We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Concierge Team ~ a Credit to the Loews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Concierge Team ~ a Credit to the Loews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Loews hotel in August for just under two weeks; after an initial hic-up with not having simple requests met, we had a great time.

The hotel lobby is impressive with a centre piece sweeping staircase, as well as glass doors at the back overlooking the ocean. The bedrooms are a good size, nicely furnished with a balcony, along with a good sized bathroom with a separate shower cubicle. Our room provided a side view overlooking the ocean.

The pool area is more than adequate, with pool bar/restaurant, three swimming pools (children’s, adults only and children and adults) and plenty of sunbeds.

Parking per day is $25.00 for self- parking / $30.00 for valet. Annoying, but all hotels of this standard are no different.

Yet, what truly set the Loews apart from other similar hotels I have been to? The exceptional staff ~ from room maids – pool staff attendants – management – all of whom were exceptionally well trained and courteous.

However, the most impressive facet of the Loews was undeniably the hotel’s Concierge team. A special thank you must go to Gordy Berry, who was exceptionally helpful, charming, and witty too! Gordy totally understood our needs, most notably regarding that of restaurants (cuisine, price and ambience). His knowledge and expertise of San Diego ensured we sampled the full culinary experience.

Overall, I would fully recommend the Loews hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie-2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,031
    1,020
    398
    187
    102
See reviews for
1,139
1,117
76
940
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
American Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Everything went perfect. We did not know they had a shuttle to downtown and to the beach and that was a pleasant surprise. If you ask for free wi-fi, they will give it, and the staff were all great. The food we ate was excellent; I wish we could have spent more time at the hotel and the pools. Oh well. Next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Context: I was here for a business conference.

For a conference, this was a lovely location. Wonderful beach views, pleasant rooms (many of which had nice views) and a good ambience. My king-bed room had a partial bay view and a balcony that I'd have loved to have more time to enjoy. The work desk has a phone and you can see the view from one side and the TV from the other. Wireless Internet is $12.95 a day and the connection is a bit spotty. Air conditioning was good and quiet.

The bathroom was large, with a separate shower and a deep bathtub. Amenities include soap, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, cotton balls, and swabs. There's also a very nice bathrobe.

While the location is beautiful, it's out of the way and not particularly convenient to downtown Coronado. A hotel shuttle runs every 45 minutes and can get you there and back. There's a good bike path, but it's about 5 miles so you won't be going back and forth a lot.

Even late in the season, at the end of August, there were a lot of families. There are kids' activities, pools, all kinds of family-oriented (and even pet-oriented) things. But due to this family atmosphere, plus the distance from town, I wouldn't see this as a romantic getaway destination.

Room Tip: If you don't want a long walk to the lobby, ask for buildings 1 or 2.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DebbiesOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here last week for a business meeting.

Very beautiful property; rooms were decent sized and pretty clean. Downsize is that due to a strange traffic configuration which results in service vehicles driving right by rooms at all hours of the day and night.

Overall food ranged from average to overcooked and horrendous.

Room service was slow, but the bigger issue was the customer service. After my room service was later, I called to inquire the status. The person on the phone said it left 5 minutes ago. 20 minutes later, still no food. If there is a delay, just say so, don't lie to me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have to realise that when booking through a travel company rather than direct, some hotels seem to take advantage.
Of all the rooms we could have been allocated here with wonderful views or positions, we have been given one of c five ground floor rooms that look back at the noishotel lobby area. Our balcony is out of bounds unless you want to listen to shouting conentioeer types swearing away in public areas. No class, no control. As a bonus , we can drop down off our balcony onto the tops of the cars in the underground car park that protrudes below, with cars starting up and doors baning all evening. A "resort" ? Its more like a prison , stuck out on a headland acroos the bay from the city near nothing.

WIFI is payable, as is the car park !

I asked for a base near the city. this isn't - c. 20 mins to half an hour away. oh and the main restaurant is closed - good one.

Three nights left - might just walk out actually tomorrow.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdrianH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just horrible! This place was recommended by a friend. When we arrived it was so far from the main street of Coronado. It also looked like my nans retirement village! Don't be fooled by the huge lobby. The rooms are out dated and need a make over for what your paying. My boyfriend and I were also given a room that seemed to be with a party group. They kept us up all night with their drinking and partying. The front desk didn't seem to care dispite a few calls to them about the noise levels. Was not a very relaxing environment. Would seriously recommend other hotels and resorts in the area for that price. Save your money and go else where!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fannkriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange county
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Gorgeouse hotel!! Everyone working here was great!!
A funny thing happened. Two dogs were wondering arou d the halls, I guess they got out of the guest room. It was so funny! One was a tiny chiahaha and the other was a great Dane. Hilarious looking. So the hotel staff had to figure out what to do. It was all handled well.
The pool was perfect temp and very relaxing! We all had a great time! It is far from anything, so you have to drive everywhere. But worth it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBsurferwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Property: Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Green Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing