We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a few $$$ more I coulda had a "Del"”
Review of La Avenida Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Avenida Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Glendale, CA
15
Reviewed August 18, 2004

The location is great, but oy the rate!

We paid $160 per night for mid-August. For this you get a thin, lumpy mattress, spartan room furnishings (love that 13" TV), no hair dryer and no central air (love that blasting noise...certainly drowns out the neighbors on the other side of the paper-thin walls.) The pool is small, unheated and somewhat murky.

On the plus side, we never had to drive to any restaurant and we got free beach towels. Parking is free, too.

Be sure to ask for the "returning visitor" special rate (I doubt they'd check their records), and you will be charged a much more reasonable $119/night (summer), which seems to be a more realistic value.

Like the title says, if you're going to spend $160/night, spring for a few bucks more and stay at the Hotel Del Coronado directly across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
There are newer reviews for La Avenida Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 600 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2004

We just returned from 5 days at the La Avenida and it was great. I chose this hotel because of the reviews on this site and they were so right. It is a small hotel in a great location. We had a room with 2 double beds which was a little small but it was fine and we weren't in our room that much. The rooms with 2 queen beds were a lot bigger and I think that I would ask for that room next time.Our room faced the pool which was nice.The rooms and grounds were so clean and well kept. You could walk to everything, the beach,restaurants,coffee shops and the tour trolley picked us up only a block away. The staff at this hotel were great. They were so friendly and were so accomodating. If you need a blow dryer or iron, just ask at the desk. They have coffee and pastries at 6AM and we sat around the pool to eat it. It was just a wonderful experience and I will certainly stay at the La Avenida next time I am in SD.

4  Thank Mump52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2004

Stayed at La Avenida Inn on Coronado Island. So glad we did this as we loved the location – one block from the Del/beach and right in the heart of Coronado. Coronado is beautiful and we started talking about a return visit on the first day there. The beach is huge and never crowded and the houses we saw on our walks were beautiful. La Avenida suited us all – they provide great beach towels on demand, the hotel is quiet and the staff are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. They have a binder with local restaurant menus in it at the front desk. The room was a good size and very clean (needs a coffee maker). The continental breakfast they provide is just OK, but we were within walking distance of so many great spots (especially loved Café 1134) that it didn’t matter. My teenage daughter was impressed with the range of tv channels. We would definitely stay here again.

4  Thank Nell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2004

We totally enjoyed our stay here. Free parking on site, and wonderful staff. Rooms are large and airy as are the bathrooms. Across the street from the Del Coronado makes the location perfect. Would definitely return to this well managed motel.

4  Thank LJW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Overand Park, KS
15
Reviewed May 1, 2004

My wife and I have gone to Coronado every year since 1999. I have stayed at several hotel/motels and would rate the La Avenida the best in terms of value for the money. Nice large rooms and very clean in addition to the great location. Highly recommended. We will be staying at the La Avenida on our next trip to Coronado.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2004

In a sea of high-priced accomodations on Coronado, the La Avenida comes as a breath of fresh air. We usually travel to San Diego mid week or shoulder season for getaways. Tariff last November was in the $100.00 a nite range. The staff is friendly, grounds immaculately kept and rooms are spacious and clean. Certainly the best buy for your dollar on Coronado - we can't recommend it highly enough.

2  Thank Tommy2pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2003

We have been staying the La Avenida for over 12 years. It is the best location on the Island. You can walk to be the beach, the Del, and a great bakery a cross the street. Also it is close to our favorite Coronado restaurant the Rhinoceros Café. I recommend upstairs rooms.Walt and Celia, Albuquerque, NM

6  Thank Stavros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.7 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Address: 1315 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $181 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and the beautiful Coronado Beach. The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing