We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would not stay any place other than Villa Capri by the Sea!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Capri by the Sea
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay!! John, the Innkeeper is the absolute BEST! We stayed here 19 years ago with our two young sons and returned in April 2011 -- just my spouse and I! This is the cleanest place we have EVER stayed!! Honestly, do they repaint after every guest?!?!? We have stayed in 5 star resorts all over the world, and none have EVER been as clean as the Villa Capri by the Sea! Would not consider staying any place other than here. John (the Innkeeper) keeps the place in tip top shape and he is wonderful! I LOVE this place and can hardly wait to return!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Southerngirl2753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 42 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2009

I have been to Villa Capri several times after a miserable experience at The Dell. This gem is directly accross the street from The Dell at 40% of the price for The Dell. Very close to everything and the well connected inkeeper (John) has ideas and details for getting around all of Coronado and San Diego. We simply love coming here. We have also stayed at the Loews but it is too far away from the city and all the attractions. John runs a tight ship and we really have learned to appreciate the location, value and history of this INN. The Dell is packed with non guests all day every day who treat the Dell like there own personal toilet. TOO LOUD, UNKEPT, TOO EXPENSIVE . Stay at Johns and walk accross the street for the best valu in Coonado. I can't wait to go back. This is probably not the best place for ill mannered children or adults with no class.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bctravelerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

After seeing the last review on this magical gem of a motel, I feel compelled to share the wonderful experience my husband and I had when we stayed there. We stayed for 31 days from mid Dec til Mid Jan and immediately booked to do the same this year. The Inn itself is spotlessly clean with your own spacious lounge and a small but very adequate kitchen containing everything you could possibly need.The bed was comfy and the wardrobe space very substantial.

John the Inn keeper is very easy going and a complete oracle of local information, he took a friendly but far from intrusive interest in all we did and we enjoyed his company. We stayed over christmas and he even supplied us with a little tree and some decorations to make our apartment a real home from home.

We have stayed in one of the best rooms that the Hotel Del had to offer but quite honestly we prefer the freedom of the Villa Capri and just cant wait to get back there. Roll on December.

John & Alison Bower U.K

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catzdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

**DO NOT BRING YOUR BEACH GEAR, OR ANYTHING BEACH RELATED**. As said before, they do have beach gear, chairs, umbrellas and even the small towels from the room for you to take. The innkeeper is EXTREMELY anal about getting sand anywhere near the rooms. He needs to be reminded that there is an ocean across the street and most people do not want to get sand in the room. We brought a surf board that we could not bring into the room even though it had been in my house for a year before this trip and did not have a bit of sand on it.

As stated previously, the hotel is RIGHT ON THE MAIN DRAG. It is loud all day and into the night with car alarms, buses during the day into the wee hours of the night and motorcycles zooming up the hill. The location is great if you are looking to visit the Hotel Del Coronado as it's right across the street. The beach location is also a plus. The value for Coronado is probably great, but you could rent a house for the same cost of a room for the week. The kitchenette is EXTREMELY small and definitely not eat in. The living room in the suite has uncomfortable furniture. The smaller rooms only have a stall shower, no tub. There is no "Do Not Disturb" for your room door and the maid either walked in every morning or woke us every morning. (When I'm on vacation I prefer to try to sleep in a bit) Although the sun streaming through the window, the car alarm going off every hour for 3 hours the first morning and the general traffic was enough to keep the dead awake.

The pool is a bit hazardous as it's not got any railing or anything and you have a small area to walk around it to your room.

I found the bed uncomfortable and the fact that there was someone who was much too much in my business very annoying. I was happy to leave. the parking situatiion is 'free' if there are enough spots. A full hotel may mean there is no parking on site. There are about 10 spots only.

There is also high speed internet - wireless only that was hard to get working at best. It also has a daily charge for use.

Overall i can't say I was impressed. I have stayed at a lot of hotels from coast to coast and was very UNimpressed. I would have rather paid more to stay at a house or across the street at the Del or next door at Glorietta Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Beachgirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2006

We stayed here 3 nights in a regular room on the lower level. We really appreciated all the help from John, the Innkeeper who lives on site. They will provide you with everything you need -- hairdryer, beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, etc. Just ask John.
The room was nice and very clean, absolutely no problems there. The bed was VERY comfortable. The only problem we encountered was with the traffic noise. The hotel is right on Orange Ave. which is very busy. The hotel is U shaped and the traffic noise bounces right off the hotel and it's quite loud. I was woke up at 5:30AM one morning and 3:30AM the next. I could not get back to sleep because of the traffic noise. Ironically, the location is great but I wish there was a way to get away from the traffic. Also, the pool is very small and not heated. But when you have the beach so close, why would you want a pool???

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Southern Maryland
29
Reviewed March 3, 2006

Small mote built in 1957. Gives great value under the curcumstances and location. Stayed 7 nights on business, 1 bedroom apartment for $ 1000.
Kitchen, great bed, good TV (1) but a dated and uncortable living room furniture. Parking is very tight. Small pool.
Right on the main drag with some traffic noise and sieghbor hood noise from an aprtment building directlu behind. But 1 block from the beach, across the street from the Hotel Del and you can walk to plenty of resturants.
To avoid commuting from San Diego I would stay ther again. Good deal.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We booked two king bedrooms at this nice little place, although suites with kitchens are also available, and had one on the bottom floor and one just up the stairs.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and very well cared for. They were practically identical, with a king bed directly in front of the sliding door that had shutters, instead of curtains, for privacy.

The room also contained a TV with over 70 channels to choose from, a chair, a closet with plenty of hangers, a good sized refrigerator and a microwave.

The bathroom had a nice big, proper, shower unit (no bath, but we didn't want one anyway) with glass door. We would have liked some shelf space in the bathroom to put our toiletries, etc, but this is a minor quibble.

The rooms are all directly off the pool area at the front. The pool is very small, not really suitable for any proper swimming, and quickly goes from 3 to 8 feet in depth. There is also an ice machine in the pool area.

Villa Capri is in an excellent location, sandwiched between Coronado Beach Resort and Glorietta Bay Inn at the (better) bottom end of the island. The main entrance to the Hotel Del Coronado is almost directly opposite. You simply cross the road, and walk past the hotel's small parade of shops, through the grounds of the Del to get to the beach. Unfortunately, June Gloom was in full swing when we were there so we didn't spend any time on the beach.

Parking is free for guests, which is a bonus in Coronado, and you park directly in front of the hotel on Orange Avenue. Speaking of Orange Avenue, however, this is quite a busy road and traffic does seem to build up from 5am onwards. The traffic noise may disturb light sleepers, since there is little distance between your rooms and the road.

John, the Innkeeper, is very friendly and knowledgable, and really makes your stay here memorable. He will keenly tell you everything you need to know and more about Coronado, San Diego and all the attractions on offer. He will happily give you recommendations and directions for eating places, too. His presence gives Villa Capri a real personal touch that you simply don't find any more.

Each morning coffee, orange juice and small donuts were put outside by the pool for guests. John will provide you with anything you need, such as mugs, glasses and spoons, etc, if you haven't got a kitchen unit.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Capri, and would recommend it to anybody. Coronado does seem to be quite an expensive place to stay, but we got a good rate here by planning in advance and giving John a call to discuss the options available. Why not do the same? You've got nothing to lose, and may well find yourself pleasantly surprised with the result.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank reddiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
622 reviews
1 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Capri by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Capri by the Sea

Address: 1417 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2948
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#11 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $161 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Capri by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Capri by the Sea perfectly located on the quintessential Island of Coronado on Orange Avenue the Downtown District, offering a wide array of one of a kind shops, unique theatres, and some of San Diego's best restaurants. So whether you are here for a quiet laid back simplicity break or an action packed adventure the Villa Capri by the Sea is the perfect location and choice. The Villa Capri deliver's an intimate and charming atmosphere playing homage to the 1950's. You will experience service second to none, unparalleled cleanliness, and of course your unspoken expectations. An idyllic location that will allow you to explore the entirety of the Island whether on foot, bike, or even a skateboard as our Island is car optional. You are literally moments away from the Marina, miles of pristine beaches, Hotel Del Coronado, and the ferry taxi that will get you quickly to downtown San Diego, all this with near perfect weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Capri by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Capri By The Sea Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing