We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most memorable places you will ever visit!”
Review of Sheerwater

Sheerwater
Reserve with OpenTable
Sheerwater is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 102 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Experience the warm ocean breeze and iconic California sunsets at our DELightful beachfront Coronado restaurant, Sheerwater. Enjoy fresh local seafood, savory smoked meats complete with housemade barbecue sauces and slaws, sandwiches and salads, plus an expansive breakfast buffet and a special kids menu. Serving breakfast, lunch, cocktails, light fare and dinner daily.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Perfect place for a romantic dinner! Sit on the patio and enjoy a fabulous dinner and wine at sunset. The wine selection is amazing and the staff is more than accommodating-

Thank angelfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at The Del and appreciate the recognition of our exceptional staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

768 - 772 of 949 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We went as a party of 4 and they were very good finding us a table outside. It wasn't a particularly busy night and we had excellent attentive service from the waiter who made a number of recommendations that were very helpful, in addition to offering us samples of wine and rustling up a cone of ice cream for dessert.

The appetiser of blue crab and artichokes with ciabatta bread was delicious, and our meals of the diver scallops (very large), sautéed cod and chipiolina(sp?) we're all very good. The portion sizes were excellent, i.e., not enormous. The wines and beers were a little on the expensive side compared to other places we had been.

Ambience was fairly average but we appreciate we weren't at their fine dining restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AussieFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your outdoor dining experience at Sheerwater restaurant. Thank you for recognizing the wonderful service of our culinary staff and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Breakfast in Sheerwater was part of our package. The buffet was marvelous wit a huge variety of food. Service was impeccable. .

Thank FLAGSTAFFMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet at Sheerwater restaurant. Thank you for recognizing our wonderful staff and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Beautiful view that is worth some extra price. Smoked salmon BLT and Diver scallops were good, but the lobster bisque had an overwhelming taste of mainly sea salt, which lingered for hours. Three scallops were served for $25, and one was grainy with sand. Overcooked vegetable accompaniment was unimpressive for the price. Margarita was a huge disappointment for $15. If you must, okay, but maybe better to see the view here or nearby and eat elsewhere where I would hope you would find better food or a lower price for the same quality food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SeasPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that aspects of your meal did not meet your expectations. We will share your review with our culinary team so we may make the necessary improvements. We appreciate your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Same menu as 1500 Ocean --- just a price different. We ate outside and very hard to see. My water glass and silverware had to be returned because it was dirty. Not sure if the scalllops were undercooked but 3 hours later I was terribly ill.

Thank Gypsygirl831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We take matters such as this very seriously and will share your feedback with our culinary management team. We appreciate your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheerwater also viewed

 

Been to Sheerwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing