We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Primavera Ristorante - good eats”

Primavera Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Primavera Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 9th & 10th
Description: Located in the heart of Coronado, Primavera Ristorante serves exceptional innovative Northern Italian cuisine, inspired by the fresh ingredients and flavors of San Diego. Since opening nearly 27 years ago, Primavera Ristorante has remained one of the most popular restaurants in Coronado, and has been voted “Best Italian Fare” by Coronado Lifestyle Magazine, as well as been awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence in 2015. Our outstanding culinary team has achieved world renowned success with our house specialty, osso bucco.
Imperial Beach, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Primavera Ristorante - good eats”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A small restaurant with delicious italian fare. We liked eating appys at the bar cuz (1) the extremely delicious homemade bread accompanies any food selection - especially the clams and (2) the gregarious bartenders make eating there fun.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank realpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    45
    18
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Primo”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

While Coronado is a little pricey, I don't know why anyone would expect paradise to be any cheaper. Even nicer than Honolulu, in more than a few ways, there aren't any crowds, so what more could you ask for? Maybe a five star restaurant? Bingo!! Primavera is everything you could possibly ask for. First rate service, intimate atmosphere, awesome quality, generous servings; absolutely the best of everything. If you can't find your preferred wine, bring a bottle with you. That seems to be allowed, but maybe that was just another accomodation extended to a special guest. I don't know all the ins and outs, but if anyone has ever been made to feel more special than my wife and I were, I'd sure like to know where and how! You need to experience this. But don't wreck it for the rest of us by bringing your kids. It ain't Denny's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F6Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“First class experience, but a few small criticisms...”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very nice atmosphere for an evening meal experience. The food was excellent (I had the Calamari Alla Vineto, and the wife had the Lobster Ravioli, and a spinach salad). The bread rolls came with butter, and oil/balsamic vinegar... all terrific. The (all male?) staff were dressed to the nines (suits, ties, etc.) but our server must have been too busy... he relied on the helper to service our table, and he was very friendly, but the service overall could have been a bit more attentive to make us feel really special. The iced tea was excellent, and even the water was good. Here is my pet peeve - the background music was at the right volume, and it was good jazz... but it should have been Italian music... that would have completely made the experience/mood perfect for a romantic evening. You will like it here, but they could make it so that you would really LOVE it here with a few small improvements.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Supertrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our party of 5 looked forward to the restaurant based on the TripAdvisor reviews. The atmosphere is perfect, but there were some issues in our evening. First we were choosing wine from the wine menu which was pretty limited. I usually like Barbera or Dolcetta from Alba or Asti and there were none on the menu. We struggled to find a wine we were excited about but ended up getting a Malbec from Argentina. This really bothered me as I try to find a wine to match the country of the food.

We placed our orders and when the salads came, my wife's Caesar salad with chicken was not included. She didn't think anything of it because she was having that as her main course. When the main courses were served she got nothing. When we asked about her salad they went to check and came back to say they were working on it now; obviously it was overlooked with both courses. By the time they cooked her chicken for the salad, several people had finished their dinners, and all finished before she could eat the whole salad. She quit eating since everyone else had finished and were ready to move on the coffee and dessert.

While the food and atmosphere were good, we all came away with knowing we'd had bad service. Worse, nobody offered to comp her food or provide her a dessert to cheer her up. We definitely will not return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden Lake, ID
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian menu -- and decor”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had been in recently and so were pleased to see such an authentic Italian menu. They let us share our plates, so we ordered three or four dishes: We had bagna cauda for a starter. You don't see this just everywhere: vegetables, cheese, and an anchovy sauce. Excellent. Then we had a salad that involved spinach, and osso buco for our main dish. This was so large that we couldn't finish it between the two of us.
Plus we had the treat of an authentic Sicilian wine.
THis was so good that we were tempted to go back for a second night.
The decor is old-fashioned and dark for my taste. The service was outstanding.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MM3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primavera Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Primavera Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing