We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“very dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Rancho Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   370 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

the place is very dirty - floor, tables were full of dust and the whole place was smelly. The shower was full of hairs - walls in bathroom were full of crusty stains. The toilet was easily clogged - a plunger was placed next to the toilet, with stains proving that it had been used before.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank seth21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene A, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Hello, and thank you so much for your review. El Rancho Motel is currently under a new management and ownership. We have repaired and updated every room. Our staff is trained and qualified. We hope you can call us and mention this review so that we can compensate.
Irene 619 5376633
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    25
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
26
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We booked 4 nights here for our summer vacation at the last minute and needed a budget friendly place to stay. We thought this was the place. Boy were we wrong! The rooms are small, which is no biggie for us since you just sleep there, so we moved the double beds apart to make room for an air mattress for my son to sleep on. There was a meals worth of food under the beds, as if it had not been touched by a vacuum in months. The desk chair in the room had crumbs all over it. Dust everywhere, bathroom and walls! And we are not clean freaks at home by any means. The hotel is right on the main drag coming into Coronado and every car entering the island has to pass right next to the hotel, VERY LOUD! Barely could sleep. Lupe, the owner was sweet, which was some consolation. We only stayed 1 of the 4 nights, thankfully.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ewv2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene A, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
We are so sorry to read your review. We are under a new management and ownership since August 2014, we have changed and updated every detail in the rooms. Our staff is all new, trained and qualified. We hope you can give this amazing location an opportunity to change your experience. Please feel free to call me directly to compensate in any way. 619 2069514 Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

On our last day visiting the San Diego area... we decided to visit the beaches on Coronado Island at the advice of a friend. We instantly fell in love and decided to find a place on the island to spend one more night so we could beach comb and swim. As a family of five on a budget, the most affordable place we could find on the island was the El Rancho Motel. This was a very cute, cottage like motel that was very clean and located right off of Orange ave. and 4th Street. There was parking available in the front of the motel and on the street, as well as in the back of the motel. There was lush vegetation, flowering bushes and gorgeous rose bushes on the property.

Although our room was very small... it was very clean and decorated with beautiful marble tile and simple, clean-cut IKEA furniture. The window had plantation shutters with large louvers. There was a small refrigerator and microwave available. The bathroom was also pretty, clean and maintained with fresh towels and supplies. There were 2 full size beds in the room - my children slept on one and my husband and I slept on the other comfortably. Unlike, the two negative reviews... towels were perfectly fine and A/C unit blew cold air. We were towards the back by the alley, so even though there was a lot of traffic on Orange street, we did not hear it like another reviewer complained about.

Shops and food are a short walk away. There is a very nice park for children a short distance down the street as well. The nearby public beach has restrooms and shower available and isn't as crowded as other beaches in San Diego. The beach located down the way by The Shores Condo's has a multitude of shells and small sand dollars to scavenge. My children were thrilled to see a pod of dolphins jumping about a short distance off the shore.

Our day at this hotel and Coronado Island was definitely the highlight of our vacation. We recommend this motel and we will return again ourselves next year. Our only regret was not spending our entire vacation here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisannphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

For the price, this hotel can't be beat. It's nothing fancy, but it's clean, quiet and comfy; and the location is fantastic. Free wireless internet was also a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drbvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 568 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

For a budget motel, El Rancho isn't bad, at least in the winter. Considering that the rates are about the lowest in Coronado, the place was a decent value. The carpet could have used a cleaning, but the rest of my room looked pretty spiffy. The motel is old, but my room's decor was very contemporary. (Actually, a budget motel that offers decor of ANY kind is probably an overachiever.) And the motel's exterior, while not modern, is well maintained. The place was quiet during my stay, but then I don't think too many other rooms were occupied, so it's hard to evaluate just how quiet the place is overall. I was there last weekend-----the depths of the off-season in San Diego-----so Orange Avenue wasn't very busy, and I kept my windows closed the whole time. The property is minuscule, however, and any other guests must, of necessity, traipse by right outside your window. In summer the place will probably be much noisier. And I could clearly hear the exhaust fan in the bathroom next door. The motel is about a half-mile or so from the ocean, but Coronado is table-top flat and very pedestrian-friendly, so anyone with normal mobility can easily walk to the beach. (In fact, the walk itself can actually be quite pleasant, as Coronado is a very charming town.) El Rancho offers free parking. An in-room microwave and mini-fridge. There's a grocery store and a couple restaurants three blocks to the east. More stores and restaurants four blocks west. If you're looking for a hotel that will make you feel "special", then you'll have to pay a lot more money in Coronado. If all you need is a well-run cheap motel, well, El Rancho may work for you.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booradley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

My wife and I and two teenage kids stayed in a room with 2 double beds. The room was noisy as it was adjacent to the street. Also, the bathroom floor was not very clean. It was a hassle getting extra towels. I don't recommend this place for 4 people. The place is OK, and a good value for the price, the people are friendly and helpful. Don't expect a nice place, but it's not unbearable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy, bathroom floor dirty, hard beds
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dayely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

I stayed for three nights in October of 2008. This was easily the cheapest reasonable room I could find on Coronado island. My friend and I slept very comfortably and peacefully on the 2 full size beds in our room. We were there for a wedding and had friends staying down the street. We liked our accommodations much better and they were even cheaper! The room was exceptionally clean and outfitted with clean and new Ikea furniture. The TV was good as well. The bathroom was also clean and pretty with a lot of tile. Lupe, the owner/operator was a sweetheart and even called me after we had left to let me know that I had left my cell phone charger behind. On the day we arrived, she called to make sure we were okay and still coming as we were a little later than anticipated and had told her. The location is amazing. What a beautiful island! The location is very close to the bridge and numerous restaurants and delis are only 3-5 blocks away. Also, there is a lot of free parking available as well. A car is almost necessary as you cannot cross the bridge back to San Diego on foot. That being said, the baseball park and the gaslamp quarter are very close by. I'll be sure to come back next time I'm in town. You should too!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deltdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.9 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#7 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.8 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Property: El Rancho Motel
Address: 370 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Rancho Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Rancho Motel Coronado is conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Coronado Island, and offers 10 charming rooms full of amenities and warm hospitality that will make your stay a memorable one. Surrounded by attractions such as the Ferry Landing Marketplace, the historic Hotel Del Coronado, and the world famous Coronado Beaches, we know you will truly have a wonderful stay at El Rancho Motel. San Diego is also close by, just a drive on the majestic Coronado Bay Bridge. Explore the Gaslamp Quarter, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and so much more. Access to the San Diego Airport is also close and convenient. Coronado is a peaceful island community and resort destination, with a world class golf course, a marina, parks and beaches. The weather is perhaps the best in the world, making it the perfect destination for families and seasoned travelers. With plenty of dining and shopping options within walking distance, we know your stay will be a pleasurable experience. We look forward to making your stay at El Rancho Motel as relaxing and comfortable as possible. Welcome to Coronado Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing