We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little late but may help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A little late but may help”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My family and I stayed at this resort for July 4th. We were excited as we were told that we would have a beautiful view of the fireworks on the bay. However, we were unable to see most of them. It was a beautiful night but unless we paid an arm and a leg for the buffett we were left to fin for ourselves as far as getting a seat to watch them. Dinner was a joke as we were willing to give our arm and leg but there was nothing available. Mostly this was the case because most of the sits were taken to those that were in the marina instead of being saved for hotel guest. We did eat our second night in the other dinning room. The food was great but the service was way less than great. It took a long time to get our food and when we did part of it was the wrong order.

Now for the pluses. The hotel room was nice. We had two of them. The pool was excellant and we loved having an adult only pool since all in our party were ages 18 and above. (2 18yrs, 2 21yrs and 3 over 35yr) The younger ones loved the fires at night and enjoyed the bar area. All enjoyed going to the beach for a while however didn't like it as much as the atlantic ocean. The sand is ruff and the seaweed over takens you. The staff was very friendly and over all we had a great time. I would travel here again, just not to see the fireworks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacritter2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,243
    1,082
    420
    197
    106
See reviews for
1,241
1,197
85
1,033
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The resort is beautiful, very nice rooms with large and fancy bathrooms. Thoroughly enjoyed sitting by the pool and the nearby jogging trails. But beyond that... there is nothing to do, or anything that you can get to conveniently. The concierge (Elizabeth) was very helpful with suggestions on what to do, and even helped set up a car rental. That is the main draw-back, that you need to rent a car or take a cab to go anywhere, you can't walk to anything. I was there for a conference, so it wasn't too much of a problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Towels verry gruby and had to ask for more fresh one over priced verry dusse did not repace the toilettrees and coffee wen i work as a cmbermaid thats a big no no hotel its self is good if u r old and rich and have dog and view wear graty over all happy with this hotel but wood go back as its five mile out i will be going back to the to old town best westen hacienda

Room Tip: if you r rich and old yes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshg502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Loews for 3 nights, during our 2 week Honeymoon in the USA. The standout of this hotel is the great service that we received during our stay, especially from the concierge desk. Our room was nice with a balcony overlooking the bay and we enjoyed the pool area, especially the addition of an Adult pool. We ate at Mistral restaurant and were impressed with the food quality, service and value.
The hotel affords great views of San Diego and is a short drive into Coronado and offers a great escape. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiefamilySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed in early December. The hotel had renovations going on so no market place (casual dining), very small gift shop, etc. The rooms were very nice and large. We had a balcony overlooking Coronado Bay. The hotel is 5 miles outside of town so very quiet but they do have a complimentary shuttle that goes into Coronado several times a day. Once in town, you could take a trolley tour of San Diego. The best part of the hotel is the friendliness of the staff. Everyone, no matter who, no matter what their job, speaks to you and makes you feel welcome. I cannot say enough about the concierge staff. Our concierge, Elizabeth, was absolutely the best! She got us reservations at a restaurant on the water with one of the best tables in the house plus paid for our dessert! The concierge staff also sent us a bottle of wine with chocolate covered strawberries. Talk about feeling like royalty!! Our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed there 2 days for a conference. It is located on a sandy strip between Coronado Bay and the Pacific. There is a nearby beach (easy walk), a great bike/jogging path along the beach, and your basic resort activities (several pools, but none seemed big enough for lap swimming; tennis courts; ping pong, etc.) but other than that, everything in San Diego is 20 or so minutes away. Staff reasonably helpful, although some people clueless about local activities. Room was reasonably spacious -- had a bit of a musty smell but not overwhelming. One weird thing was that they had a bar in the lobby but otherwise, no way to buy light snacks between meals. I thought it OK, but not great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We needed a last minute get away due to my husbands disability. He has been out of work for a while and not feeling well. I thought a last minute get away would be good for his spirits. We live in town but even a weekend from things can help. Well from the moment I booked the room everything was easy. I called for an early checkin, they said come on over. We checked in at noon. We checked out at 3pm on Sunday. In between was an awsome experience with the hotel, the staff. It was just easy. That is what I like about staying in a nice hotel. They want to make you happy and accomidate you if possible. Every single person was nice and friendly. The room and view was wonderful. The pool was a pleasure and relaxing. I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a time away to relax. My husband said thanks for making him fell better to at the end.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
274 reviews
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 16 in Coronado
5,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Property: Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing