We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel that could be excellent with a few adjustments.”
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glorietta Bay Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I like the GBI and stay here often. It is a wonderful price point in Coronado. Some hotels are much more expensive, while there are cheaper ones too. This one offers a great location, a fair number of amenities, etc. for a good price.

I have only stayed in the 'contemporary' rooms and never in the 'mansion' rooms. The contemporary rooms are fairly average. They are not huge. The bathrooms are small. There is little to no space on the vanities. I found the air conditioning to be quite noisy with a lot of rattling noises. I don't mind the woosh of air sound but the rattling kept me up.

The internet is spotty. It is included, but it is also variable. I found I had to sign on multiple times even after only a few minutes of use. Very annoying.

The continental breakfast is fine. Coffee is available all day in the lobby.

The housekeeping and maintenance staff is very friendly, but I've often found the front desk staff to be less warm. I've had trouble with people calling the hotel on their NON-800 number to reach me - which is what you're supposed to do - only to be switched to the 800 number and then told a transfer to a room wasn't possible. This especially annoyed my husband who tried to explain he HADN'T called the 800 number! The receptionist could have been more courteous.

All in all it is a nice hotel. It is not quite up to the level of service of the Hotel Del or the Marriott, but for the price it is nice.

Room Tip: Try not to get into a room fronting Orange Avenue - lots of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank XQU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 992 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

We spent my birthday at the Glorietta Bay Inn this past Saturday. It was our first time there and we will definitely stay again. Even though Coronado is only 30 minutes from where we live, it felt totally different. The Inn was originally a mansion belonging to the Spreckels family built in 1908. You can stay in the Mansion or in the rooms added in 1975. I would suggest a room on the second floor with a view of the bay. The inn is right across the street from the famous Hotel Del Coronado which was also built by Spreckels. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially, Laura, Kari and John. There is a very nice continental breakfast with fruit, sweet rolls, bagels, juice, etc.

We took a 4 mile walk on Saturday. There was a book sale and annual Garden Club Flower show going on Saturday and Sunday. We had lunch at Miguel's Cocina which was very good. Miguel's is only a block from the hotel.

In the evening we had dinner at Peohe's Peohe's - Coronado Island | Part of the Chart House Family of Restaurants at the Ferry Docks with an amazing View of the harbor and San Diego Skyline. Great food but the service could have been better.

Sunday morning we rented bikes at Little Sam's on Orange St. which is also a block from the hotel near Miguel's. They were very helpful. The bike rents for $6 an hour. He only charged us $20 for 2 bikes for 2 hours. We rode all around the island and stopped along the way for the annual Hot Rod and Classic Car Show. I suggest riding in the morning because there isn't as much traffic.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LMODelMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I just stayed here for two nights with my family, and it was perfect for the five of us. The Junior Suite was just what we needed, and the eye for detail (very good baby gate on the stairs) has put this hotel on our list of places we will return to. The only downside was that we could not figure out the video/tv system. Close to the beach, easy walk to resturants, and an extremely helpful and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites in the new part of the hotel are good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Coronado is such a lovely place, and the Glorietta Bay Inn didn't disappoint. Very clean, nice staff, great location, and hard to leave such an amazingly comfortable bed each morning! The stairs might be rough for elderly guests, especially if they are carrying luggage, but the staff are very helpful. The continental breakfast was good, and it was nice to have free Internet. We didn't need to do laundry, but they do have a couple of washers & dryers. All-in-all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runaway_with_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed here when we came to San Diego to get married and have been back once since then ...... We very much enjoy the location and hotel staff is very nice, fun and friendly. We stayed in a different mansion room each time and found both rooms to be unique and romantic. We are both looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zachary_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Location, location, location. This hotel is an amazing value. Right across the street from the hotel del Coronado and walking distance to everything downtown. Great restaurants, beaches, and tons of shops. Claudia, Fe and the staff took amazing care of our families special needs. We loved the continental breakfast and the great history of the building. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had many types of rooms from a hotel room to a 2 bedroom condo. Loved the kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We vacationed to San Diego for a week in March. Stayed at the Glorietta Bay Inn for 3 of the nights, and I must say that this was my favorite of all! The room was very nice. We had a nice balcony with beautiful bouganvilla flowers! The bathroom is small, but the rest of the inn makes up for it. The staff is wonderful and cheery. Continental breakfast is a nice treat. Will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
735 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd, Coronado, CA 92118-2913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $236 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glorietta Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing