We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel; good vacation package deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Stay: We stayed at the Loews Coronado May 16 - 20, 2011 in room 2214 ('luxury', king bed).

Staff: The front desk staff was very courteous and the bellman, Jeff, was outstanding. There was some mix up with our Southwest vacation package however, Jeff took initiative to do some research and ensure we were happy with the accommodations. I felt sorry for the valet staff as they were also very courteous but I suspect they don't receive many tips with the sky high parking fees.

As a side note-- we tried to get information from the concierge several times but they always had a sign up indicating that they were closed; make sure you do your research prior to arriving as I'd not depend on the hotel for any information.

Rooms: Overall, I'd say the hotel is okay but rooms were a bit smaller than I expected for 'luxury' (there was only one step up which were the suites). We understood 'luxury' and 'deluxe' were the same square footage but the views differed from 'bay' to 'garden/bay'. The bay allegedly had the better view but we visited one other 'luxury/bay view' with 2 beds that was more like a bay/dumpster view. We didn't care much about the view anyway but were more interested in a (comfy) king bed since we were traveling with our 17 month old (note they do have cribs available).

The bed and pillows were indeed comfortable which aside from cleanliness tops our list of requirements. The bathroom was quite dirty when we arrived but nothing my Clorox wipes couldn't correct. The rest of the room appeared to be fairly clean.

They did have newly refinished carpets in almost all the rooms and we heard this update would be complete for all rooms very soon.

Parking/Travel: I agree with other posters that the parking at $28/day (valet; self park is $22) is more than a bit ridiculous. There is currently a 'suite' special on the Lowes website where you receive free parking if booking online through them along w/$50/day food & beverage credit however beginning at $409 per night, you're likely paying for parking anyway. A rental car is a must as it's a 5 - 10 minute drive to Coronado (talk about your captive audience!).

Food: They have 24 hour room service and a stocked mini bar which were very convenient. There is also a little deli area downstairs for quick bites and morning coffee/lattes. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants (they didn't look too busy).

Summary: For the great deal we received though Southwest Vacations ($2200 for 5 days/4 nights for 3 including hotel, air (direct flights), rental car, and tickets to the San Diego Zoo and SeaWorld), I'd say this was a good find and deal. If we were to receive discounted pricing, I'd stay at this hotel again. However, depending on activities planned and travelers, we may try the Omni, Hard Rock or another hotel in downtown San Diego next time.
As one more side note, we tried some featured Diners Drive In's and Dives restaurants (Hodad's and Hob Nob Hill) that were excellent!! The other food we had was mediocre at best (and pricier).

Room Tip: Deluxe and luxury rms have the same square footage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLF_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,900 - 3,906 of 4,479 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stayed at this resort for 5 days and it was restful. The restaurants were great and enjoyed the open lounge area each night. It was a bit cold while we were visiting so didn't get to enjoy the pools as much as we would have liked. The two afternoons we were able to sit out at the pool were wonderful. The adult pool is nice and peaceful.

I would recommend this hotel if you have a car rental. It is about 5 miles from Coronado city so you can't walk to visit the sites. They do have a daily shuttle into the Island but pickups are not every hour and you need to let them know ahead of time when you will be at the pickup or the van gets full. This happened to us and we had to wait 2 1/2 hours for the next scheduled pickup to get back to the hotel.

Overall, it was a wonderful place to stay and would return again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKMTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Traveled with a 14 yr old. Great Teen Center. Was worried about location but it turned out just fine. The staff was friendly. Beautiful location. Pool area nice. Would defintely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed at Loews Coronado Bay resort the weekend of May 14 and 15th. We booked the Woofies Weekend special on the Loews website so we could bring our Italian Greyhound with us. First of all the location of this resort is beautiful. Situated on it's own little peninsula with a pretty Marina, Silversand strand walking distance and surrounded by the beautiful Bay. Short 10 minute drive to the main Coronado Island and Orange Ave with lots of restaurants, bars and the Hotel Del Coronado. Another 10 minutes along Orange Avenue to the Ferry Landing area with very nice restaurants and amazing views of the San Diego skyline. We had a fantastic dinner with great views at Il Fornaio. On arrival we got a very friendly welcome and our dog got a treat from the bell boy. Good start to a nice weekend. The Front desk service was very friendly, efficient and quick. We were allowed to check-in early since we had arrive at 12:30 pm already. I had requested a double bed room with nice Bay view on the top floor when I booked the Woofie special on the Loews website. My husband and I (in our 40's) shared a double room with my parents (in their 70's) and our dog. My parents are visiting from Germany and it was important to me that we had a nice bay view. We got a room in Building 5 on the 3rd floor (top) with a very nice view of the bay. We are where very happy with this. We could see the water and boats from our beds and spent time on the balcony with champgne and that great view. It seems that most rooms in this hotel would have nice water views. Especially the larger suites which are on the waters edge with patios over the bay. The room was not large but an okay size and the bathroom was very modern, large with nice tile. Lots of fluffy towels, 2 robes, the standard bath products. Small but nice shower and big bathtub. Single sink with large counter. Our room seemd to be newly renovated and had a really nice decor. Light blue walls with dark wood furniture, stylish lamps and cool ocean themed art work on the walls (shots of waves, shells). The hallways are still the old style but they are in the progress of renovations on other floors. We had a big enough balcony with 2 chairs, small table and very nice bay views. The sheets were soft and high quality but the matress and pillows were to hard for our tasted. No soft pillow top to be found. We are comparing to Marriott Coronado, Hilton hotels and the Loews Ventana Canyon resort that all had a much more comfortable beds. The room with 2 double beds came only with full size beds. A bit tight for adults and queen size beds would have been nice. The overall room size was fine but on the smaller side and would have probably not fit 2 queen beds. Since we had booked the Woofies weekend special we received dog bowls, treats, poopy scooper bags etc. our dog also received a very nice warm meal especially made for dogs from Room service. He had a choice of Beef or chicken and they also offered Cat meals on the room service menue. Our dog really liked his dinner. Many other guests had dogs. All sorts of breeds and sizes. It was really nice being in such a pet friendly resort. Dogs are allowed in the lobby the patio of the Market Cafe and at the Bar. They are not allowed in the pool area, cantina or Mistral restaurants etc. We had a fun cocktail hour there with our Giovanni and friends. He got lots of attention from nice hotel staff, our waitress and other guest. She also offered him doggie bisquits when they brought our cocktails. It was great for us to have him with us. There are lots of beautiful areas along the bay to walk your dog, wooden benches to sit and enjoy watching sail boats, people fishing and a big Sea Eagle in a tree. There are also grassy areas between the buildings with poopie bags available for clean up. There are boat and bike rentals available and romantic Venetian gondola rides. Our friends did this and really enjoyed it. They also had a fantastic steak dinner at the onsite Mistral restaurant. The Market Cafe had some service issues and we can't recommend it. To bad because it has a pretty view and allowed the dog on the patio. The self parking fee is $22 per day which we feel is high and it would be nice to have this included with the room rates. Overall we would stay at this resort again. A big thank you to Loews for being pet friendly!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Munichchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We just happened to be in the area as my husband's ragnar team completed their 200 mile run from Huntington Beach to Coronado beach nearby. We never noticed this hotel the couple of times when we rode our bikes around the bay.

The hotel is very low key. The hotel is about 4 stories high with covered parking on the first level and also around the marina/bay. Parking is around $22 self park with a little more for valet. We liked having a lanai or balcony where you can sit outside and enjoy the view. We had a room overlooking the bay. The room was quite large for the two of us with a king size bed. The bathroom was huge. There is a sunken tub and a separate shower. It was nice having a keurig coffee maker in the room. If I knew they had a keurig machine, I would have brought my favorite keurig tea k cups. There is also a small stocked refrigerator (for a fee) but there is a some room available to put a couple of cans of drinks in the refrigerator.

There is no free wifi in the room. There is a charge for wifi if you want it. We didn't need it as we had a phone which can turn into a mobile wifi hot spot. I noticed there were a couple of ipads to use in the lobby if you want to surf the net. We got to the hotel around dinner time and there isn't much choices for dinner. We didn't want to get dressed up for the restaurant in the hotel, so we ordered room service. Our dinner came quite fast in about 30 minutes, a little faster than what they told us. We got burgers and it was quite tasty.

There were three pools but it wasn't that big as the pictures on the website shows. This hotel is very isolated from the rest of Coronado. Even though the hotel was sold out, it was very quiet and peaceful. It's not cheap to stay but we enjoyed our stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jyamastoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

My guy friend and I share the same birthday and every year go someplace special for a couple of days. This year it was The Loews Coronado Bay Resort. When we checked in we were told that because it was both our birthdays they had reserved a special room for us. It was little away from the main resort in a separate building with a private patio/balcony right on the water! It was amazing. There were no waves crashing but the gentle sound of the water was very peaceful and relaxing. The room was nice but the bathroom was fabulous. We went for dinner at Mistral where we were treated to exceptional service and a meeting with the chef AND complimentary desserts for each of us with Happy Birthday written in chocolate on the plate. That just never gets old does it? We went back to our room and we both climbed into the giant tub and had nice long soak. The next day was room service for breakfast and the only complaint if you could call it that was that the hash browns were blah, other than that the food was great and the coffee was hot. All in all we had a really great stay and would absolutely recommend this place to anyone. We would go back in a heart beat! I hope you get a chance to enjoy it as we certainly did.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7301 right on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greeneyedblond44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

My daughter and I got pedicures for mothers day, Mara the lovely lady that did them for us was very professional and sweet. I felt comepletey pampered and spoiled. The staff was nice and helpful, very friendly. My massage therapist Andrea gives the best massages I have ever had, I will recommend them to all of my family and friends. Thank you so much for a wonderful day.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheletanguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $216 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing