We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful stay at the La Avenida Inn. Another Tip for travelers.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Avenida Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Avenida Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at the La Avenida Inn. Another Tip for travelers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This year for San Diego Comicon I was able to stay again at the La Avenida Inn. Let me first remind travelers why I like this location.

The La Avenida Inn is affordable for its location. It is 200 feet from Hotel Del Coronado and the beach which is amazing when you consider the price. It has its own pool (no need as the beach is only a hop, skip and a jump away). The rooms are clean and simple but do the job. The public transit stops again only 150 feet away from the Inn so finding your way around Coronado or to San Diego is very simple. **If you choose to use the bus do buy a saver pass which the city offers. They are much more affordable than paying one way each day.**

TIP!** I was educated by the staff of La Avenida Inn that they have two over sized parking spaces. These can be very useful for any traveler with a tow or large vehicle. Note: These can not be reserved so ask the staff often if and how to find a way to secure them.

This year the staff

Room Tip: TIP!** I was educated by the staff of La Avenida Inn that they have two over sized parking spaces. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmortuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    191
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
196
193
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

A solid option for a wallet-friendly visit. If you are looking for a top resort, then this is not for you. If you like being in Coronado simply to enjoy the beach and island living and desire to stretch your vacation dollar...it's a good choice. note: rooms with two beds tend to be a bit tight in space, bathrooms would benefit from an update but the new(er) updates in the rooms are positive. Staff are friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veritasboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are so pleased and we have posted a copy for our staff. We are delighted you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

The location for this hotel is great -- across the street from the Hotel del Coronado and along a nice strip of shops and restaurants. This is a small motel that unfortunately has no quaintness or character. That said, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the old tube tv had decent reception and a good selection of cable channels. The shower had good water pressure and temperature. There was nothing more than the very basics -- no safe, microwave, fridge, on demand movies, or breakfast buffet. No chain or bar lock on the door. I had to call the front desk to get a hair dryer. The front desk area had nice pastries (possibly a local bakery?), coffee, and tea for breakfast but no fresh milk for either. The ice machine worked but the vending machine wasn't well stocked -- all bottled water selections were sold out. This room was less expensive than others in this pricey area, but definitely rates lower than most in which I've stayed in the 2-star class. The price you pay here is for location and very basic needs.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CafeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your posting of our hotel. Here at the La Avenida Inn, we do have hair dryers and irons & ironing boards available for our guests anytime at the Front Desk. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay. However, for future reference our staff can make sure to place these items in the reserved room prior to arrival. These items can be requested upon when making the reservation or at check-in.
We apologize for the vending machine having limited stock during your stay. We immediately took care of this issue and will have it closely monitored.
We thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and hope you will choose to stay with us when you are in the Coronado area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I think anyone looking for luxury or a quaint Inn will be slightly disappointed here, but if you're looking for a good budget option in a fantastic location on Coronado, then you can't go wrong. Just moments from the beach, you're also on the main road down to the Ferry Landing so everything is within walking distance including the Bay and a host of fantastic bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is probably in line with a very good Travelodge or similar - clean rooms, comfortable bed, cable TV, spacious bathroom - along with some fantastic extras that really make a difference such as complimentary WiFi and pastries/coffee for breakfast.

Our only complaint (apart from the lack of hairdryers in the rooms) was that the walls are very thin meaning that if you're unlucky enough to be next door to noisy neighbours then it might affect your stay. Ours decided to get up at 5.30 every morning and listen to music... which meant we were forced to do the same. I'm sure a good pair of earplugs would have improved this.

Overall, a great place to stay that's very reasonably priced and in the perfect location. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy.
For future reference, we do have hairdryers available upon request at the front desk for use during your entire stay.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to your stay again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We thought La Avenida was great, a perfect location close to the beach, shops and restaurants. Everything we wanted for a two star but after having travelled down the Pacific Coast and staying in various hotels we really missed the fridge and safe. Ice facilities were available though. Pool area was lovely and towels provided. Coffee and danishes for breakfast. We would stay there again and would recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, king size pool view, nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choccylab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

this was a vacation visit to coranado ca. and this hotel has a ideal location and is a very clean hotel with very economically priced rooms. they have very friendly service staff would stay again when we return thanks again for the wonderful hospitality

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our lovely hotel. We appreciate your kind words of praise. This will be passed along to our great team to make them aware of your wonderful compliments. We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

Jodi Owens
General Manager
La Avenida Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concord
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Very nice motel in a great location. VERY clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful (esp Benny, Susie & Johnny.) Just a short walk to the beach. The post office next door was noisy early in the AM, otherwise absolutely no complaints. Highly recommended for a family vacation in the San Diego area.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the back near the post office
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rene970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. I will happily share your comments with the rest of our team and I am sure it will make them very happy. We look forward to welcoming you back again to the La Avenida Inn when you return to the San Diego area.

Warmest Regards,

Jodi Owens
General Manager
La Avenida Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coronado Beach Resort
Coronado Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Property: La Avenida Inn
Address: 1315 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and the beautiful Coronado Beach. The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing