We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly service and good price”
Review of Calypso Cafe

Calypso Cafe
Ranked #56 of 100 Restaurants in Coronado
Restaurant details
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great friendly service and good price”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We decided to go to the Calypso Cafe for breakfast after finding it on Yelp. It's a very cute place and with a small, but good menu and the staff is extremely friendly.
We spent $35 with a 20% tip and all 3 of us had a great meal including the coffee! My son loved the chocolate chip pancakes too. I think it's an excellent value and I'm glad we decided to venture out of our hotel for breakfast. It was well worth it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank makeupbyperalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I want this cafe to do well as it is so conveniently located close to my house. Unfortunately the quality of the food varies greatly from visit to visit. This last meal was so poor no one in my group could eat it. Please step up your game Calypso!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank desederata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Out of the way location; decent food; limited breakfast menu”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had breakfast here on a weekday and it wasn't very crowded. Surprised that you have to order at the register then take your seat outside. There aren't many choices for breakfast so I had a regular eggs, bacon and potatoes breakfast. Ordered my eggs over easy and when they were brought out by the server, one was broken. Not a huge deal. The potatoes were ok but I like a little bit of crunch or more cooked potatoes and they were not either. Coffee ok but not stellar. Convenient location if you are staying at the Loews Coronado and are out for a walk. On the plus side, their patio is dog-friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alsobidingmytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bike the Strand & Stop Here for Huevos Rancheros”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

My family cycles often from Coronado to Imperial Beach on the beautiful bikeway. This cafe is in the Cays housing area & sits right on the bay so you can eat outside next to the water. It is very peaceful.

Their salads, sandwiches & breakfast items are all fresh & portions are large & good but last week I ordered their Huevos Rancheros for the first time & they were the best I have ever tasted. I had them with the red sauce & my husband ordered them with the more spicy green sauce. Both were delicious.

The prices are very reasonable. It's an informal place--you order up front & then they serve you. They are only open until 2pm but serve breakfast (& lunch) until close.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parkcityletsgonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over priced for nothing”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

we paid $33 for 2 mixed drinks and a smoothie and the drinks were filled tot he top with ice and hardly and drink.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Calypso Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing