We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - near beah, restaurants, and shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Avenida Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Avenida Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location - near beah, restaurants, and shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Located right across street from Hotel del Coronado and soft sandy beach. Nice sized room with comfy beds. Walked to lots of shops and restaurants. Pool was clean and refreshing. Bathroom seemed a bit cheap, but functional. Overall, wde were pleasantly surprised with La Avenidva Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennykarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    196
    46
    19
    9
See reviews for
202
195
26
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Is directly across street from Del Coronado. Lots of great food and shoping in walking distance. Italian restrurant right next door was very good. Parking is free. We got there early, and the desk gave us a free parking pass. We left our bags in the car and toured the area until check-in. Rooms are nice and very clean. Air conditioner worked great. Has free coffee and nice selection of breakfast muffins in morning. Desk gave us free vouchers for discounts and local resturants/shops.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartyEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Hotel is on Corondo Island, over the Coronado Bridge. It's located directly across the street from the Del. A five minute (one block) walk to the beach. It's a small hotel. I'd say no more than 30 units. The rooms were clean and spacious, with air conditioning. There is a very small pool. Staff were all friendly, especially Raul, the groundskeeper. For $5 extra a night we were able to get a mini fridge. They also give AAA discounts. When I asked for recommendations on a good seafood restaurant, I was given coupons for free appetizers at two restaurants. Hotel is right in Orange Avenue and there are a ton of shops, restaurants & ice cream places within easy walking distance. There is a nice little patio where you can store your bikes which they lock. If you want to pay three times as much and get fancy, go across the street to the Del. Otherwise, this is a very nice, basic, clean, convenient to the beach place to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We loved this place, the front desk was very friendly, helpful, and you felt like family.
We wanted to be by Hotel Del, its beautiful and so is the beach. Just walk across the street and your there. Early morning strolls on the beach, covered in sand dollars. Ride your beach Cruzer everywhere. Stop by the front desk area for free yummy pastries and coffee, tea, or hot cocoa. We always stay in the suite with the balcony on the upper floor great for people watching playing cards. drinking. This will always be the place we stay when visiting Coronado.
Thanks again to the hotel staff for making us feel welcome.
Our teen son absolutely loved it and tells everyone about this hotel. In 2012 he get to bring a friend..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maasmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Very clean small hotel whose location is perfect for enjoying Coronado without ever needing to get into your car. Diagonally across from The Del, it is a five minute walk to the beach and is located right on the main street, Orange St., where all the restaurants, bars, shopping and entertainment are located. The manager and staff were excellent always asking if there was anything we needed. This hotel is probably only 20 rooms so no spa or restaurant although they do provide complimentary coffee and sweet rolls each morning in the lobby. Our room and bathroom were spotless. Because the hotel is so small and all the rooms look over the pool, the pool area is the gathering spot for all guests. If you want 4 star luxury, this is not the place for you however, if you are looking for a great small hotel, in the perfect location with super friendly and accommodating staff...you will love this hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waltzplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

This is a quaint, no frills hotel. Fantastic location in the heart of Coronado. The beach really is a block walk, you can see it from the hotel. Just don't expect microwaves, refrigerators or cofee makers in this hotel.

The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. The staff is very friendly and we enjoyed our stay here very much. While their grounds are small, they keep it beautiful with colorful and well kept gardens.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Absolutely loved this hotel - I only gave it 4 stars due to the parking - when your guests have to park on the street while an employee and their friends in the lobby occupy spaces in a very limited parking area...it is a problem. The room was super clean - and the location is prime - within easy walking distance to the Hotel Del Coronado and the beach on one side and the many shops on the other side....The rooms were comfortable - we had a room with 2 queens - and extremely clean! We added a fridge for our water and drinks - while the bathroom was small it was very clean - so we used the huge mirrored closet to put on our makeup at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgenie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coronado Beach Resort
Coronado Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Property: La Avenida Inn
Address: 1315 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and the beautiful Coronado Beach. The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing