We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brunch was wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado

Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado
Reserve with OpenTable
Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $90 - $90
Cuisines: International, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dana Place
Transit: Serviced by SDMTS Route 904 http://www.sdmts.com/RouteFiles/routes/pdf/904.pdf
Description: A true feast for the senses, our famous Sunday brunch in the Crown Room features a chilled seafood bar, regionally inspired dishes, international cuisine and carving stations. Guests also enjoy a gourmet Bloody Mary bar, mimosas, freshly pressed paninis and housemade charcuterie, and an eye-popping candy and dessert bar. Continually named the best brunch in San Diego.
Ogden Dunes, IN
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Brunch was wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The selection was massive and the room itself was beautiful. It was a wonderful spot for a family reunion.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dagney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are thrilled that you chose our award-winning Sunday brunch in the lovely Crown Room for your family reunion. We hope to welcome you back for future reunions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    71
    41
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brunch Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

First time at the buffet at the Hotel Del. We made reservations at 1100 and waited 5-10 minute to check in. We were seated and the waiter explained the layout of the buffet. Mimosas, champagne and Blood Mary's were included in the price (79.00/pp). Highlights: seafood station which include oysters, shrimp and crab. Additionally, the meat station had a few twists on local faves to include a chillaquilla dish made with corn maize instead of tortillas and seafood pozole. Was worth the sampling! Honorary mentions include the maple bacon sweet potatoe salad, fruit/herb infused water, pate and fig jam. Will return again and would recommend to anyone who loves a buffet in a traditional setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paigeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed our delicious Sunday Brunch and were able to sample the large variety of food we offer. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Should be much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The location is of course amazing, but the food and service could both be greatly improved to make this a more special experience befitting the grand hotel and scenery.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler_D-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are saddened that your expectations of our Sunday Brunch were not met as we strive to provide legendary service. We will share your comments with our staff. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A FEAST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had Sunday Brunch in the Crown Room at the Hotel del Coronado. It was truly a wonderful experience. The choices of foods were incredible. The carving station had Prime Rib, Turkey, Leg of Lamb and Ham. Each was delicious, yes I tried them all. The seafood tables were filled with wonderful dishes and unusual choices. I am not a seafood eater, but my friends said it was the most choices ever and so delicious. The desserts were scattered about the large room, and you need to walk all around so you don't miss anything. The atmosphere is delightful sitting under the large ceiling with Crown light fixtures. The staff was great and our waiter, Don, was so attentive and very pleasant. The whole hotel, and this room have so much history, it is special to spend time here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RCMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are excited that you enjoyed your experience at our award-winning Sunday Brunch in the historic Crown Room and will share your kind words with Don. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel a must see, Terrible Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Hotel Dell is one of my favorite hotels to stop and see when I'm in Coronado CA. This old hotel is very beautiful and a great place to see and we really enjoyed having a drink on the back patio over looking the ocean. We tried to get a drink out by the pool but the line was ten people long and the bartender was taking up to 5 minutes per customer, the wait was way to long for only ten customers. We really wanted to stay so we went inside to the bar and we finally got served by a great bartender named Nick. After the the drink we sat outside and tried to order food but both waitresses were slow and inefficient. So we left after one drink. I wish the Bartender Nick could have taken our order. The hotel is beautiful but the service is very slow and bad..

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 92101sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado also viewed

 

Been to Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing