We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Fine Dining”

Primavera Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Primavera Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 100 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 9th & 10th
Description: Located in the heart of Coronado, Primavera Ristorante serves exceptional innovative Northern Italian cuisine, inspired by the fresh ingredients and flavors of San Diego. Since opening nearly 27 years ago, Primavera Ristorante has remained one of the most popular restaurants in Coronado, and has been voted “Best Italian Fare” by Coronado Lifestyle Magazine, as well as been awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence in 2015. Our outstanding culinary team has achieved world renowned success with our house specialty, osso bucco.
Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Italian Fine Dining”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our concierge suggested Primavera in downtown Coronado…just a dozen blocks away from our hotel. Lucky we found street parking a half a block from the restaurant. The dining room has a pleasant subdued atmosphere, and the menu offers a good selection of dishes. My lamb osso bucco came with a generous portion of tender cooked meat; although, my wife's veal was tough though tasty. All-in-all a fine meal, but not inexpensive especially with the house wine costing $14 per glass.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FiftyFourForty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    44
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, great location, spotty service”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was a good find for a romantic weekend evening in Coronado. It is a short walk from the Hotel del, where we stayed.

The food was good, and the portions were large, but nothing that really stuck in my mind as memorable.

The service was a bit slack at times; they were nice, but it seemed like they forgot about us multiple times, even though it mostly was not too busy.

It was a pretty good place for people watching, especially since we went on a night when there was apparently a high school prom. We saw some interesting outfits and awkward-looking teenagers having pre-prom dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Ate here multiple times in one week”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Glad we listened to yelp and trip advisor reviews and ate here 3 times in 6 nights. Lobster bisque, beef carpacio, veal, swordfish....every bite delicious. Great wine choices. Dimly lit, higher end restaurant. The island was SO croweded last week in December - walked out of hotel del because of the noise and wait - same with a few of our other favorites across the street. We had excellent service at primavera. There is a subtle TV in the bar, so didn't have to miss our college football games. Got to talk to a few friendly locals about some island happenings.

ONE CON: glasses aren't washed in dishwasher. they are rinsed/dunked in three sinks of standing water at the bar - I hate that

CON #2 - with wine and tip - we paid $150 average for dinner and drinks each night (for 2). For this price, I should hever have to listen to a figity, whining, chatty 4 year old for a whole hour, especially at a small restaurant. I'm praying for the day that higher end restaurants ban kids under 10 after 7 p.m. This is not really a con for just this restaurant, just a general annoyance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LP1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely time...”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We enjoyed a fabulous meal at Primavera this evening. The service, atmosphere, and especially our food was top notch, and most enjoyable. My daughter had a Chicken Caesar salad, and I enjoyed the nights special, Sea Bass, with grilled veggies. Topped off with coffee and to die for cheesecake, Primavera hit all the right spots!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antoniobeedleybop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Northern Italian Favorite in Coronado”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Primavera Ristorante has been a favorite in Coronado for many years and for good reason. The small, lovely space bustles, but noise is not an issue here. The menu offers a wide range of northern Italian classics, and there are daily specials. Service is very professional and pleasant, and the prices not unreasonable for the total dining experience. Primavera is located on Orange Avenue right in the center of the commercial heart of Coronado and just a few blocks from The Del. Definitely worth a visit, but be sure to make reservations in advance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EasyTraveller12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primavera Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Primavera Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing