We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveler rating
426
110
28
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
110
28
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone bedroom unitacross the streettime sharerooftop deckgreat locationhot tub and saunathird floorsecure parkingsan diegoboogie boardsbeach chairsstreet noisefree bikeswalking distancedel coronadosand toyscoronado beach
Filter
Updating list...
530 - 535 of 587 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This was our third visit to one of the best destinations in the USA -- Coronado! Coronado is a great place to visit, unique in its location, absolutely beautiful and one of the cleanest places we've seen anywhere. Love it so much, we're heading back next January.

But we won't be staying at this "hotel". It is over-rated & over-priced. It's actually time-share condos, whose rooms are rented when their owners are not in town. It does have several positive points, top on the list being its location -- one of the best on the island. But several negatives lower its overall rating.

We've learned there are several other nearby properties which not only have outstanding locations, but provide far better amenities and service.

The absolute splendor of Coronado (and surrounding areas) should be considered separately. Other reviews list its legitimate positive points, although some are exaggerated.

Some things which lower this property's rating include: cleanliness/maintenance, size & decor of rooms are all lacking; A/C units suck in strong odors of cigarette smoke from guests smoking on nearby outdoor balconies; instead of merely free coffee, every other nearby property we've since checked out offer complimentary continental breakfasts, a few fairly substantial; though most staff were helpful, we had the misfortune of meeting one of the night crew who was a real jerk who made us feel like we were definitely second class guests if we weren't an owner of one of the building's units; the gal who coordinated activities provided inaccurate information (verbal & written) on the daytrip to Hollywood which itself included over 4 hours of picking up & dropping off others at several hotels on the way to/from L.A.; our request for a packet of coffee to use in our room was rudely refused; and, of course, its inflated prices.

Nearby properties provide better value, several less expensive than here.

Photos included show: dust on living room cocktail table from overhead ceiling fan; exposed screwhead in carpet; mold on bathroom tile.

When we asked for the "Coronado Beach Resort discount" at the fine restaurant at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, no one there knew anything about such a discount.

The bird in the lobby was entertaining & attractive. But the bird doesn't warrant the prices charged at this outdated time-share property.

This information was submitted on an evaluation form from the ownership/management for this property. After waiting and receiving no response, we've posted this review.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TRON13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

This hotel is one of the best hotels on the island. The island it's self is right across from San Diego and there's beach 360 degrees. The hotel staff are great, one of them offered to let us borrow her clubs since we didn't bring ours. They have a beautiful parrot in the lobby and activities everyday for either free or very cheap. The staff is very knowledgeable and can always point you in the right direction. I don't even remember the rooms that well because I was barely in them. But they are nice. The views aren't always the best but you'll want to stay here and not at the big resort on the island because this one is in the middle of it all. They are affiliated with the Loews resort and you can often use there fitness center and pool. The hotel has a hot tub on top of the roof and very nice rooms. It's loosely related to Diamond resorts, (DRI). Definitely stay for more then a week, A LOT TO DO.

There's a golf course on the island but your better off visiting them because they don't answer the phone. Don't go everywhere in the car, you can walk to dinner right across the street. you can walk anywhere. There's tons of different restaurants, shops and things to do. I recommend you walk to everything, golf and visit the beach. You can eat at a diner, walk t get ice cream, go to the beach, pick up lotion at the drug store, and grab Italian soda all by walking. And the walking is exciting because you see all sorts of stuff on the way.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovetrips77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed at this resort in September and couldn't have picked a better place for our little family! It was quaint, clean, family friendly and it was easy to walk around from there exploring the island. The staff was especially helpful and accommodating, all quite knowledgable about where to go and what to do while visiting Coronado-- which was great since it was our first experience there. Would definitely stay here again. Also, LOVED the bird, Cody! She was a real treat to visit with during our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheshi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We loved the ability to walk to the beach, restaurants, Hotel Del, shops, etc The Staff was wonderful and took care of all our needs, Cody, the lobby macaw, was entertaining and "all in all" we had a very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlovr32764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This hotel critically lacks integrity and causes serious vacation concerns. We made reservations from Canada 5 months in advance, gave a deposit at the time, and then confirmed our reservation one month in advance. We arrived excited only to be told "no room here - you can stay at our sister resort 45 minutes up the coast in Carlsbad - we'll take care of you". They were not really fussed and it was apparent that this was common practice. Can you imagine our surprise, disappointment and frustration? They also told us that all of the other accomodations on Coronado Island were fully booked. This was not true as we phoned the Del later and were told that they indeed had rooms available. This hotel does not honour it's bookings and completely lacks integrity. Be careful when booking a vacation here - I note from other reviews that others did not get what they were promised.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
11  Thank Honest_family_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lmartin777, General Manager at Coronado Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2010

We are very sorry to hear about your experience at our resort. We had an unexpected maintenance issue prior to your arrival that caused this unfortunate relocation to our sister property in Carlsbad, California. We normally avoid sending guests to the Del Coronado because of their smaller accomodations. We feel terrible that we gave the impression that it was common place to relocate guests and we would really like a chance to make it up to you. Please contact the resort 619-522-6000 and ask for me. --Leon Martin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews