We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME FOOD, VIEWS AND LOCATION”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Peohe's

Peohe's
Reserve with OpenTable
Peohe's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1st Avenue
Transit: Bus stop Orange Ave
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AWESOME FOOD, VIEWS AND LOCATION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had such a great time here with our visit to San Diego. The food was excellent as was the service and the drinks. The location is the best, sitting outside you can see the Naval Base and sailboats and all kinds of water activities. Also you can walk to all the shops, just a beautiful location. I would highly recommend stopping.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaggieandCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    308
    153
    55
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fantastic View of San Diego, Food Just Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I stopped at Peohe's for their happy hour and to soak up the beautiful view of San Diego just across the bay. We sat outside near the water and was very impressed with the view. However, the service and food were both disappointing.

We waited about 15 minutes before we had to ask one of the waiters to wait on us. We didn't mind the wait too much because of the view. We ordered the coconut crunchy shrimp, pacific fire shrimp and the pull pork sliders. The shrimp dishes were just okay but one of the pull pork sliders had no meat on it and was nothing but fat.

We expected better food and service from this restaurant and doubt that we will ever come back. There are too many other good restaurants in the vicinity which also have excellent views of San Diego. We will go to one of them the next time we are in Coronado.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent view matched by excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Whenever we're in San Diego with visitors, we always take them to Pehoe's. We were there again in mid-April (for lunch) and it didn't disappoint. The food was up to its customary high standard and the service was superb, thanks to Ian, who went above and beyond to ensure that my wife's food allergies were properly catered for. The prices are always a little on the high side, but the superb view from the outdoor seating area more than compensates - it has to be the best view there is of the downtown San Diego waterfront. The lunch menu is not huge but the choices and their presentation are always very special. Tip: If you're looking for a good value dish, try their fish and chips - the battered fish (3 large pieces) is always fresh, succulent, and cooked to perfection.

Again, thanks for the superb service, Ian!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Menifeemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stellar View with Service and Food to Match!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is a Chart House restaurant at the Ferry Landing on Coronado Island. One look at the menu with indoor and outdoor seating (best view of San Diego skyline) we decided to try it! The service is first-rate (thanks Robert) but the prices are very reasonable, especially for the larger than average portions. My husband had Prime Rib and Eggs, I had Mahi Ma'i, but I had to try the lobster bisque with sherry and a delicious traditional Caesar salad. One of the best Bloody Mary's I have had anywhere! Highly recommend this unique, high-quality restaurant!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mer57maid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another pleasant meal at Peohe's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We've eaten at Peohe's a number of times and always enjoy it. This review is for the most recent visit which was for lunch. They have a lovely patio area that looks out toward downtown San Diego and is a very pleasant mealtime venue. We shared a fried calamari appetizer and followed that with a crab, avocado and mango stack and a lobster salad sandwich. The calamari was delicious with a sweet Thai chili sauce. The crab stack is on the appetizer menu but is plenty for a lunch portion; one of my favorites for lunch. The lobster sandwich was very good as well. Service is good and has always been pleasant and attentive. One note about a previous visit; my husband called for a reservation on my birthday. They asked if it was a special occasion and when we were seated, were provided with a menu that had a personalized birthday message. Nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tex-travler1475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peohe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing