We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant but expensive”
Review of Sheerwater

Sheerwater
Reserve with OpenTable
Sheerwater is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 103 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Experience the warm ocean breeze and iconic California sunsets at our DELightful beachfront Coronado restaurant, Sheerwater. Enjoy fresh local seafood, savory smoked meats complete with housemade barbecue sauces and slaws, sandwiches and salads, plus an expansive breakfast buffet and a special kids menu. Serving breakfast, lunch, cocktails, light fare and dinner daily.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Sheerwater is a restaurant in the vaunted and supposedly haunted Hotel Del Coronado, close to the Coronado Island municipal beach and the Boathouse.

My one problem with fine dining is usually that business lunch experiences are of inadequate impact since one does not really manage to take in the atmosphere of the place. At the Sheerwater, though, we were outdoors near the palm trees and the Pacific Ocean on a near-perfect day with soft sunshine. That made the lobster bisque and the swordfish with butternut squash look good on the plate and feel good on the palate. Service, though, was at best average; one had to make several attempts to engage the attention of a server on more than one occasion. But that also probably means the restaurant is doing rather well and keeping its staff busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pixie0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

We are pleased that you had such a memorable experience at this iconic resort and enjoyed your business lunch at Sheerwater. We apologize for the service mishaps you encountered and will share your review with our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

597 - 601 of 908 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights enjoying this wonderful buffet breakfast looking to the Ocean. Nice seating outside.Everything you could possibly want to eat for breakfast was available at the highest quality.

Thank paulmarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The Sheerwater Restaurant has a great ambiance and the food is amazing. The restaurant has a good variety of food from seafood to filet mignon. They also had a good wine list. You can't beat the location considering it's at the Del Coronado Inn and also faces the ocean. It is a little pricey ($100 for 2 of us) so be prepared. Overall it was a great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joshuapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your kind endorsement. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience. We appreciate your recognition of our staff and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Let me start by saying this is not the first time we have eaten at Sheerwater, but it has been two years. We went to have a special birthday dinner for my husband and we were not disappointed. We sat outside...by the heaters and fireplace...and had a very relaxing evening. Our dinner and drinks were great, but made even more special with the incredible sunset that you enjoy while sitting there. The soup was just as great as it has always been and I could have made an entire meal of that alone. My husband had the Chilean Sea Bass and said it could not have been better. As good as the food was, however....our waiter, Cody...made the night even more special. We thoroughly enjoyed him! Since it was my husband's birthday celebration...Cody did bring him a dessert of his choice....with two spoons of course. The entire evening was so nice and memorable. When we return in a couple of years...we hope Cody is still working there, as we will request him next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gldnpupper27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

We’re delighted that you chose to celebrate your husband’s birthday at The Del and that everything exceeded your expectations. As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate your recognition of our great staff and will share your kind comments with Cory. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Food was good, not too big, a bit on the expensive side as you would expect in the Hotel del Coronado. We chose from the duets section of the menu where you can pick two from a selection of sandwiches, soups and salads. My only issue was that by the time we got our food, it was as though it had been sitting for 5-10 minutes and was not hot. But the 1888 hotel is well worth seeing and we enjoyed our dining experience, a bit of shopping and stroll on the beach.

Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your endorsement and we are pleased that you enjoyed our oceanfront setting. We apologize for the service mishaps you encountered and will share your review with our management team. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheerwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing