We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing with superior service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coronado Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is great, even if the road noise can be a bit loud on the "Del" side (not the resort's fault...just a matter of location). There are many amenities to choose from. The staff are extremely eager to please and go out of their way to meet or exceed your needs and requests. They've upgraded this resort a lot over the years we've been going there. We definitely plan to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "Hotel Del" side are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 528 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

So maybe I didn't scrutinise the website enough. This is not what you typically think of as a hotel or a resort. These rooms are units that people buy as timeshare and you can also book through the website. There is no room service or cleaning service during your stay. Your towels are changed twice a week.

While the location was excellent I would not choose to stay here again. I would much rather pay a little extra and stay at the hotel
Del.

The Pros:
Location
Room size
Off street parking

The Cons:
The room felt old and musty
Daily service charge for Internet use/resort use.
As mentioned above, not a hotel/resort.
Not value for money

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rivonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a timeshare exchange and we weren't disappointed. We had a one-bedroom, and I had called ahead of time to request a unit on the top floor with a balcony. Michael was so helpful in not only getting us a top floor balcony unit, but also one at the end of the hall so that we could still see the Del and the beach beyond, without so much of the noise from Orange Ave. When we checked in, we were a bit early, but Erick was so nice and contacted Housekeeping to get our room ready as soon as possible. In fact, everyone at the resort was amazingly nice, from the front desk staff to the maintenance and housekeeping personnel.

The units themselves are a bit odd, as compared to other resorts we have been to, but still very comfortable and convenient. The bathroom was right as we entered the unit, but the bedroom was all the way past the living room, so if we needed to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, we had to traipse through the entire condo to get there. If there were more than the two of us, and they were on the sofa bed, that would be a very convenient location for the bathroom...but for two people, it was just a bit strange. However, I would not recommend more than two people in a one-bedroom condo here...it would be just too cramped.

I would also not recommend the resort for people with children either, simply because of the lack of amenities children usually like and want (ie...a pool, playground, etc). It was great for us adults, but I think kids would get a little antsy there. It was nice to have the beach equipment and bikes available for checkout, and the daily popcorn was a nice touch. Also, the BBQ grill on the deck was wonderful...we cooked several dinners out there, as did many other people.

I gave the resort a rating of 3 for sleep quality, simply because the mattress was extremely soft and uncomfortable (we both had back problems the entire week), and because Orange Ave. does get very, very noisy early in the morning, and the resort sits right on the street. However, our white noise app took care of the noise issue.

The location cannot be beat. There are so many shops and restaurants within walking distance, and the Del and beach is right across the street. In fact, we parked the car at the resort and only took it out when my husband had to go out on business. There is a public bus stop right at the corner, and one of the routes will take you all the way across the bridge, to the Imperial Street transit center where you can pick up a trolley to take you just about anywhere in San Diego. You can purchase a one-day pass on the bus for $5, and you get unlimited bus and trolley rides all day (a seriously good deal when you consider parking costs and the hassle of driving). There is also a bus route that will take you to the ferry landing on Coronado, where you can pick up a ferry that will take you over to the waterfront in San Diego for $4.25 each way. But honestly, there are so many things to see and do on Coronado, you might never want to leave the island!

In short, the staff was amazing, the location was amazing, and it was a great week for us. Even the check-out was fun, as Michael came strolling into work while we were checking out, looking for all the world like he was walking the "Walk of Shame" with his shirt untucked and wrinkled, and his tie all askew! Come to find out his wife was out of town and apparently she usually assists him in getting dressed. But we all had a good laugh, and it certainly felt like we were with good friends, rather than just resort employees.

Room Tip: High floor away from Orange Ave will be quieter, but you won't get the great views. However, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamikoBold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My daughter and I were lucky enough to enjoy this fabulous cozy resort again. We love that we can park our car and then walk to shops, dining and the beautiful Coronado beach.
The Coronado Beach Resort is one of our favorite places to visit for a quick weekend. The staff is so friendly and knowledgable. They have great ideas on where to eat and what to do while on the island.
Hope to be back soon :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We just got back from a week in a 1 bedroom unit at the Coronado Beach Resort. It's well managed, clean, and the staff are very helpful. The location is great for exploring Coronado, and you can walk to the beach and good restaurants in minutes. Downtown San Diego is a short drive or ferry ride across the bay. There's so much to see and do around Coronado and San Diego a week isn't long enough!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Coronado Beach Resort for our honeymoon. We were so pleased with the entire staty, but we could not say enough about the amazing staff there.They were so helpful and went out of their way to make us feel special. Seana was especially fantastic! She took us kayaking, took photos of us and made us a CD of those photos. Totally above and beyond what we could have ever expected. The location was fantastic. The rooms were clean. We had a great stay and would go back in a heart beat. I would recommend this resort to everyone!

Room Tip: We loved having a patio facing the Hotel Del Coronado and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a great place to stay while on a San Diego vacation! My husband and I actually cancelled our reservation at a hotel on Mission Beach and relocated to this hotel when we first visited San Diego 4 years ago. This was our second stay here and it didn't disappoint. The best way to describe this place is Convenient. The location is convenient to restaurants, attractions and the beach on Coronado. The reasonable daily resort fee includes parking, bike rental, beach gear (chairs, towels, umbrellas, kids toys), fitness center, etc. The kitchenette allowed us to stock up on breakfast and lunch items so that we didn't have to eat out for every meal. Guests have access to a grill if they wish to stay in and grill something for dinner. It is easy to get from Coronado to other parts of San Diego. The hotel does not have a pool on site, but guests do have access to pools at a resort down the road. I am typically a pool person, but the beach is so great here, I didn't mind not having a pool on site. If you are tempted by other resorts on Coronado, pay close attention to all the fees not included in the nightly rate. One place charged for in room microwave useage. Seriously?! Stay here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms without a view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ks4pu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
612 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Beach Resort

Address: 1415 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#3 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $218 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic and historic Coronado Island, Coronado Beach Resort emulates a unique beachside charm with an urban backdrop. Choose from a variety of our suites which give you the comfort & convenience of home while still having that vacation getaway. Located in the heart of Orange Avenue, our guests are steps away from the unique shops, restaurants, and bustling atmosphere of the charming downtown area. Dine in and enjoy the Jacuzzi or Adventure out and experience Coronado Island from a new view with access to our off property Pool, Basketball & Tennis Courts. Come and stay at Coronado Beach Resort and take that relaxing & fun filled vacation that you've always dreamt about. Please note a Resort Fee of $20 plus tax will be collected at time of booking. Check-in is at 4 pm and check-out is at 11 am. Guests must be 18 years of age or older with a valid ID and credit card to book and check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Coronado Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing