We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in May 2013”
Review of La Avenida Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Avenida Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton AB
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay in May 2013”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May 2013 for 3 nights. Our room on the 2nd floor was very clean, quiet and comfortable. We had outstanding customer service from the front desk, very friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel is terrific. Close to beach, restaurants and very easy access with vehicle. We enjoyed our stay so much we will stay again. Just one humorous incident: We did not swim in the pool as weather was not warm enough. But one day, we did notice 3 very guilty looking wet ducks walking across the parking lot. Also a few feathers in the pool. Apparently, these guys enjoyed the pool and, obviously, cool weather was not an issue!!

Room Tip: Ours was on 2nd Floor, facing the pool and about halfway down from Orange Ave. Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are grateful for such a wonderful review of our hotel. I will make sure to pass the kind words of praise along to our dedicated and remarkable team members. They will be very pleased for the high words of recognition for the great jobs they perform on a daily basis. We are so glad you were able to enjoy our great location within Coronado Village.
We are excited to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    201
    46
    19
    9
See reviews for
211
199
26
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have been staying at La Avenida for 20 years and it has always been a great experience. Clean rooms, friendly staff, free parking, fantastic location, and a very short walk to the beach. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to you for your many years of patronage to our lovely Inn during your visits to Coronado. Thank you for taking the time to post such a splendid recommendation on TripAdvisor. It is such a pleasure to hear such kinds words of appraisal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great little place, quiet and low-key. The location is excellent, the staff is friendly and professional, and it's unpretentiousness is a good part of it's charm. Highly recommended for real people: phonies and status seekers can go elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerPshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Our team here at La Avenida Inn greatly appreciate your favorable mention. It is with great honor to be at the top of your list as a "favorite"! We are completely delighted to be acknowledged in such a wonderful way. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I picked the La Avenida Inn for our latest trip to Coronado Island and could not have been happier. In fact, next time we visit, will definitely choose this property to stay again and again. The people at the front desk were so kind and helpful and the room was big and very clean.
We have stayed at one other place in CI but will definitely stay here from now on.

Thank you for making our trip extra special.

Room Tip: We were in Room 103. It was a huge room with separate bathroom and dressing area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippiewantabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

-that hotel is the famous and vastly overpriced Del Coronado. The La Avenida is directly across the street from the Del so your walk to the beach is 5 minutes. What we liked best was being in the center of Orange Avenue, the main drag, where all restaurants, galleries, coffee stops, and gift shoppes are located. Also: rooms are good sized, nicely appointed, quiet, and spotless.

Our thanks too go to John, the morning man at the front desk for all his help with room selection and tips for a perfect weekend stay. We will be back in June!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarketTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This property is a solid option when visiting Coronado. The room rate is ultra-competitive, given the location . . . just across from the Hotel Del! Thus, there's access to the same great beaches, same great shops, same great restaurants! Speaking of the beach, it's within very reasonable walking distance.

Our room was spacious and served our group of four nicely. Beds were quite comfortable, and bathroom well-outfitted with toiletries. (Need a hair dryer? Just ask at check-in!) No coffee maker in the room, but coffee, tea, and hot chocolate are available during breakfast hours, along with a surprisingly tasty group of pastries!! Need towels for the beach? Just ask at the front desk, and place them in the handy hamper when you return!!

Great shops and restaurants abound . . . Miguel's and the Brigantine are close for lunch/dinner dining, and a Bruegger's Bagels is literally next door for breakfast.

What really stands out about this property is the exceptional, pleasant guest service that is so very rare nowadays!! Any staff member encountered had a "can-do" attitude. We would definitely stay at La Avenida again!! (Be sure to check their website for promotions!!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesertDweller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the La Avendia Inn in October of 2012 and loved it. The location is perfect - close to the beach, shops, dinning, and trolly tours. We required two rooms for our large family. Both rooms were on the second floor. The rooms were large and extremely clean. We enjoyed the space that each room had for changing, watching TV, relaxing, and the beds provided restful nights sleep. The parking was free at the hotel and that was a plus. Every staff member we encountered was friendly, courteous, and took the time to say hello or help answer tourist questions. We will stay here again. For the price, location, and high standards of customer serive you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor - the view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
On behalf of the entire team here at the La Avenida Inn, we wish to thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting beautiful Coronado Island. We appreciate and sincerely thank you for the time you have taken to share such a positive review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 16 in Coronado
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 16 in Coronado
5,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Property: La Avenida Inn
Address: 1315 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and the beautiful Coronado Beach. The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing