We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great customer service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glorietta Bay Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great customer service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at the GBI. The front desk staff were very helpful and very friendly. It's a nice location. The room was ok and very clean. The bed was comfortable. We stayed in the hotel and not the mansion. They were able to accommodate our early arrival and also gave us beach chairs and towels. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy1234_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    235
    43
    20
    9
See reviews for
237
397
35
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The restored mansion evoked a time past in Coronado. Although the wifi, flat screen TVs and updated rooms provided modern comfort, the architecture and many sepia photos acknowledged the history and grandure of the original mansion. Great location near the beautiful beach and easy walk to restaurants and bars. Delicious coffee available at 6:00 am and a varied continental self-serve breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyfultravelerMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the history of the inn, the modern amenities it offers, and our 24-hour self-serve coffee. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernon, ct
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Spent a week at Glorietta Bay Inn with my wife. The total experience was exceptional and well worth the price. Room was very nice and well appointed. Front desk always cheerful beginning with the phone reservation process though the entire visit. The free breakfast saved us a lot of time and money. Location is central to anything you want to see in Coronado or San Diego. The beach is across the street behind the Del and very convenient. We considered staying at the Del, but having visited the property during our stay, we saw many of their facilities off limits because of "private affairs". Frankly, if I was paying to stay at the Del, and experienced those restrictions, I would be very upset. Out next stay will be at Glorietta Bay. No question about it.

Room Tip: The best rooms are facing the front parking lot, not the ones overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Glorietta Bay Inn. I’m happy to hear that our service and our great amenities made your stay more comfortable from start to finish. Our staff strives every day to perform exceptional customer service to our guests. We hope to see you again! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penhook, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I (who live on the east coast) decided to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary in Coronado CA, where I was born. The hotel was recommended by a friend who lives in San Diego. This was originally a mansion but it has been extended by many rooms which wander all over the place - rather like a labyrinth. Our room was very nice with a balcony and a partial view of the harbor. It was well equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, dishes, etc. Other rooms were in rather dark corridors and may not have been quite as nice. The continental breakfast was quite good, One of the nicest aspects of the hotel is that it is within easy walking distance of several good restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful, making reservations at an excellent restaurant for our anniversary celebration, where we were treated like royalty - even had a VIP card on our table. We would certainly recommend the hotel without reservation, and if/when we return to Coronado, will stay there again.

Room Tip: the top floor (of two) offers better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VATraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to celebrate your 50th anniversary. We’re happy you enjoyed our boutique inn and that our location and friendly service made your stay more comfortable. All of our rooms offer the same wonderful modern amenities such as lighting, flat screen HDTV, mini refrigerator, and coffee maker no matter which location the room is on property. We appreciate your referrals and look forward to seeing you again in the future! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The staff was very helpful and nice at all times. We had Lillie's Room in the Mansion and it had just been redecorated and the updating was done very tastefully. The large screen TVs are really nice and offer many channels. Free internet, although slow. Comfortable bed. Quiet enough. Great A/C. Nice (free) continental breakfast brought to our room in the morning if we ordered the night before. Room and hotel lobby/public areas were clean and kept up nicely. They brought really great cookies and chocolate to our room when the bed was turned down - a classy touch (cookies were SO good). No elevator, though. It was so close to the Hotel Del Coronado, right across the street! We walked over there to eat a couple of times and the GBI is close to other restaurants and shopping that we also took advantage of.

Room Tip: Lillie's Room was really good unless you're looking for a great view. But this room offers a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnniversaryCouple138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our location great and that you liked the new updates to the Lillie's Room. We hope to see you again. Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent Springs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Exceeded our expectations. Beautiful grounds, lush landscape, attentive and personable staff eager to make your trip memorable. Mansion suites delivered as promised and then some - we felt spoiled & pampered. Providing a level of service I thought was a thing of the past....their eagerness and excitement to see the patron enjoy the facilities. It is attention to "all the little details" that hold Glorietta Bay far superior to other options. Can't wait to return with my family.

Room Tip: Mansion suite rooms are worth every penny! Sugar Baron suite was perfect for us as we value the larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HNally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Your comments about your stay at Glorietta Bay Inn made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable along with our special mansion suite pampering. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
592 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

First impressions are excellent, the bougainvillea decorates the whitewashed walls, the lobby with historic staircase are beautiful and the check in staff couldn't have been friendlier. There was a pool and our rooms were enormous with very comfortable beds and all the facilities you could expect....however the rooms at the back were basically motel rooms which overlooked a carpark, attracted the odd cockroach and had almost unusably bad, intermittent wi-fi. The complimentary continental breakfasts were plentiful and had enough variety not to get boring but there was no bar and hence a limited social space that you could spend time in. I would recommend it but with that caveat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the historic charm of the inn and our friendly staff during your stay. The mansion is the centerpiece of our property with buildings surrounding the mansion which does results in rooms overlooking the small lots. We do strive to keep our landscaping in tip top shape so guests can enjoy the landscaping and the bougainvillea on our buildings. Thank you for the comment regarding the wi-fi connectivity, we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We hope to see you again in the future soon. Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
12.9 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Property: Glorietta Bay Inn
Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd, Coronado, CA 92118-2913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glorietta Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de and Hotwire so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing