We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island visit”
Review of Coronado Island

Coronado Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Private Tour: Coronado Sightseeing from San Diego
More Info
$55.00*
and up
San Diego Scenic Tour
More Info
$169.00*
and up
San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles
Ranked #1 of 41 things to do in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A mere two-mile drive from cosmopolitan, downtown San Diego, across one of the world's most distinctive bridges, is Coronado Island - a world away. Developed in 1888 as a beach resort town, and home to the famous Hotel del Coronado, the island is blessed with one of the finest beaches in the world and bathed in endless sunshine. Coronado today is a vibrant beach community loaded with charm.
Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Island visit”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This island is so awesome...wish i could have spent more time here.We just took the ferry over to the island for the day.Very pretty ,almost too good to be true,a must if you are in San Diego!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,809
    508
    66
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must for any traveler in San Diego”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Awesome place! I went there on a day without much sun and still had a pretty amazing time. The coronado hotel is beautfiul and the beach is pretty clean and never crowded. I recomend choosing the sunniest day and go there and spend at least half a day. Great place to visitng with friends, family or by yourself. It only takes about 20 minutes to get there from San Diego downtown, so it is definetely worth going. Moreover, the San Diego view you get from the pier is just amazing, great place to get a picture with San Diego written all over it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Quiet and scenic”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We walked and enjoyed the architecture and weather. Clean and quiet get away, and my wife wants to live there...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kdmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this town”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great shopping and restaurants ! A wonderful reprieve when coming back from a full day in the city. A city I could live in, very easily. Beach town!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place for a nice walk”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Decided to take a boat across to Coronado island for a walk along the beach and boy I was not disappointed. There are small shops and a few restaurants to see and oh yeah the beach! The water views were awesome. I have been to San Diego before but never to here. I was very glad I made the trip. There is a great seafood restaurant there you have to try. Just a great place for a sunny afternoon visit. Oh and the Hotel Del Coronado is there, the place from the movie Some like it Hot! Just a great place all around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coronado Island also viewed

 

Been to Coronado Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing