We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lil' Piggy's Bar-B-Q

Lil' Piggy's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #21 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on Coronado's Ferry Landing, Lil' Piggy's Bar-B-Q brings all the flavor of a Memphis Style barbecue straight to San Diego. Inspired by a family tour through the most notable BBQ joints in Memphis, the Carolinas, Kansas City and more-Lil' Piggy's is a locally-owned concept, offering authentic specialties, blues music, spectacular park and bay views, and 100 varieties of beer to choose from.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Can't believe we have never visited before! Fantastic pulled pork and three terrific BBQ sauces. Don't need to go across the bridge for BBQ anymore!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    81
    34
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantabulous!!! Don't pass this place up...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Where do I start, our waitress was awesome, very professional, courteous, and always there before we needed another drink. the manager/owner came out and personally talked with us, and thanked us for coming in. He made it a point to go to every table and chat with the customers. The food was awesome, make no mistake it's great! My favorite was an appetizer called Lil Piggy's Poppers, jalapenos with cheese stuffed inside, bacon wrapped around the outside and fried up, we were there during happy hour and the appetizers on that day were 50% off, so I had 5 of them for $3.50...they were so good, we went back a second time before leaving the area. All the food here is great and the staff are super friendly and quick. When I get back that way I will definitely be eating there more than once, and the prices are better than most restaurants in the area. Don't pass this little place up, it's amazing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jumper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ and outdoor views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great food for the price. Have not had this quality of pulled pork and brisket outside of the Southern State. Gotta check it out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good BBQ but too sweet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The smokiness of the pulled pork was delicious, but the sauce was so sweet it was like pouring pancake syrup on it. I usually like sweeter sauce, but this was WAY too sweet. Cole slaw was tasty. Eating anything while overlooking San Diego Bay is wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
317 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“I already have more fat than I need!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a very enjoyable Sunday lunch. Only available table was in the direct sun. We took it with the understanding that we would move as soon as a shaded table became available. It did almost immediately. As I watched other's disdain for the unshaded table, I couldn't help but wonder if the cost of another umbrella was worth the customers' reactions. My grandson's pulled chicken plate provided generous, tasty portions. My wife enjoyed her barbecue bacon burger. I ordered the beef brisket. I failed to specify chopped or sliced, but didn't realize it until the chopped arrived. While it was tasty, it had way too much fat mixed in. Precisely why I would have ordered sliced. Thesalad I ordered as a side was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Les J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lil' Piggy's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Lil' Piggy's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing