We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An outstanding dining experience”

Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado
Reserve with OpenTable
Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $90 - $90
Cuisines: International, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dana Place
Transit: Serviced by SDMTS Route 904 http://www.sdmts.com/RouteFiles/routes/pdf/904.pdf
Description: A true feast for the senses, our famous Sunday brunch in the Crown Room features a chilled seafood bar, regionally inspired dishes, international cuisine and carving stations. Guests also enjoy a gourmet Bloody Mary bar, mimosas, freshly pressed paninis and housemade charcuterie, and an eye-popping candy and dessert bar. Continually named the best brunch in San Diego.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“An outstanding dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Our 1st experience at the Hotel Del Coronado was incredible. The ambience was extraordinary with manicured grounds, and marvelous sunset, made for a most extraordinary experience. We chose the outdoor patio. Service was outstanding, friendly, delightful, and attentive. We 1st split a Caesar salad, Then we had grass fed ribeye steak and a lobster for our main course. The salad was very good. The lobster, with risotto was scrumptious and served in a delightful presentation. My steak with truffle butter and roasted carrots was absolutely incredible. We also had delicious spinach side dish. Toasted & buttered French bread, was included. It was one of the best meals we've ever had. We had incredible ice cream at the Moo Time Ice Cream Parlor.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GymAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    72
    42
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Overpriced and over hyped”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We tried the much hyped Brunch, but were disappointed. Nothing exceptional about it except the price.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luxuryloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pricey, but delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I visited the Hotel Del Coronado and stayed for lunch with a colleague. If you can get a table outside do it! The view of the Pacific Ocean/Coronado Beach is amazing. The food is good but expect to pay $20-$50 for a meal, adult beverages run about $15. I would definitely dine in again!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Felicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unbelievable !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Sunday Brunch was like nothing you can imagine and the room itself takes your breath away ! You must stay for at the VERY LEAST 2 hours to truly take it all in. 3 would be a better choice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank OceanCity7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place for Company / Guests with History, Ghosts, Views and Food...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

The Hotel del Coronado is one of the oldest Victoria era Hotels in existence, being built back in the 1880's...With awesome ambiance from the outside to the inside...With its signature red roof, and the Pacific ocean lapping at its doorstep, it is truly a unique place. Walking through the hallways one feels like in 'Alice in Wonderland' with some hallways being big enough to fix a truck through, and others hallways feeling like you have to start squeezing though...The rooms are remarkable, with incredible views...Even reported that there has been ghost sightings of a unsolved murder and Marilyn herself (remember the movie 'Some Like it Hot'? Well, that was shot at this location, along with a few other movies)...With a nice central courtyard, that quite a few of the rooms have balconies that look down upon...

If you have the money? You can even rent out very nice bungalows closer to the beach.

Went to the restaurant when a buffet was offered...Nice selection, good food, and a couple of chefs on hand to fix you some extra items to one's likings...With the sound of the ocean not to far away, and the view was very nice.

If you get a chance and will be in the San Diego area? Then you won't be disappointed with the Hotel del Coronado.

Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HQComics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado also viewed

 

Been to Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing