We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - close to everything”
Review of La Avenida Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Avenida Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We've come here for the last few years. It's within walking distance of everything and affordable. Book early, as they fill-up quickly. The staff is great and the rooms are clean. The pool is great, they have beach towels and a sand bucket if you forgot yours. They have a small muffin/rolls selection in the mornings too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

On behalf of our team, I wish to thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation while in Coronado, and for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 621 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

Pick another hotel and pay a few more dollars. This hotel is not worth the cost.
We found the amenities here lacking compared to the cost and the service average. Would not stay here again. It is all location

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your stay with us. We value your feedback as it helps us in enhancing and developing excellent service to provide to each of our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations during your stay. We continually strive to provide the best quality and customer service and it deeply concerns us that you have left with a negative impression of the La Avenida Inn. We do hope that you will give us a second chance, and I would be pleased to make your next reservation personally, the next time you are in the Coronado area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The room was clean, airy and very comfortable. Parking on site is a plus. Highly recommend this hotel. A short walk to most shops and restaurants. Continental breakfast only, but nice selection of pastries.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marjorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Wow! Thank you for the great review. We are so delighted and grateful that you found us recommendation worthy. We look forward to another opportunity in the near future to welcome you back to our property, and once again, thank you for your positive comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

29 rooms, small, quiet, except for family suite which has a huge balcony & faces Orange Blvd, the rooms only face their pool. The maids must spend 1/2 hour @ least on each room & we observed a man dusting the OUTSIDE of the hotel room walls, doorways, etc., we were in #104 very large King room w desk, sitting chair & table, armoise, the large bathroom was in the back of the room w a door & a window, so your spouse does not disturb you if up earlier, showering, etc., those rooms have Enterprise cars, parked right there, however, as older I could hear the people upstairs for hours both nights & early am, we were moved to the family suite for no additional charge & even 5% discount. They have approrpriate size not flinstone fattening morning sweet rolls, & the largest apples & oranges I have ever seen w coffee in the am until 1100, they have fresh water w lemons during the pm. Parking IS very tight, do not bring your club cab trucks, RVS, etc., we parked in the few spaces in the back next to the dumpster, so my van was very secure & the post office is behind you, which is nice. There is also a full sized mirrored closet like a home. Kelley, Bennie, & the manager could not have been nicer, more professional, etc., also you can walk across to the Del & the beach & all the shops, restaurants, etc., on Orange Blvd, Vons, Walgreens, Rite-Aid, you won't need your vehicle unless you go over the bridge, the zoo, the bay, etc., & there is construction over there. I had stayed @ the El Cordova a few years ago for my son's wedding, but now in June there is no privacy w everyone walking around the shops, your room, etc., so It worked out good we wound up here. The cost is much less w your AAA, AARP, The windows do buffer the pool noise, but usually people are quiet & only a few kids in the late pm before dinner. They will also document your preferences, etc., in their system for your next stay, I would definitely stay here on return trips to the Cor vs the El Cordova, which was @ least $195. Also, it was not that crazy busy yet, the kids were still in high school. Also, we are use to NAFB jets, etc., but the jets & choppers are much closer, louder, if you do not live around military bases, might be alarming @ 1st. P.S. Even though cooloer, overcast, etc., WEAR A HAT & SUNSCREEN, we are from the desert 115, but we got such a severe sunburn those few days!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FNPMSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

We would like to express our personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your comments on TripAdvisor. Additionally, we would like to express our sincere appreciation for you staying with us for the first time.
It is always a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Good value motel style hotel that offers complementary coffee and pastries for breakfast. The position of the hotel is very good and offers free parking Shops and restaurants nearby and the bus stop to hop on the bus to go to the quay side is free in the summer months!

Staff at the hotel are slightly cold but this did not spoil our stay as guests don't relly need to contact them for anything

Would recommend a stay here if visiting Coronado

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soot30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments of your stay with us. Your recommendations are greatly appreciated, and we are so pleased that you were able to enjoy the area. Please accept our apology that you left with the impression that the staff was not warm and welcoming. For we continually strive to provide excellent guest services to each of our guests. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Went out came back late and when turned down the bed the sheets did not reach the foot of the bed. They were too short! The mactress pad was very scratchy on my feet and ended up only getting 3 hrs of sleep. Seemed to be a problem with the A/C temp of the room also. When mentioning this when turning in our keys next morning the clerk sd, "Oh yeah, that happens" What???

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so sorry that your stay fell below expectations. The issues that you experienced have been addressed with each department. We will be using your review as an example in staff training so that our employees can better understand how these issues can impact the guest experience. We do hope that you give us a second chance the next time you are in the area. Once again thank you very much for your feedback. Only by candid comments such as yours we are able to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Perfect Location with very adequate rooms that were clean and comfortable!
Staff was very helpful and friendly and they went out of their way to answer our questions and help us with anything that we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paula b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
732 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
318 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Address: 1315 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $162 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and the beautiful Coronado Beach. The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing