We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful setting, friendly staff, and a pefect location; couldn't have asked for more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherokee Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cherokee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Coronado B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, friendly staff, and a pefect location; couldn't have asked for more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We had our wedding at this small B&B last month & all 34 of us are still talkiing about how perfect it was. This is due in large part to Ed, Phyllis & Bear who not only treated us like family, but provided their amazing storybook setting. They took customer service to a new level & we've already booked our next trip. This is an excellent place to have a small group vacation!

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaHappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    56
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
73
93
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Ok I am biased, because I literally grew up in the house, but there is nothing better than being able to come home 30 yrs later and stay in your old bedroom - when your parents no longer own the place :-) I actually was here a few years further back but send as many people by as possible. We plan our own trip back hopefully this December. This is a great example of a Cat's Ear victorian, and people who know and love its history.

Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dogdebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Just came back from a 3-night stay at the Cherokee Lodge when we went to Coronado for a wedding, and it was very nice. Not sure what the other reviewer has to complain about because had he checked the B&B's website, he would have seen from the pictures and video exactly what it would be. That's what we did! The place was nice and clean and the owner and his daughter were very helpful and accommodating. The rooms might have been smallish, but why are you spending much room in the room when you are on Coronado? The beach was wonderful. The towels in OUR room were very plush and good. Nothing shabby as was implied in the other review. We used breakfast vouchers for Panera which was only a block away. There were beach towels provided for us, and they were able to loan us beach chairs and an umbrella, and later a hair dryer when I realized I had not packed one. The owner even picked us up from and took us to the ferry, which was a perk I was not expecting. Very friendly, very polite, very helpful. Great place to stay. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcjcinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St George UT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Cherokee Lodge is the best place to stay in Coronado Island. Not only are the owner and staff extremely friendly but they are also very insightful. They helped out when we needed information on where to go and what to see. My daughter is only three and the staff was very warm and friendly to my ever so rambunctious daughter. We had alot of down time in between sightseeing and beach going and really enjoyed sitting outside on the porch relaxing and making good conversation with the staff and other visitors. We also stayed in three different rooms at the lodge during our stay and each room was unique, clean, quiet and comfortable, we had no trouble sleeping at night. We will absolutely return, hopefully sooner than later. Best wishes to all that travel to the beautiful Coronado Island and definitely do not pass up the opportunity to stay at the Cherokee Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyandIvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My wife and I bought a two night stay in the Cherokee Lodge at a charity auction a few months back and were excited about taking a much needed day trip to this seemingly charming B&B in one of our favorite places, Coronado!

Then we arrived.... Hmmm.... Where do I begin?

Our room was supposed to be one of the "nicer" rooms, with a king sized bed and it's own bathroom. I would hate to see one of their average rooms. Upon entering the "king deluxe," the first thing that hit us was a musty smell. We quickly opened a window, hoping to air it out. It did not go away. The room itself was a mess, crammed with more furniture than a salvation Army. A loud mini fridge that looked like it was purchased at a yard sale sat upon the dresser drawers, and resting on it was a 1980's era 14" mini television just waiting to be squinted at. Then I sat on what could be quite possibly the hardest bed I've ever had the displeasure compressing my spine on. My wife, being the trooper that she is, tried to stay positive and decided to take a shower. That idea went out the window when she saw the towels. Actually, I think they were towels at one point, perhaps back in the 70's, but now they were more like cheesecloth. Even my grandmother doesn't keep towels that long. Everything about this room screamed OLD. Not charming. Not vintage. Just old. After some blank stares, we both decided to cut our losses and check in to another hotel. We forfeited our several hundred dollar certificate gladly, considering it an expensive lesson in the perils of charity auctions.

The people there are nice enough, but shame on them for running such a charmless, dingy place. Buy new towels at least! The owner seemed more interested with his internet phone system that allowed you to call long distance anywhere in the country for free (cell phone anyone?) than maintaining his B&B.

Oh yeah, one more thing. At this Bed and Breakfast, there is no breakfast, only a five dollar voucher to eat at some diner several blocks away. That may actually be a blessing because it at least gives you an excuse to leave the crap hole that is - The Cherokee Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KingMoonJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

The most pleasant trip we have had in many years. The Lodge was perfect, unique and just great.

Karen was just super as our Host and extremely nice. Also, willing to help and assist with everything.

We will stay there again and again.

I Highly recommend this Lodge to anyone and everyone.

Just Absolutely Great!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank RVBPhoenixArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Cherokee Lodge for our wedding anniversary this year. We were excited upon arrival to see the beautiful gardens surrounding the property. The fruit trees outside with baskets of fruit near the door for guests to enjoy. We were very interested in the historical background of the building....if you stay, be sure to speak to the locals about the building & its history.
Just a few minutes walk will take you to some nearby attractions like Hotel Del, excellent shopping & dining.
For those of you wanting a quiet getaway and enjoy the feeling of being at home...I highly recommend staying at the Cherokee. The rooms were very clean and were complimented with fresh cut flowers from the garden. The vintage soda & snack machines were a cute amenity.
Another great plus, being a bed and breakfast, you would expect a shared communal shower - however, Cherokee Lodge is equipped with private showers for every room!! They also have refrigerator, coffee, beach towels, satellite tv, free phone calls (including international), complimentary wireless internet (and a terminal in the main hall, in case you didn't bring your laptop) washer/dryer, ice and microwave are also available. The breakfast is in the form of a voucher for the local City Diner located only a block or so from the Lodge. Excellent breakfast selections (if I must say) but that's another story.
So, take it from me...coming from a hospitality background...this place is excellent. Clean rooms, great location, reasonable prices and nice amenities (and dont forget the friendly staff!!)

  • Liked — The at home feeling and beautiful gardens surrounding the lodge.
  • Disliked — No swimming pool....but what can you ask for at a historic b&b?
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MysticalMisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.4 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
0.3 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherokee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee Lodge

Property: Cherokee Lodge
Address: 964 D Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2506
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherokee Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cherokee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing