We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Avenida Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Avenida Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Cypress
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A great spot in Coronado. Close to the Del, the beach, the shops, everything! You can park (FREE!) and walk or ride a bike to most anywhere in Coronado. The property is older but very well kept. If not for the noise created by other guests coming and going (obviously unaware that other people were staying there) and the early morning buzz from the eateries next door it would have been even more enjoyable. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us here at La Avenida Inn. It is always great to hear that our guests were able to enjoy the wonderful location & amenities of our hotel along with being able to enjoy all of the great activities that Coronado has to offer. Our apologies that you had some issues with the noise of other guests. Please feel free to contact the Front Desk if there is ever an issue with this and we will make sure to address the issues immediately. We want to make sure that you always have a relaxing and comfortable stay with us.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    172
    39
    18
    8
See reviews for
176
172
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calumet City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I would highly recommend staying at the avenida. I am definitely coming back!
The place is very clean, friendly, and an excellent location in Coronado island. The fact that this place has free parking is also an asset.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your review and your kind words of recommendation. We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of our location and, of course, the free parking! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Jay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I like staying there is convenient location and good value, but I wish they had refrigerators in rooms. Very nice, sorry to leave. Nice staff, could use coffee pots in rooms, but wasn't hard to run up front for coffee.





  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We would like express our sincere gratitude for choosing to stay with us. Upon your next visit, let us know of your preference to have a coffee maker and we will make sure to place it in your room. We do have them available upon request at the Front Desk. We also do offer refrigerators for our guest rooms; however, these are available at a small nominal nightly fee and can be placed in the room by contacting the Front Desk.
Thank you for your wonderful comment of our staff. We truly appreciate it and for taking the time to post your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great location. Rooms are cozy and reasonably updated. The bathroom floor had some areas that needed attention but everything was clean, tidy, and welcoming.
Annie was fantastic. She helped me with all of my local planning questions in advance of our trip.
The rooms were tidy and comfortable.
While we didn't watch much TV, I do believe upgrading the sets would be nice (our stay was in a cooler period and we had some rain).
Would stay there again for sure if prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehoosierdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We will make sure to pass on the wonderful comments to Anne as well. She will be very pleased. Our staff strives every day to perform exceptional customer service to our guests.
We appreciate the feedback of the room and we are in the process of resolving any maintenance issues with the flooring. We hope to see you soon. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Ideal location of hotel within 5 mins walk to beach and within Coronado main street of restaurants and shops. Very clean rooms with separate dressing area and suitable size bathroom. No issues with WIFI, free parking was ideal. Only complaint is the variety of tea offered for breakfast, which didn't include black tea (only flavoured tea) and only included powdered milk, which isn't to everyone's taste. Pool was ideal (but cold at this time of year). We stayed in a downstairs room and could hear guests walk around upstairs, but we didn't have any issues with noise from the main road. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and on Coronado.

Room Tip: Upstairs room as we had downstairs room and could hear guests walk around upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Coronado and we are so pleased to hear you were able to enjoy the beach and the surrounding restaurants and shops. It is gratifying to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for not having your preference of beverage and condiments. We have purchased regular tea to have available.
We hope to see you the next time you visit Coronado and we can put in the request for a second floor room if preferred to make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights and 3 days at La Avenida Inn a few weeks ago and loved our stay there. As mentioned by other revieweres the location is perfect. Just a block from the Del Coronado but much more quiet and agreable and away from the chaos at the Del Coronado!

From this location we walked everywhere including to our restaurants for lunch and dinner and to the beach and the shops.

There is a nice size pool and lounging chairs available and it was a bit cool to use the pool but we did sit on the chairs in the sun on our last day and it was lovely.

Our room was nice, plenty big with all that we needed. We did get access to their wi-fi and the staff at the front desk was really helpful! They made great suggestions for restaurants and called our cab on Sunday and also extended our checkout to 1:00 pm as we needed to catch our cab at 12:45 pm for our 3 pm flight back. Next time we would stay on the second floor (this hotel has two floors) because for some reasons the people above us were loud on one of our nights there.

This hotel is next to a bagel shop and very close to several; restaurants.

We would definitely stay there again if we find ourselves lucky enough to go back to Coronado.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are so pleased that you were able to take advantage enjoying our location and were able to walk to the variety of fantastic restaurants and wonderful shops. Please let us know the next time you come to Coronado and we will put in your request for second floor.
Thank you for such a terrific review and taking the time to post your experience. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was looking for a hotel near the beach and did not want to pay the rates at the Hotel Del Coronado. La Avenida had an off season special rate of only $125 per night for a king bed room overlooking the pool. This small property is in a great location being right across from the street from the Hotel Del and the beach. We were in room 213 on the second floor overlooking the small pool. The room was spacious and clean although we noted several small maintenance issues like patches on the ceiling. We could hear the couple talking in the next room so the walls are rather thin.
Parking is free which is another big plus for the area. We parked the car and didn't use it the whole time we were there (2 nights). Very easy to walk around Coronado to shops and restaurants. We walked to the ferry port and took the $4.25 each way ferry to the Broadway pier which is right next door to the aircraft carrier Midway museum. What a great way to spend half a day! The ferry ride was wonderful (about 15 minutes) and the museum is one of the best I've been to in a long time. I will write another review about the Midway.
Pool area was small but pretty although with the chilly air near the ocean a hot tub would be much more inviting.
I would recommend La Avenida for the great price and parking but would rank it as an average hotel.

Room Tip: Walls are thing so an upstairs room would be best. The continental breakfast consisted of a few tire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytrvlrColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 4,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Property: La Avenida Inn
Address: 1315 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and the beautiful Coronado Beach. The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing