We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The best place to stay in Coronado.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherokee Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cherokee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Coronado B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sidney, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay in Coronado.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The best kept secret in Coronado!! Wonderful accomodations. Very clean, comfortable & convenient location. Great Hospitality. Highly recommend staying at the Lodge for the best value in Coronado. Everyone else, who stayed at the lodge the same time as we did, also commented on what a lovely place it was to stay & how they did not need a car to get anywhere in Coronado, as everything is within walking distance.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #12 & loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pabrlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    56
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
73
93
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

So many great things about staying at Cherokee Lodge, but #1 has to be the location. It is so centrally located on the island that on a recent week's vacation I only drove once - and that was to Mission Valley. Everything is walking distance. But the location isn't the only thing to love - the other thing that I LOVE about this place is that they welcomed my two "fur kids" - our Golden Retrievers. While this isn't a "traditional" B&B in the sense that you don't eat at the Lodge, I preferred having a lot of options of what to have with our daily vouchers at Panera's (also a great, dog friendly place!). Since this is a very old building, not everything is in perfect working order, but I didn't expect that anyway. The staff is very friendly and attentive too. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Keep in mind that not all the rooms have the private bath IN the room. We stayed in Room 2 which did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cuz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great place to stay if you are not looking for the huge chain hotels. Traveled with our 2 yr old and he just stayed with us in the King bed, no problem. Clean, old-fashioned; Staff is friendly, location close to places to eat and walk around. Stayed here for a wedding at Naval Lodge. Would stay here again if I came back to Coronado!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's a charming old house with period furnishings, clean and quiet. It has a nice front porch overlooking a lush flower garden with hummingbird action, and the whole property is well cared for. Shops and restaurants are easily walkable, and there is free on-the-street parking. Our maid was friendly and clearly concerned about our comfort, and the management is accessible but not intrusive. Lots of people brought their dogs and we worried about barking but were never disturbed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attended_Giants_game
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed two nights at Cherokee Lodge and had a very good experience. The house is cute and inviting, the two employees we dealt with were friendly and professional. We stayed in Room 2. It was large and comfortable, on the ground floor. Although AC is accessible, we just opened the windows and allowed the cool ocean breeze through our room. The house is centrally located, walkable to all stores and the beach.
The Cherokee Lodge offers a voucher for breakfast at Panera Bread right around the corner. The menu is limited and I missed the hominess of breakfast with other people in a family setting which is one reason why I choose a B & B in the first place. While there, we did not see or hear one other guest. Either it's VERY quiet there or there were no other guests.
For the price and the convenience, I would visit Cherokee Lodge again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvenueBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My sister and I use to stay at our cousin's home on "B" Avenue and were looking for a similar place to stay that was comfortable, affordable and close to the shops, restaurants and Hotel Del. We found it at The Cherokee Lodge, one block off of Orange Avenue. Room "2" is a large suite with beautiful antique furniture, wood floors and elegant 500 thread count cotton sheets. It was great having a coffee pot with Wolfgang Puck Estate Grown coffee and a down comforter. Two ceiling fans and a window A/C unit kept the room very cool. The bathroom shower/tub worked great and there was a guest computer to surf the internet and check-in with the airlines. The manager, "Vickie" was very professional and helpful, and I also had the pleasure of meeting the owner of the Lodge. I will definately plan a return visit to this great Hotel/BB

Room Tip: Look at the "virtual tour" so you can decide which room is best. Room "2" is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texaspetnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We wound up arriving in Coronado and were unable to get into our VRBO house a day early as planned. We called Cherokee Lodge and stayed 1 night. Wonderful neighborhood, neat and tidy, quiet, close to a park, grocery, drugstore, shops, and restaurants. Lovely gardens greet you upon arrival with a wrap around porch for sitting or a backyard patio with more garden area. For breakfast we were given vouchers for Panera Bread less than a block away. While the room itself was not new or fancy, we did find it to be clean and to fit our needs.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.4 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
0.3 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherokee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee Lodge

Property: Cherokee Lodge
Address: 964 D Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2506
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherokee Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cherokee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing