We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch!”
Review of Sheerwater

Sheerwater
Reserve with OpenTable
Sheerwater is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 100 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Experience the warm ocean breeze and iconic California sunsets at our DELightful beachfront Coronado restaurant, Sheerwater. Enjoy fresh local seafood, savory smoked meats complete with housemade barbecue sauces and slaws, sandwiches and salads, plus an expansive breakfast buffet and a special kids menu. Serving breakfast, lunch, cocktails, light fare and dinner daily.
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

A friend recommended going here. We had a lovely drink with lunch. They were having specials for their 125th anniversary. I picked their signature appetizer (baked goat cheese,pesto, & red sauce with bread). OMG! It was so good. Hubby & I ordered sandwiches. Could have shared, especially after the appetizer. Our waitress was kind and most attentive. It was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    277
    143
    63
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not at all good!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had just arrived and ordered a brisket sandwich and a salad. The salad was terrible and the stale popcorn that was on top really made a very poor first impression. The brisket was dry and covered with a BBQ sauce to hide the meat flavor. We complained and were not charged for the food but our first impression resulted in our looking for other establishments to spend our money on for food during the next four days. Arriving after a 15 day cruise we realized that the chefs serving some 2,000 people three times a day aboard the ship are far better than whoever seems to think they are professional chefs. You need to review and maybe retain your cooks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WillyMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We appreciate your comments and apologize that aspects of your meal did not meet your expectations. We will share your review with our culinary team so we may make the necessary improvements. Thank you for your valuable input and we hope you return so we may restore your affinity for The Del.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Food great View Better”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Had fish tacos for lunch on the patio. WOW. The food was super, the view magnificent. Husband had scallops and they were wonderful. We wanted to stay forever so also shared a cobbler for two. Sampled three types. This is one of the restaurants for Hotel Coronado and I think a great one to choose for lunch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your endorsement and we are pleased that you enjoyed our oceanfront setting. We appreciate your recognition of our great culinary staff and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A great waitperson makes all the difference!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I made a Sunday lunch reservation at Sheerwater. The lady who answered the phone was very courteous and wanted to know if we were celebrating a special event. I told her that it was a reunion and requested an outdoor table with an ocean view. She assured me that she would add that request to the reservation.

On the Sunday in question, we arrived at Sheerwater and identified our party by name. The hostess led us to a table that did not have an ocean view. I told her about our request. She said that no ocean view tables were available although we could see that there were several vacant tables with excellent ocean views. When I asked her about those tables, she said they were reserved for others. She then consulted another individual and said she could move us to another table. That table was in a crowded area and directly in the sun. We shuffled seats several times but that did not help. The hostess was nowhere to be seen.

What happened next was quite remarkable. Our waitperson observed our discomfort and moved us to a table in a quieter area with a wonderful ocean view and arranged the umbrellas so that we were in the shade. We all appreciated this kind gesture. It greatly added to our enjoyment of the meal. We were also relieved that we did not have to deal with the hostess who seemed harried and somewhat surly.

The meal was a memorable one, especially because of the gorgeous setting – a cloudless blue sky, the ocean sparkling in the sun, dotted with sail boats and the verdant green of the lawn.. We started with the Chilled from the Sea platter – a delicious conglomeration of prawns, crab meat, shrimp, oysters and smoked salmon. It was ample for four. One of us had clam chowder and divers scallops and pronounced both superb. Two of us sampled the duets - pear and burrata salad and smoked salmon BLT; tomato soup and lamb slider. These choices were excellent – flavorful and not overly filling. If there was a slight disappointment, it was the stir-fried vegetables with tofu – adequate and quite filling but not unforgettable was the verdict.

At the end of our meal, our waitperson volunteered to take our photographs using our cameras and proved himself an adept photographer! It was a pleasure to interact with him. So we’ll give him a shoutout. - kudos to Tito at Sheerwater for making us feel like valued guests.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Convienent”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The Sheerwater in located within the Hotel Del Coronado. The service and the food were average. The main draw was it's location and the view.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Up4aTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheerwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing