We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a gem of a find, and the staff is AWESOME!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coronado Island Inn

Coronado Island Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coronado Island Inn
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a gem of a find, and the staff is AWESOME!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

I booked a room at this little motel of twin properties on the corner of Orange & #rd at the last minute before traveling down to San Diego Friday 11/4/11. Erin was a doll to speak with on the phone, and the rest of the staff was awesome too. The room was very nice, complete with a kitchenette, new flat screen t.v., a nice table and two chairs, and lots of space for you clothes and in the closet as well. Only thing is, the bathroom is very tiny. but you won't be spending your vacation in there, so who cares. The rate is right on, and they don't gouge tourist on the weekends. Large selection of continental breakfast items (coffee, bagels, fruit, cereals, etc.) n the mornings. Between the two properties there are only 15 parking spaces, so just FYI if you go. I will definitely stay here again with my friends and family next time!

Room Tip: Even though I had a room right by the street, it was actually not noisy at all. Either property (th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Real702Heat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
11
11
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We just came back from San Diego and the only bad experience was our stay at the Coronado Island Inn. If you like sleeping on an urine smelling mattress at a busy intersection and having to walk across a busy street to swim in the murky pool then this is the place for you. After trying to move to a different room we were told that our room was a recent reno and we could upgrade at a higher price. No thank you we went to the Glorietta Inn and had a fabulous experience. I guess you get what you pay for

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coronado hotels

Glenwood, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

The rooms are homey, comfortable and clean. The price is very reasonable for Coronado Island. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Bottled ice water sits by the checkin which was convenient for the warmer days of July. If I have the opportunity to return to Coronado Island I plan to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Adequate room, great location, and very friendly staff

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellopuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

if you are looking for a clean and affordable place to stay on Coronado Island then this is it. It's a short walk to eat and go shopping down at the ferry landing. our family stayed here and was able to go across the street to the coronado inn for the breakfast and even used the guest computers to map out directions. i was happy that we could afford to stay here on the island and will be back with my family again.

Room Tip: downstairs corner room was our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singer2184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta,georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

we just stayed last week after seeing it on line and what a nice place to stay. because i booked it online i was concerned with the rate being so low but when we arrived we were surprised at how nice everything was. they had flat screen tvs. i would recommend this to anyone looking for a great value on the island.

Room Tip: ask for upstairs it maybe a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazycatsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

We were not expecting luxury by any means, but this was worse than a Motel 6. The bathroom floor was peeling up; stand alone tiny shower; no bathroom vent (probably why the floor is peeling up); linens were beyond poor quality (thinest/tiniest towels possible); toilet would not flush all the way unless you stood there and held the handle down for 20 seconds or so; very old, unsupportive mattress. Certain staff members are nice - depends who you get. Make sure they charge you the price you booked it for if you book online - they raised our price, but I had brought my online reservation receipt so they lowered it back down. They will call cabs for you. We thought it was relatively clean, but it needs repair and updating. It did have a mini kitchen -fridge, stove, microwave, sink. To check in/out or talk to the staff had to cross the busiest intersection on the island (took about 5 minutes) because the main property is caddy corner from this one. The shower takes 5-10 minutes to heat up to a semi-warm temperature and then it would give short bursts of scalding hot or freezing cold water throughout our showers. There are no deadbolts, just a regular lock that someone could break into with a credit card - a little concerning considering that the rooms walk right out onto the busiest intersection of the island. We put a chair under the doorknob to feel a bit more secure at night. Their continental breakfast consisted of packaged Hostess desserts/pastries, "juice" (not real juice), and coffee. We could walk to the beach and restaurants (about a mile though, so if you aren't into walking much -something to consider). I noticed the owner claimed in April 2009 that the hotel addressed the issues prior reviewers posted, but this is obviously a false statement. Don't expect much if you stay here - it is the cheapest price on the island for a reason. Even though it was a cheap price - I still think it wasn't worth what we paid for it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.8 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.9 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Inn

Property: Coronado Island Inn
Address: 301 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coronado Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Island Inn is located in Coronado, CA, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. The hotel is centrally located and is only a short distance from local shops and restaurants. Recently renovated, the Coronado Island Inn is perfect for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coronado Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Island Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing