We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Sheerwater

Sheerwater
Reserve with OpenTable
Sheerwater is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 102 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Experience the warm ocean breeze and iconic California sunsets at our DELightful beachfront Coronado restaurant, Sheerwater. Enjoy fresh local seafood, savory smoked meats complete with housemade barbecue sauces and slaws, sandwiches and salads, plus an expansive breakfast buffet and a special kids menu. Serving breakfast, lunch, cocktails, light fare and dinner daily.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Del Coronado is a picture perfect old Wooden Seaside Hotel.
Go and peruse the grounds and hotel lobby. Beautiful.
We had lunch at this restaurant and it was a lovely two & a half hours.
Remember…you will pay just for being able to have lunch here. So you go with that in mind. The food was OK at best and expensive. But….the ambience was what we were really paying for.
It was worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K&KCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for the nice endorsement. The Del is one of the last remaining Victorian seaside resorts and we’re pleased that you appreciate its historic nuances. We hope your travels bring you back our way again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
There are newer reviews for Sheerwater
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 582 of 897 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our first meal on this year's trip to Coronado was a fabulous lunch at Sheerwater, a casual restaurant in the Hotel del Coronado. Outdoor seating is available, as well as indoor, and you can see the ocean from your table. The service was very slow, although we had a pleasant server, but the food was fabulous! Our friends split a grilled cheese sandwich. That may not sound very interesting, but believe me, it was. Great thick sourdough bread encased a filling of melted cheese, sautéed onions and arugula. Accompanying that was tomato basil soup. A split order is perfect for two people since the portions are large and very satisfying.

My husband and I ordered salmon pizzettas, which were divine! (There were two other optional choices of tiny pizzas.) And they came with a choice of soup or salad. My husband had lobster soup and I had a great salad with pears, pecans and burrata cheese - creamy buffalo mozzarella.

This is another restaurant we look forward to returning to on our next trip here. Just allow plenty of time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SuzanneGrecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your endorsement and we are pleased that you enjoyed our oceanfront setting. That said, we apologize for the service mishaps you encountered and will share your review with our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had lunch at Sheerwater today. The food was pretty good, but the entire experience wasn't worth $50 for two rather ordinary sandwiches. The view is spectacular but the rest is rather ordinary. We waited 40 minutes for a table, while 40% of the tables were vacant. I have no idea what caused the delay. The lobby was a mad house of people milling about. Apparently they need to bus their tables every now and then. The service was ordinary. Our waiter disappeared and we waited at least 20 minutes for him to reappear so that we could request our check.

I would like to compare this luncheon to a recent visit to the Royal Hawaiian in Honolulu. There was no comparison in food, service or ambiance. Del Coronado needs to take a trip to Hawaii to see how first class hotel restaurants operate. We will not be back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidKeltner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We appreciate your comments and apologize for the unacceptable and inconvenient service issues you encountered. We will share your review with the appropriate management so we may make the necessary improvements. Thank you for your valuable input and we hope you return so we may restore your affinity for The Del.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I guess everything in the del coronado is pricey but it should also be great not just OK. we had lunch here and the one order the hamburger was large but the inside was really rare like not cooked. the lobster bisque was ruined with shards of asparagus. the service was good and they were very friendly. it was not busy so I would think it should have been better. I would go back but just maybe not order the same things

Thank alanh45953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that aspects of your meal did not meet your expectations. We will share your review with our culinary team so we may make the necessary improvements and appreciate your input. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The view here at the Del is amazing and worth the prices. Sheerwater was not. Food was not good and way overpriced, service was extremely slow. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive when he was available, but he was overworked and only came by about once every 20 mins. I ordered the shrimp scampi pizette, cost $17 and tasted like something from the frozen food aisle. Major disappointment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ilovereb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed our oceanfront setting. We apologize that aspects of your meal did not meet your expectations. We will share your review with our management team so we may make the necessary improvements and appreciate your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheerwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing