We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Liking it Hot”
Review of Sheerwater

Sheerwater
Reserve with OpenTable
Sheerwater is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 105 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Experience the warm ocean breeze and iconic California sunsets at our DELightful beachfront Coronado restaurant, Sheerwater. Enjoy fresh local seafood, savory smoked meats complete with housemade barbecue sauces and slaws, sandwiches and salads, plus an expansive breakfast buffet and a special kids menu. Serving breakfast, lunch, cocktails, light fare and dinner daily.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Missed out the Hotel del Coronado on the last visit and being a fan of the Some Like it Hot film had to make the effort this time. Dropped in for a mid-week lunch with a colleague and waited in the bar for the Sheerwater restaurant to open. Superb location in front of the hotel and almost on the beach, really great. Sadly the menu choice was limited so we selected the lightest items we could find and were disappointed. We could have let one issue go but the service was below par and the price high. Cannot fault the location - one of the best ever - what a pity about the meal though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HappyTummyHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed the beautiful beachfront view from the Sheerwater Restaurant. We will share your comments with our culinary management and hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

783 - 787 of 968 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Outside restaurant with ocean view. Had lunch which was outstanding. Great for a special time with very good service. Had been there several years ago however food was even better this time. Not a large selection of food but a good variety.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brucedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your lunch at Sheerwater. As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate the recognition of our great staff. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Perfect place for a romantic dinner! Sit on the patio and enjoy a fabulous dinner and wine at sunset. The wine selection is amazing and the staff is more than accommodating-

Thank angelfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at The Del and appreciate the recognition of our exceptional staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We went as a party of 4 and they were very good finding us a table outside. It wasn't a particularly busy night and we had excellent attentive service from the waiter who made a number of recommendations that were very helpful, in addition to offering us samples of wine and rustling up a cone of ice cream for dessert.

The appetiser of blue crab and artichokes with ciabatta bread was delicious, and our meals of the diver scallops (very large), sautéed cod and chipiolina(sp?) we're all very good. The portion sizes were excellent, i.e., not enormous. The wines and beers were a little on the expensive side compared to other places we had been.

Ambience was fairly average but we appreciate we weren't at their fine dining restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AussieFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your outdoor dining experience at Sheerwater restaurant. Thank you for recognizing the wonderful service of our culinary staff and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Breakfast in Sheerwater was part of our package. The buffet was marvelous wit a huge variety of food. Service was impeccable. .

Thank FLAGSTAFFMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet at Sheerwater restaurant. Thank you for recognizing our wonderful staff and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheerwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing