We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coronado Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
La Avenida Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$200
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Coronado(Coronado)
$349
Curio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$371
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
El Cordova Hotel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$279
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
1906 Lodge(Coronado)
$350
$332
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$254
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Capri by the Sea(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$212
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glorietta Bay Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$215
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Rancho Motel(Coronado)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveler rating
404
106
27
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
106
27
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone bedroom unitacross the streetmurphy bedrooftop decktime sharegreat locationhot tub and saunathird floorsecure parkingsan diegomini kitchenwithin walking distancegas fireplacebeach chairsboogie boardstop floorstreet noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 560 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2012

OK, the hotel is nice but the real fun is just to see the place and hang out in the bars and restaurants. This is probably one of the top 10 most picturesque hotels in the US. If you are staying in San Diego and drive over the Coronado Bridge to see this hotel, be sure to stop in the lounge, have a drink and snack and get your parking validated! Fun place right on the beach.

Room Tip: As always... ASK for upgrade.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backpackluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My first contact with the resort when when I phoned them about one week prior to arrival, to ensure I was expected. The front-desk person was pleasant, and when I indicated that I would be arriving around 1 PM, he said that they would try to have a room ready for us when we arrived.

On arrival, we were pleasantly greeted and checked-in. Sure enough, our room was available and we were able to move into it. We had exchanged for a studio, and I had been warned that it was a murphy-bed. The room was quite spacious with the bed “up”, but the TV was old and small, as it had to fit into the wall-unit. We did not find the bed very comfortable either.

The next day, we attended the free breakfast and orientation meeting. There were a few exercise and other visitor programs offered; more than I expected from a small resort. Afterwards, I was chatting to the resort manager, who asked me how my room was. I truthfully told him that it was good, except for the bed. He then offered me a free upgrade, as they has some empty one bedroom units! He explained that they were planning to refurbish all of the studio units and get rid of the murphy beds. We moved into a one bedroom unit that afternoon, and it was excellent. It had two flat screen TVs, and a king size bed. The kitchen had a full refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, microwave oven and sink. There was no stove, but there was a plug-in hot plate, which worked OK, but used up most of the counter space when in use. We used the kitchen quite a bit, but it would not suit someone who wanted to do extensive cooking.

Everything in the building was clean as could be. The decor was – OK, but they could do with the services of an interior decorator. The parrot in the lobby is “Cody”. Fun, but noisy! Cody doesn't like men, but she likes eating buttons! All of the staff members we met were super-friendly and helpful.

Our unit was on the third floor, and had a partial ocean view. The small hot-tub and sauna are on the third floor, with a nice view. The resort is directly across the street from the famous “Hotel Del Coronado”, built in 1890, usually called “The Dell”. (We took a $10 walking tour of the area, and learned the history of Coronado and the The Dell.) The beach in front of The Dell is open to the public. There are no particular facilities at the resort for children, although they are welcome. Upon check-in, you are informed that there is a daily facility fee of $14. This includes bicycle rentals, which we did not use, and use of the pools and parking at the Lowes Resort. We did use the pools at the Lowes once, and we had them all to ourselves, since the weather was cool at the time. The Lowes is about 4 miles south, an easy drive along “The Strand”, or a long bike ride.

As a first time visitor to San Diego, I found the location of the resort to be absolutely perfect. There are dozens of restaurants within walking distance, as well as a grocery store, liquor store and drug store. Compared to the rest of San Diego, Coronado traffic is calm. One day we took the ferry across the bay, rather than driving, and toured the USS Midway aircraft carrier.

There is, of course, military everywhere. Coronado island has a huge naval base, as well as Navy Seal training facilities. Helicopters and other aircraft are flying about constantly, and you see Naval personnel jogging along the paths. For those who like nature, there are two large reserves in the area for bird watching, at Chula Vista and the Tijuana Estuary. The San Diego Zoo and Sea World are short drives away.

Room Tip: Don't get a studio until they get rid of the murphy beds.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed 4 days for business stuff.
Room was well appointed. We brought in our own meals...so I can't opine on the food part of the gig. Running in the am was good....great weather. Hotel maintenance was up to par.
Desk staff very friendly and helpful. Quality of beds just fine. I would stay here again.
Wi-fi worked ok.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

as all you readers know, this place is in a great location. the room selection is key. we stayed in room 308 as it was off of orange ave and much quieter than the ones across the hallway. the one bedroom unit was nice and well furnished with a fireplace and mini kitchen. other than a hair in the tub(short, dark and curly) and lots of hair in the provided hair blower, it was rather clean. we would stay at this resort again as there are a lot of great restaurants and del coronado hotel close by. the front desk is great and very helpful. i would rate this a five star except the presence of a strangers hair in the bathroom precludes me from doing so.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank central_valley-sb-ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This small resort is located right across street from the historic Del Coronado Hotel and a great beach. The rooms are small but very nice. Rooms facing street have some views of ocean and balconies. Doing some remodeling of lobby area which was a bit inconvenient. Inside parking. One elevator which is slow but easy enough to use stairs since only three floors. Free use of bikes which makes for great trips around island. Be sure to go to bay side and watch navy ships; great views of downtown San Diego and bridge. Lots of good restaurants. Coronado Island is like stepping back in time to a more relaxed era. Be sure to spend some time in Balboa Park in San Diego. Eat at El Prada in park.

Room Tip: Try for a front room with bigger balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwgross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews