We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and a friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tavern

The Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
The Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and a friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Specialises in good value 'comfort food'. We ate there twice and on each occasion received excellent service and tasty food which we very much enjoyed. Very good value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank junerose_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    89
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Located in beautiful Coronado. Great service, delicious appetizers and entrées, great drinks, even the kids menu was delicious :) Generous serving size
Clean restaurant, clean bathrooms, walking distance from the beach. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere, great food at a great price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We happened into this place by accident. Originally, we planned on the Italian restaurant next door, but after comparing our attire with the prices on the menu decided the Tavern was a better fit. We started with the crab cake appetizer. I could have sworn the menu said "crab cakes" but only one came on the dish, which surprised us. Don't let that stop you from getting it, though. It is loaded with large chunks of crab and is perfectly cooked and flavorful, with a scrumptious creamy avocado aioli sauce to the side and fresh greens with vinaigrette. My husband had the flat iron steak with a chili reduction, fingerling potatoes and the freshest baby green beans. It's been a long time since I've seen my husband eat so slowly, but the steak was so tender and well prepared that he wanted to savor every bite. Now THAT is saying a lot! I had a simple green salad and added shrimp to it. The greens were fresh and the added carrot slivers and almonds with a lime vinaigrette The shrimp came on a separate plate and were cooked to perfection with lots of garlic, scampi style. It was a wonderful meal answer will be returning often. The worse part was the paid parking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muddymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

During our four day stay in Coronado, we would pass by this place on the way to other things. One night for dinner, we decided to give it a try. I wish we would have stopped earlier in the vacation! It was great from the moment we walked in. We asked for a large booth which is normally used for larger parties and they gladly granted our request.

The decor is nice...a little rustic/western theme going on. Our waitress was excellent. Some of the best service we experienced during our vacation. I had the pulled pork sliders which were awesome along with the tasty sweet potato tots. Yum! My husband had the veggie burger which was surprisingly good! One of our daughters had a cheeseburger and the other had chicken fingers. They both liked their meals as well. The local beer on tap was good too.

The kids enjoyed coloring in coloring books provided by the restaurant while they waited for their food. The waitress brought their meals out as soon as they were ready. A fun and enjoyable dining experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

On a recent trip to Coronado we had the pleasure of eating at the Tavern. It was late on a Sunday night and we wanted a bite to eat and some drinks and there were not a ton of choices at the late hour. We had noticed The Tavern earlier in the day becasue of the interesting signage. We are so glad that we wandered back by. The atmosphere and decor at the Tavern are wonderful. There is a small outdoor seating area on the street level and you then go down about 10 steps to enter the main restaurant. Sitting on the steps leading down were bell jars with candles inside, this is a restaurant that pays attention to the little details. We were sat by a gentlemen named John who turned out to be the owner. We had a great conversation about the building history,decor, food choices and beer. The restaurant serves "comfort food" and while that is not normally what I am looking for when near the beach it was so delicious I forgot where I was. Since it was late we decided to order a few things to share and we choose the corn chowder, mac n cheese and chicken pot pie. All of them were wonderful. The mac n cheese and pot pie were served in cast iron crocks and we fought over the last bites. Our server Austin was very friendly and attentive - granted it was late but there were other tables eating and several people came in for drinks during our visit. We enjoyed our time at The Tavern so much we came back for drinks the next night to watch a baseball game. My only regret about The Tavern is that we live 3,000 miles away - we'd love for it to be our local bar here in Delaware. Can't wait for a return to Coronado, The Tavern will be one of our first stops!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elliesmomDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing