We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast or Lunch”
Review of Sheerwater

Sheerwater
Reserve with OpenTable
Sheerwater is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 105 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Experience the warm ocean breeze and iconic California sunsets at our DELightful beachfront Coronado restaurant, Sheerwater. Enjoy fresh local seafood, savory smoked meats complete with housemade barbecue sauces and slaws, sandwiches and salads, plus an expansive breakfast buffet and a special kids menu. Serving breakfast, lunch, cocktails, light fare and dinner daily.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Particularly enjoyable is the Sheerwater breakfast buffet. Great view of the ocean. Good selection of breakfast fare. Lunch is also very pleasant with choices that you won't find everywhere.

Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience at Sheerwater and its spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

890 - 894 of 970 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

The Sheerwater at the Del is one of my favorite costal SoCal hang-outs for a leisurly lunch, with incredible ambiance, basking in the shade of an over-sized umbrella on the veranda, just steps from the Pacific. The food is good, if not great. The staff is most often spectacular, which is quite a feat as they are most often quite crowded. The food is not inexpensive, but resort-reasonable...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JudyTheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to our oceanfront restaurant. We strive to provide exceptional service and appreciate your recognition of our wonderful staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

If you've never been to the Hotel Del Coronado you must add it to your bucket list. The main lobby had been decorated for Christmas (silver bells theme) and the Christmas tree was beautiful.

We chose the Sheerwater restaurant based on the menu. It was lunch time and we wanted something on the lighter side. We thought the "Duet" menu looked interesting. Your choice of two items for $17. Sliders, Pizzetas, Soups or Salads.

While service was friendly and we were pleased with everything we ordered, it took longer to get our food than we would have expected in such a highly rated establishment. It's a busy place but there were still many open tables so definitely not a full house.

You can watch the ice skaters while you eat and people watching is always fun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

We are thrilled that you had the opportunity to visit The Del in all of its holiday splendor and enjoyed the duet menu offering. We apologize for the service issues you encountered and will share your review with management so we can improve in these areas. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and becoming a holiday tradition!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

While staying at the Hotel Del, we went to dinner at the Sheerwater the first night. The service/wait staff was very good. I ordered the sea bass, which dissapointingly came out overcooked. And on top, it was so salty, it was difficult to eat. I thought maybe this was a one-time thing, but during our conference, there were more sea bass served with the exact same issue. The same happened with the asparagus I ordered--extremely salty. We had other types of foods served to us buffet style and some were good, some were a little odd in flavor. But at least the servers were always polite and helpful and kept the food refilled, so overall, the eating experience was average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent dining experience. We strive to provide legendary service and are pleased that you recognized our wonderful staff. We are sorry that there were aspects of your meal that did not meet your expectations and will share your concerns with our culinary team. Again, we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

My friend and I had lunch outside there. It was such a pretty setting. The food was good. We each had the Clam Chowder ($11.00) and then split the Famous Fish & Chips ($22.50). It is pricey but the setting really makes it. I was not impressed with the service -- it left a lot to be desired when you are at a top notch place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PASANDYBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed Sheerwater's oceanfront ambiance and bistro-style cuisine. We apologize for any service issues you encountered and will share your comments with our culinary team so we can make the necessary improvements. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheerwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing