly got our money's worth. We would return.

Room Tip: Our only complaint was hearing the heavy footsteps on the floor above use. Try selecting a top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hb_short_trip_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your visit to Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It’s great to hear you had such a wonderful visit. We are glad you decided to spend your birthday with us and I hope we made it memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is located on Coronado island. It has great views of the water. The rooms are a good size but aren't laid out well. You self park underground yet there is still a steep per day parking charge. The bathrooms appear to have been redone. However, the carpeting is drab and outdated giving the hotel an older look. The pool area is fantastic. It has three pools and bar service. I didn't like that we were charged daily for WiFi and to use the exercise facility(which, by the way, was just average). There are no restaurants that are walking distance; you have to drive a few minutes into Corodado proper to have your meals. Once in town, there are plenty of choices to eat. You can even take a walk to the Del Coronado hotel for a drink.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakeview80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

At first glance, this looked like a great location right on the bay. But we were soon disappointed the minute we checked in. We had requested an upper level suite with adjoining bedroom several months in advance. The bedroom we got was on the 3rd floor while the suite was on the first floor with no view. The clerk at the front desk had the gall to tell us that we should be happy, that at least we were in the same building ! These 2 rooms cost close to a $1000 a day ! As this hotel is a chain of connected buldings, we drove to the underground garage of our building. There were no luggage carts available at the elevator. We would have needed to get one at the main entrance and lug them all the way to our building ! The hallways were not heated except in a few remote places and were very cold. The rooms had great bathrooms but the shower taps were difficult to adjust. The furniture was dated. What high end hotel still has double beds in their rooms ? Internet was not free and very expensive despite the high cost of the rooms. There was a dead bug in one of the glasses. There were dogs everywhere, even on the couches in the lobby. We had to argue with the restaurant hostess to be seated at a large table (we were 6 in our party) despite the place being almost empty. The waitress read a spiel she seemed to have learned by heart and was difficult to understand with a foreign accent. All in all, very, very disappointed. It is the small details that makes an hotel great. This one totally missed the mark and is isolated and miles from anything else in San Diego.

Room Tip: Get a higher level room if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AZFrequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I attended a meeting at this resort and went a day early. I was very disappointed with the pool area. It reminded me of a timeshare resort or an apartment complex. The other side of the resort, where the bar and another outside deck are located, is much nicer and has a really great view. We rented a car at the airport at the last minute and I am glad we decided to do so. There is nothing really close to the resort, so if you are staying more than a few days you definitely need a car. The parking was very easy, right below your individual building, and we never had a hard time finding a space. We rented bikes one day on the property and rode to Coronado and went sightseeing and shopping and they have a very nice bike path that will take you all the way there (around 6 miles each way). We also did the gondola ride at night that is also located on property and we both enjoyed the ride. If you go, remember you can take your own wine. There is a nice grocery store / market right beside CVS in Imperial Beach that had a nice wine selection. The drinks were pretty pricey at the resort bar ($16 or 17 for a martini), but sadly this is in line with other resorts I have been to in the last couple of years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaykayram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here about two weeks ago for two days while we visited the San Diego area. The area was gorgeous and the hotel itself was very nice. The service was excellent and we were upgraded to a Bay view without even asking. Parking was easy and convenient. Yes it cost $25 per day but everywhere we went on our California trip cost money to park, some as much as $40 per night. That's the price you have to pay when you are staying in a big city so I really don't understand that complaint. Double that for WiFi. Yes it would be nice if it was free, but only 1 hotel we stayed at offered it complimentary so I don't see any reason to knock this one down because of it. I would definitely stay here again if I was visiting the area.

Room Tip: Look for a Bay view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huhnnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your visit to Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It’s great to hear you had such a wonderful visit. I’m glad you were able to experience one of our Full Bay view rooms and your comments regarding parking are much appreciated as our rates are some of the lowest on Coronado. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is a little out of the way (no shopping or nearby amenities within walking distance). and it is best you rent a car if you plan to stay at this hotel. It is very clean and airy. The water views are awesome. There are 2 restaurants on the premises but I did not get a chance to sample the food because it was closed on Mondays, however, the conference lunch provided was very good and I was very surprise. It’s a rare occasion that I can say the food is as good as the hotel.
The hotel welcomes pets, I saw many well behaved dogs on the premises. I will recommend this hotel and return again.

Room Tip: Building 5 rooms facing east are bright and cheery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPLFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your visit to Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It’s great to hear you had such a wonderful visit and that you would return again. I will pass on your comments to our Executive Chef so he may share with his team as they take great pride in the product they serve. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
289 reviews
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Property: Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing