We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot for breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villanueva Restaurant

Villanueva Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good spot for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We had breakfast here 2 times during our trip. We just had pastries/ muffins and drinks but they were really good. The menu does have more.Prices were normal and not "tourist" priced.Staff was friendly & attentive.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank habs1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Eggs Benedict”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband and I went here for breakfast. It is a small place with outside seating.
I had the eggs benedict and he had a western omelet. we both really enjoyed our breakfast.
It was a nice place to eat. We parked our bikes outside and sat and watched them while we eat.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annebill8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
450 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Worst croissant I've ever had”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had breakfast here on Saturday. You line up and place your order at the counter, take your number and find a seat. They deliver your breakfast to you. My husband had a waffle with a side of bacon and I had a glass of orange juice and a spinach and cheese omelette. The waffle was not crisp like a waffle should be. My omelette was decent but nothing to get too excited about. The mini croissant that came with it was the worst crossant I've ever had. It was not nice and flaky the way a croissant is supposed to be. It seemed to be made with a regular yeast dough instead of butter and flour the way a croissant is supposed to be. The potatoes were hard and cold. Ugh.

When I asked to use the washroom I was told to go next door to Starbucks. I'm sure Starbucks appreciated having your customers directed to their store to use their washroom. We would not return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We Dream Of Eating Here Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

AMAZING BREAKFAST! Grab a seat outside or inside and enjoy the perfection that is Coronado. Whatever you order it will be great, BUT MAKE SURE you try a muffin! They are the BEST!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegas1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“European Ambiance in Coronado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Great place for breakfast outdoors while watching tourists and locals meander through the streets of Coronado or managing work/clients in a sunny location.
Yes, you order at the counter but it does not take too long for them to deliver your treats.
Enjoyed a "skinny greek" wrap with salad (egg whites and veggies wrapped in whole wheat - yumm! The pastries are unbelievable including cinnamon buns and muffins that are hugh!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Apricot_Alma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villanueva Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Villanueva Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing