We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at this hotel!”
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glorietta Bay Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here because we were doing the bridge run and wanted to stay on the island. We then stayed for a few days afterward as well. The staff was very firendly and made us feel like we were old friends. They also supplied us with beach chairs and towels for a trip to the beach. It is very close to both the beach and the many shops on orange avenue. I usually travel to coronado on business and I have stayed at several of the hotels on the island and this has been my favorite. There was plenty of food for breakfast and they had snacks throughout the day.The pool and hot tub area was also very nice. The room was very clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a place to stay with a "homey" feel to it it is much better than the "chain" hotels. We will definately stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in both the comfy room for one night which was very small but we just needed to sleep so i...
See more room tips
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 978 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Wonderful facility and staff. We thought of it as a boutique hotel having a beautifully maintained property & grounds, crisp clean rooms, we stayed in a 2nd floor king with a bay view and balcony, and the place has location, location, location going for it. Michael the Asst. GM and the front desk staff were most helpful, they're excellent at problem solving when necessary, and overall very pleasant to interact with! The price is right and the views are superb when selecting a room overlooking Glorietta Bay. Both pool & hot tub are inviting with their cleanliness and palm tree accents, and in the Spring as we visited the flowers on-property were bursting with color (that canopy of reds fronting our building was brilliant).

The mansion itself is quite grand if you're of a mindset to choose a room in it, otherwise it's more classic motel style rooms of varying sizes and types. The suite we saw appeared quite spacious, however note that you'll sacrifice the view if choosing one of them. There's a morning breakfast room, typical continental style fare is offered inclusive with the room cost, the really fresh fruit selections were a big plus for us. Coffee & tea are available any time of day.

The "Del" is right across the street if you're of a mind to walk that historic property, and maybe take in drinks or a meal should the spirit move you. Many restaurants & bars are an easy stroll away (1-4 blocks). As for Coronado Island, well we'd gladly return again and again. It's only a short drive over the bridge from San Diego, yet you feel like you're a world away. In case you can't tell; we'd absolutely stay at this inn anytime we're back in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballymorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Beautiful and spotless property. Location is perfect for anything you choose to do on the island. Most importantly, the staff is outstanding, both while making my arrangements before I arrived and once I was there - they can't be beat. My room was immaculate and my family's room was too. They had a two bedroom suite that looked out into beautiful trees and flora from their window, there we hummingbirds right out the window. The bedding was immaculate and so comfortable, I had a perfect nights sleep each night. I love Coronado and will go back many times and I know that I will only stay at the Glorietta Bay Inn each time I go back. This place is great for singles, couples and families, it's very kid friendly. Absolute great vacation, thanks to you all!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elisa1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Over the past 30 years my wife and I have had the good fortune to have lived and traveled all over the world. We have stayed at chain hotels like Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, and Kempinski. Classic hotels like the El San Juan in Puerto Rico and the Alvear Palace in Buenos Aries as well as boutique hotels in the U.S., Europe, Asia and Latin America. In late April we had the opportunity to stay at the Glorietta Bay Inn where we found a comfortable, well-appointed room and an attentive staff who made you feel like you were home. It was a great value at a great property and we will definitely be back, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lovely property, great spacious rooms with lovely amenities. Good view of the bay. Staff were helpful and got us an early check in. Great bed and bath linens. Held out for the very last minute of checkout.

Room Tip: Get the Bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A gorgeous and well maintained property. We enjoyed a beautiful view of the bay and were a very short walk away from the gorgeous Coronado beach, other activities and restaurants. The staff was first rate... very attentive, courteous and professional. The only negative thing would be that the breakfast pastries were meager and not always fresh. If you want a better breakfast take a short walk to the Panera Bakery a block down the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the Glorietta Bay Inn recently and would not hesitation to recommend this lovely hotel. We were made to feel very welcome and even though we arrived early in the day were checked in and even offered breakfast. Our room was spacious, extremely clean and well presented. Breakfast on the patio was lovely way to start each day. There is no restaurant at the Glorietta but there is an extremely good choice close by. We did the historical walk from the hotel and would recommend it to everyone, the guide was very good and it is a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours. We didnt have a car and found the location ideal, taxis and bus stop close at hand and Coronado is a super place to take a break from the City. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller10008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
715 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd, Coronado, CA 92118-2913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $235 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glorietta Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing